#### HB0226/943995/1

BY: Economic Matters Committee

## AMENDMENTS TO HOUSE BILL 226

(First Reading File Bill)

# AMENDMENT NO. 1

On page 3, in line 17, after "application;" insert "establishing the Clean Energy Program Task Force; providing for the composition, chair, and staffing of the Task Force; prohibiting a member of the Task Force from receiving certain compensation, but authorizing the reimbursement of certain expenses; requiring the Task Force to study and make recommendations regarding certain matters; requiring the Task Force to report its findings and recommendations to the Governor and the General Assembly on or before a certain date; providing for the termination of the Task Force;".

#### AMENDMENT NO. 2

On page 28, in lines 6 and 8, in each instance, strike "ONE MEMBER" and substitute "<u>TWO MEMBERS</u>"; in the same lines, in each instance, after the comma insert "<u>ONE FROM EACH OF THE PRINCIPAL POLITICAL PARTIES</u>,"; in line 15, strike "11" and substitute "<u>12</u>"; after line 22, insert:

# "(IV) 1 REPRESENTATIVE OF THE MARYLAND INDEPENDENT COLLEGES AND UNIVERSITIES ASSOCIATION;";

and in lines 23, 25, and 27, strike "(IV)", "(V)", and "(VI)", respectively, and substitute "(V)", "(VI)", and "(VII)", respectively.

On page 29, in lines 3, 8, 10, 12, and 14, strike "(VII)", "(VIII)", "(IX)", "(X)", and "(XI)", respectively, and substitute "(VIII)", "(IX)", "(X)", "(XI)", and "(XII)", respectively.

#### AMENDMENT NO. 3

On page 38, after line 26, insert:

Page 2 of 4

## "SECTION 7. AND BE IT FURTHER ENACTED, That:

- (a) There is a Clean Energy Program Task Force.
- (b) The Task Force consists of the following 11 members:
- (1) one member of the Senate of Maryland, appointed by the President of the Senate;
- (2) one member of the House of Delegates, appointed by the Speaker of the House;
- (3) the President of Bowie State University, or the President's designee;
- (4) the President of Coppin State University, or the President's designee;
- (5) the President of Morgan State University, or the President's designee;
- (6) the President of the University of Maryland Eastern Shore, or the President's designee;
  - (7) the Secretary of Higher Education, or the Secretary's designee;
- (8) the Director of the Maryland Energy Administration, or the Director's designee; and
  - (9) the following three members, appointed by the Governor:

# HB0226/943995/1 Amendments to HB 226 Page 3 of 4

#### **ECM**

- (i) one representative of the American Association of Blacks in Energy; and
  - (ii) two representatives of the clean energy industry.
  - (c) The Governor shall designate the chair of the Task Force.
- (d) The Maryland Higher Education Commission shall provide staff for the Task Force.
  - (e) A member of the Task Force:
    - (1) may not receive compensation as a member of the Task Force; but
- (2) is entitled to reimbursement for expenses under the Standard State Travel Regulations, as provided in the State budget.
  - (f) The Task Force shall:
- (1) study the feasibility of establishing a terminal degree or certificate program in clean energy at one or more of the following colleges and universities:
  - (i) Bowie State University;
  - (ii) Coppin State University;
  - (iii) Morgan State University; and
  - (iv) the University of Maryland Eastern Shore; and

- (2) make recommendations regarding the feasibility of establishing a terminal degree or certificate program in clean energy at one or more of the colleges and universities listed in paragraph (1) of this subsection.
- (g) On or before July 31, 2014, the Task Force shall report its findings and recommendations to the Governor and, in accordance with § 2-1246 of the State Government Article, the General Assembly.";

and in lines 27 and 33, strike "7." and "8.", respectively, and substitute "8." and "9.", respectively.

On page 39, in lines 3 and 7, strike "9." and "10.", respectively, and substitute "10." and "11.", respectively; in line 7, after the comma insert "That Section 7 of this Act shall take effect June 1, 2013. It shall remain effective for a period of 1 year and 2 months and, at the end of July 31, 2014, with no further action required by the General Assembly, Section 7 of this Act shall be abrogated and of no further force and effect.

# SECTION 12. AND BE IT FURTHER ENACTED,";

and strike beginning with "except" in line 7 down through "Act," in line 8.