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Criminal Law - First Degree Assault - Strangulation 
 

 

This bill expands the crime of felony first degree assault to include the commission of an 

assault through the application of pressure on the throat or neck of another person with 

the intent to impede the normal breathing or blood circulation of the other person.  A 

violator is subject to the current statutory penalties for felony first degree assault.     
   

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  Minimal decrease in general fund revenues from fines imposed in District 

Court cases.  Minimal increase in general fund expenditures as a result of the bill’s 

expanded application of current incarceration penalties.   
  

Local Effect:  Minimal decrease in local revenues from fines imposed in circuit court 

cases.  Minimal decrease in local expenditures if the bill results in more defendants being 

incarcerated in State correctional facilities instead of local correctional facilities.   
  

Small Business Effect:  None. 
  

 

Analysis 
 

Current Law:          
 

First Degree Assault  
 

A person commits a first degree assault if he/she: 
 

 intentionally causes or attempts to cause serious physical injury to another person; 

or 
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 commits an assault with a firearm, including a handgun, assault pistol, machine 

gun, or other specified firearms.   

 

A person who commits a first degree assault is guilty of a felony and subject to 

imprisonment for up to 25 years.   

 

Felony Second Degree Assault  

 

A person commits a felony second degree assault if he/she intentionally causes physical 

injury to another if the person knows or has reason to know that the other is a law 

enforcement officer or parole or probation agent engaged in the performance of the 

officer/agent’s official duties.  “Physical injury” means any impairment of physical 

condition, excluding minor injuries.  Violators are subject to imprisonment for up to 

10 years and/or a maximum fine of $5,000. 

 

Misdemeanor Second Degree Assault  

 

Under the misdemeanor second degree assault statute, a person is prohibited from 

committing an assault.  A violator is subject to imprisonment for up to 10 years and/or a 

maximum fine of $2,500.  Assault means the crimes of assault, battery, and assault and 

battery, which are defined through case law. 

 

Background:  According to various studies, 23% to 68% of female victims of domestic 

violence have experienced at least one strangulation assault by a male partner during their 

lifetime.  Domestic violence experts note that strangulation assaults pose a challenge to 

law enforcement and prosecutors, since they often leave no marks or external evidence on 

the skin. 

 

The Maryland State Commission on Criminal Sentencing Policy (MSCCSP) advises that 

there were 475 convictions for violations of Maryland’s prohibition on first degree 

assault in Maryland circuit courts in fiscal 2012.  MSCCSP does not have sufficient data 

to estimate how many additional convictions might be included by adding a prohibition 

against strangulation to this statute. 

 

State Revenues:  General fund revenues from fines imposed in District Court cases 

decrease minimally to the extent that the bill results in the prosecution of strangulation 

cases as felony first degree assault cases in the circuit courts instead of as misdemeanor 

second degree assault cases in the District Court.   

 

State Expenditures:  General fund expenditures increase to the extent that the bill 

(1) results in lengthier incarcerations for defendants or (2) results in more defendants 

being incarcerated in State correctional facilities instead of local correctional facilities. 
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Persons serving a sentence longer than 18 months are incarcerated in State correctional 

facilities.  Currently, the average total cost per inmate, including overhead, is estimated at 

$2,900 per month.  This bill alone, however, should not create the need for additional 

beds, personnel, or facilities.  Excluding overhead, the average cost of housing a new 

State inmate (including variable medical care and variable operating costs) is about 

$370 per month.  Excluding all medical care, the average variable costs total $180 per 

month.   

 

Persons serving a sentence of one year or less in a jurisdiction other than Baltimore City 

are sentenced to local detention facilities.  For persons sentenced to a term of between 

12 and 18 months, the sentencing judge has the discretion to order that the sentence be 

served at a local facility or a State correctional facility.  Prior to fiscal 2010, the State 

reimbursed counties for part of their incarceration costs, on a per diem basis, after a 

person has served 90 days.  Currently, the State provides assistance to the counties for 

locally sentenced inmates and for inmates who are sentenced to and awaiting transfer to 

the State correctional system.  A $45 per diem grant is provided to each county for each 

day between 12 and 18 months that a sentenced inmate is confined in a local detention 

center.  Counties also receive an additional $45 per day grant for inmates who have been 

sentenced to the custody of the State but are confined in a local facility.  The State does 

not pay for pretrial detention time in a local correctional facility.  Persons sentenced in 

Baltimore City are generally incarcerated in State correctional facilities.  The Baltimore 

City Detention Center, a State-operated facility, is used primarily for pretrial detentions.  

 

Local Revenues:  Local revenues from fines imposed in circuit court cases decrease 

minimally if the bill results in the prosecution of strangulation cases as felony first degree 

assaults (which does not carry a monetary penalty) instead of misdemeanor second 

degree assaults (which does carry a monetary penalty). 

 

Local Expenditures:  Expenditures decrease minimally if the bill transfers defendants 

from local correctional facilities to State correctional facilities.  Counties pay the full cost 

of incarceration for people in their facilities for the first 12 months of the sentence.  A 

$45 per diem State grant is provided to each county for each day between 12 and 

18 months that a sentenced inmate is confined in a local detention center.  Counties also 

receive an additional $45 per day grant for inmates who have been sentenced to the 

custody of the State but are confined in a local facility.  Per diem operating costs of local 

detention facilities have ranged from approximately $60 to $160 per inmate in recent 

years. 
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Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  HB 1074 of 2012, a similar bill, received a hearing in the House 

Judiciary Committee, but no further action was taken.  Its cross file, SB 612, passed the 

Senate and was heard in the House Judiciary Committee, but no further action was taken.   

 

Cross File:  None. 

 

Information Source(s):  Maryland State Commission on Criminal Sentencing Policy, 

Judiciary (Administrative Office of the Courts), Office of the Public Defender, 

Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services, Department of Legislative 

Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - February 5, 2013 

 mlm/kdm 

 

Analysis by:   Amy A. Devadas  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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