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This bill requires the court, on request of a State’s Attorney, to make a finding of fact, 

based on evidence produced at trial, as to whether a crime for which the defendant is 

convicted or receives a probation before judgment disposition is a “domestically related 

crime.”  A “domestically related crime” is a crime committed by a defendant against a 

victim who (1) is a “person eligible for relief,” as defined in the law relating to protective 

orders; or (2) had a sexual relationship with the defendant within 12 months before the 

commission of the crime.  The State must prove by a preponderance of the evidence that 

the crime is a domestically related crime.  If the court finds that the crime is a 

domestically related crime, that finding must become part of the court record for purposes 

of reporting to the Criminal Justice Information System Central Repository. 

   

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  General fund expenditures increase by $78,000 in FY 2013 only for 

computer reprogramming at the Judiciary.  Revenues are not affected. 

  
(in dollars) FY 2013 FY 2014 FY 2015 FY 2016 FY 2017 

Revenues $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 

GF Expenditure 78,000 0 0 0 0 

Net Effect ($78,000) $0 $0 $0 $0 
Note:() = decrease; GF = general funds; FF = federal funds; SF = special funds; - = indeterminate effect 

  

Local Effect:  The bill’s requirements can be handled by the circuit courts and State’s 

Attorney’s Offices using existing resources.   

  

Small Business Effect:  None. 
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Analysis 
 

Current Law:  Maryland does not currently distinguish “domestically related crimes.”  
 

Only a “person eligible for relief” may file a petition for a protective order under the 

Family Law Article.  A person eligible for relief includes:  
 

 a current or former spouse of the respondent;  

 a cohabitant of the respondent;  

 a person related to the respondent by blood, marriage, or adoption;  

 a parent, stepparent, child, or stepchild of the respondent or the person eligible for 

relief who resides or resided with the respondent or person eligible for relief for at 

least 90 days within one year before the filing of the petition;  

 a vulnerable adult; or 

 an individual who has a child in common with the respondent.  

     

Background:  Maryland has not established a statutory crime of domestic violence.  

According to information compiled by the Department of Legislative Services in 2011, 

35 states have established a statutory crime or crimes of domestic violence that apply to 

first-time offenders, and most of these states have also established enhanced penalties for 

repeat offenders.  Enactment of a crime of domestic violence by a state tends to highlight 

how this type of offense is regarded as an especially serious infraction, compared to other 

assault and battery type offenses, as states are likely to impose more stringent penalties 

and attach additional conditions that are not typically applied to an assault and/or battery 

offense. 

  

Generally, a crime involving assault and/or battery against a family or household member 

is designated by a state as a crime of domestic violence.  Some states also specifically 

include intimate relationships between partners that are not married or, in some cases, 

dating relationships.  However, the designation of criminal behavior can also vary as 

some states isolate specific actions to criminalize, such as strangulation, or injury to a 

pregnant victim.  While most states that have enacted legislation identify a type of assault 

and/or battery as the underlying criminal behavior for the domestic violence crime, 

two states (Rhode Island and Utah) have taken a different approach by incorporating a 

large number of different types of criminal behaviors as domestic abuse behaviors if the 

crimes were committed against a family or household member. 

 

Of the 35 states that have established a domestic crime that applies to first-time 

offenders, 15 states (California, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, 
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Mississippi, Montana, Nevada, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Virginia, and West 

Virginia) have classified their crimes as misdemeanor offenses.  Fifteen states (Alabama, 

Arizona, Arkansas, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Missouri, Nebraska, New Mexico, 

Oklahoma, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Utah, and Vermont) have 

established felony crimes in addition to their misdemeanor crimes.  Three states (Florida, 

Texas, and Wyoming) have classified their domestic violence crimes as felonies.  The 

domestic crimes established in Louisiana are not classified as either misdemeanors or 

felonies and in Maine, the crime is designated as “Class D”; however, the penalty is 

similar to that established by other states for misdemeanor crimes of domestic violence. 

 

According to the State Police Uniform Crime Report issued for calendar 2010, 

17,931 domestic violence crimes were reported in Maryland, a 3.4% decrease compared 

to the calendar 2009 total of 18,556.  Assault was by far the most frequently reported 

crime, with 16,513 incidents in calendar 2010.  Of reported assaults, simple assaults 

comprised 12,864 incidents.  Aggravated assaults totaled 3,646 or 22% of the reported 

domestic violence assaults for the same period.  In 2010, 18 homicides were attributed to 

domestic violence incidents.   

 

 

Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  None. 

 

Cross File:  HB 1146 (Delegate Dumais, et al.) - Judiciary. 

 

Information Source(s):  Department of Human Resources, Judiciary (Administrative 

Office of the Courts), Department of Aging, Department of Public Safety and 

Correctional Services, State’s Attorneys’ Association, Department of Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - February 22, 2012 

Revised - Senate Third Reader - March 27, 2012 

Revised - Enrolled Bill - May 14, 2012 

 

mc/kdm 

 

Analysis by:   Jennifer K. Botts  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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