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Judicial Proceedings   

 

Public Safety - Regulated Firearm License - Reciprocity 
 

  

This bill specifies that a license issued by another state to an individual authorizing the 

individual to carry a regulated firearm, including a concealed regulated firearm, is valid 

in Maryland.  

   

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  None.  The bill’s requirements do not impose any additional 

responsibilities on the State. 

  

Local Effect:  None. 

  

Small Business Effect:  None. 

  

 

Analysis 
 

Current Law/Background:  Maryland law requires a person to be issued a permit to 

wear, carry, or transport a handgun.  To be issued a permit to carry a handgun by the 

Department of State Police (DSP), an applicant (1) must be 18 or older; (2) must not have 

been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor for which a sentence of imprisonment for 

more than one year has been imposed or, if convicted, must have been pardoned or been 

granted relief under federal law; (3) if younger than 30, must not have been committed to 

a facility for juveniles for longer than one year or adjudicated delinquent for a crime of 

violence, a felony, or misdemeanor that carries a statutory penalty of more than two 

years; (4) must not have been convicted of a controlled dangerous substance violation 

and must not presently be an addict, a habitual user of a controlled dangerous substance, 

or an alcoholic; (5) must not exhibit a propensity for violence or instability that may 



SB 660/ Page 2 

reasonably render possession of a handgun a danger to the applicant or another; and 

(6) must have a good and substantial reason to wear, carry, or transport a handgun.  

“Good and substantial reason” includes a finding by DSP that the permit is necessary as a 

reasonable precaution against apprehended danger.  The Secretary may limit the 

geographic area, circumstances, or times of day, week, month, or year in which a permit 

is effective.  

 

A handgun permit application costs $75; two years after the initial permit and every 

three years thereafter, a $50 renewal fee is due.  In addition, the applicant must pay for 

fingerprint-based federal and State criminal history background checks at a cost of 

$42 for the initial application (plus $10 for the fingerprint cards) and $24 for renewals 

(covering a federal recheck only).   

 

Although Maryland law requires a person to be issued a permit to wear, carry, or 

transport a handgun, whether concealed or not, there are several exceptions to that 

requirement.  For example, two of the exceptions include authorizing a person to wear, 

carry, or transport a handgun, provided that the handgun is unloaded and in an enclosed 

case or enclosed holster when being transported, if the person is (1) transporting the 

handgun to or from a legal place of sale or a repair shop or between the person’s home or 

business or (2) wearing, carrying, or transporting the handgun in connection with an 

organized military activity, target practice, sport shooting event, hunting, or trapping.  

Further, a person may wear, carry, or transport a handgun if the person is in the person’s 

home, place of business, or other property that the person owns or is a supervisory 

employee who is wearing, carrying, or transporting the handgun under specified 

circumstances. 

 

Federal law does not regulate the carrying of concealed weapons.  Currently, only Illinois 

and the District of Columbia do not permit citizens to carry concealed firearms under any 

circumstances.  Details of concealed weapons laws vary greatly among jurisdictions, but 

most approaches fall into two categories.  One of these categories is a discretionary 

system called “may issue” licensing, where legal authorities grant licenses only to those 

citizens who can establish a compelling need for carrying a concealed handgun.  The 

other system is a nondiscretionary one called “shall issue” licensing.  Under this system, 

legal authorities must provide a license to any applicant who meets specific criteria. 

 

According to a July 2012 report by the U.S. Government Accountability Office:  

 

The number of states allowing concealed carry permits is increasing, and 

states broadly differ in eligibility requirements and the extent to which they 

have reciprocity agreements.  In June 2002, 7 states and the District of 

Columbia prohibited the concealed carry of handguns.  As of March 2012, 

individuals can carry concealed handguns in all but 1 state (Illinois) and the 
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District of Columbia.  “Shall-issue” states – in which issuing authorities are 

required to issue a permit to an applicant that fulfills the objective statutory 

criteria – generally issue more permits than states with greater discretion in 

granting permits (“may-issue” states).  Because of differing eligibility 

requirements, some states would issue a permit to an applicant, while others 

would not.  For example, some states define what constitutes a 

disqualifying felony differently or have different firearms training 

requirements.  As of March 2012, 39 states that issue permits and Vermont 

(permits not required) recognize concealed carry permits from other states.  

Of the 9 states that do not grant reciprocity, 8 are may-issue states.     

 

Additional Information:  In Woollard v. Gallagher (No. 12-1437), the U.S. Court of 

Appeals for the Fourth Circuit is considering the constitutionality of Maryland’s “good 

and substantial reason” handgun permit requirement.     

 

 

Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  Similar bills granting reciprocity with neighboring states were 

introduced in 2012, 2011, and 2010.  HB 256 of 2012 received a hearing by the House 

Judiciary Committee, but no further action was taken.  HB 9 of 2011 received a hearing 

in the House Judiciary Committee, but no further action was taken.  HB 52 of 2010 

received an unfavorable report from the House Judiciary Committee. 

 

Cross File:  None. 

 

Information Source(s):  Department of State Police, U.S. Government Accountability 

Office, Department of Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - March 4, 2013 

 ncs/lgc 

 

Analysis by:   Guy G. Cherry/         

April M. Morton 

 Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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