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House Bill 1048 (Delegate Niemann, et al.) 

Environmental Matters   

 

Real Property - Sale of Property - Lead-Contaminated Dust Test Required 
 

   
This bill requires a vendor in a sale of real property to deliver to each purchaser the 

results of a lead-contaminated dust test performed for the property in accordance with the 

procedures and standards approved by the Maryland Department of the Environment 

(MDE).  The results must be provided at least seven days before settlement of the 

contract for the sale of the property.  The bill authorizes a purchaser to waive, in writing, 

the right to receive the results of a lead-contaminated dust test.   
 

The bill applies only to the sale of property on which a dwelling built before 1978 is 

located.     
 

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  Special fund expenditures increase in FY 2014 and subsequent years for 

the Department of Housing and Community Development (DHCD) and the Maryland 

Department of Transportation (MDOT) to account for the cost of performing a dust test 

and any remediation measures on applicable residential property sold.  Expenditures also 

increase for other State agencies to the extent that the agency owns and sells properties 

on which a dwelling was built before 1978.  MDE can revise existing regulations within 

existing resources.  No impact on revenues.  
  
Local Effect:  Local government expenditures increase in FY 2014 and subsequent years 

to perform lead dust tests required by the bill for jurisdictions that own and sell property 

on which a dwelling was built before 1978.  No impact on local government revenues.  

This bill imposes a mandate on a unit of local government. 
  

Small Business Effect:  Meaningful.   
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Analysis 
 

Current Law/Background:  

 

The Federal Lead Disclosure Rule 

 

In 1992, the U.S. Congress passed the Residential Lead-Based Paint Hazard Reduction 

Act.  The Act directed the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development and the 

Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) to require (1) the disclosure of known 

information on lead-based paint and lead-based paint hazards before the sale or lease of 

most housing built before 1978; (2) the inclusion of an attachment to a contract or lease 

which includes a Lead Warning Statement and a confirmation that the seller or landlord 

has complied with all notification requirements; and (3) a 10-day period for homebuyers 

to conduct a paint inspection or risk assessment for lead-based paint or lead-based paint 

hazards.  Parties may agree, in writing, to alter this time period, and a homebuyer may 

completely waive the 10-day period.  
 

Reduction of Lead Risk in Housing Law 

 

According to MDE, lead paint dust from deteriorated lead paint or home renovation is the 

major source of exposure for children in Maryland.  Chapter 114 of 1994 established the 

Lead Poisoning Prevention Program within MDE.  Chapter 114 established a 

comprehensive plan to regulate compensation for children who are poisoned by lead 

paint, treat affected residential rental properties to reduce risks, and limit liability of 

landlords who act to reduce lead hazards in accordance with various regulatory 

requirements.   

 

Qualified Offer and Recent Court of Appeals Case 

 

Previously, if a landlord complied with the program’s regulatory provisions, Chapter 114 

provided liability protection, through a qualified offer, by limiting compensation to 

children who resided in the rental unit to not more than $7,500 for all medically 

necessary treatments and to not more than $9,500 for relocation benefits, for a total of 

$17,000.  However, in a decision filed October 24, 2011, the Court of Appeals ruled that 

the limits on landlord liability in Chapter 114 are unconstitutional because the provisions 

violate Article 19 of the Maryland Declaration of Rights.  (Article 19 protects a right to a 

remedy for an injury and a right of access to the courts.) 

 

The court stated that the test to be applied under an Article 19 challenge is whether the 

restriction on a judicial remedy was reasonable.  The court found that the $17,000 remedy 

available under Chapter 114 was “miniscule” and, thus, not reasonable compensation for 

a child permanently damaged by lead poisoning.  Therefore, the court held the limited 
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liability provisions under Chapter 114 to be invalid under Article 19 because a qualified 

offer does not provide a reasonable remedy. 

 

Owners of pre-1950 rental units that are in compliance with Chapter 114 and owners of 

rental units built between 1950 and 1978 that voluntarily opted to comply may be 

impacted by the court’s decision, as they no longer have the liability protection 

previously afforded to them.   

 

Recent Study and Changes to the Reduction of Lead Risk in Housing Law  

 

Unrelated to the Court of Appeals decision, Chapter 610 of 2011 (HB 1033) required 

MDE to conduct a study in consultation with members of the General Assembly and 

representatives of several State and local agencies and organizations reflecting the 

interests of landlords, housing owners, lead poisoning prevention advocates, and others.  

The study was required to evaluate processes that reduce the incidence of lead poisoning 

in residential properties not currently regulated by MDE, including rental properties built 

from 1950 through 1978 and owner-occupied properties. 

 

The study group met seven times between July and December of 2011 and made 

recommendations regarding six different issues, including, among other things, 

expanding the scope of regulation to include rental properties built before 1978 and 

owner-occupied properties; increasing the program’s property registration fee to address 

the program’s declining revenue sources; and evaluating whether to require MDE to seek 

delegation of the federal renovation, repair, and repainting (RRP) rule, which requires 

renovation companies to be registered and follow lead-safe work practices while doing 

renovation in pre-1978 constructed homes. 

 

The study group discussed two means to address lead issues in owner-occupied houses, in 

addition to the RRP rule.  First, local health departments could be given explicit authority 

to issue abatement orders in owner-occupied houses where children with elevated blood 

lead levels reside.  Second, a dust test, or some other quantitative clearance procedure, 

could be required along with disclosure of the results to a prospective homebuyer at the 

time a property is sold.  The study group expressed concern over the additional costs this 

would impose on the home-buying process at a time when the housing market is already 

depressed.  The study group recommended that legislation be proposed to grant authority 

for local health departments to order lead abatements, but it decided that further 

discussion may be warranted before recommending that a lead dust test or other 

procedure be required at the time of sale. 

 

Chapter 387 of 2012 (HB 644) makes various changes to the Reduction of Lead Risk in 

Housing Law to address the recent Court of Appeals decision and some of the issues 

examined by the study group.  Changes under Chapter 387 include (1) expanding the 
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application of the law to owners of residential rental property built between 1950 and 

1978 beginning January 1, 2015; (2) increasing the annual registration fee from $15 to 

$30; (3) altering the definition of “abatement” to include renovation, repair, and painting 

in specified properties built before 1978; (4) authorizing MDE to adopt regulations 

related to abatements involving renovation, repair, and painting; (5) repealing a 

rebuttable presumption that an owner of property that is not in compliance with the lead 

law is presumed to have failed to exercise reasonable care; (6) providing that evidence 

that a property owner was or was not in compliance with the lead law is admissible to 

prove that the owner exercised or failed to exercise reasonable care; and (7) requiring a 

party who makes certain allegations or denials without a good faith basis to pay 

reasonable costs, including 

 

Dust Wipe Inspections 

 

Maryland has established dust sampling procedures for meeting the risk reduction and 

lead safe standard for an affected property.  All lead dust wipe inspections must include 

field blank samples collected using the following procedures: 

 

 before the sample is collected, the inspector must wipe his or her hands with a 

disposable towelette moistened with a specified wetting agent and discard the 

wipe;  

 the inspector must also use the same type of wipe and insert into a labeled 

centrifuge tube as the beginning field blank to be analyzed by the laboratory;  

 at the conclusion of the wipe sampling, the inspector must collect an ending field 

blank in the same manner as the beginning field blank; and 

 field blank centrifuge tubes must be labeled with a unique identifier according to 

laboratory specifications.  

 

The actual collection of dust wipe samples must be collected in accordance with 

standards promulgated by ASTM International, formerly known as the American Society 

for Testing and Materials.  MDE regulations also prescribe an appropriate laboratory 

analytical procedure.   

 

State Fiscal Effect:  Special fund expenditures increase in fiscal 2014 and subsequent 

years for DHCD due to the cost of performing a dust test and any remediation measures 

before selling any residential property built before 1978.  DHCD sells approximately 

150 houses a year that were built before 1978.   

 

Lead dust tests typically cost around $300.  Additionally, in order to sell the property, the 

agency may need to perform remediation measures.  The President’s Task Force on 

Environmental Health Risks and Safety Risks to Children, completed in 2000, outlined 
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the costs for testing and lead-based paint remediation to be approximately $1,200 to 

$10,000 per property.  If these estimates are accurate, any increase in special fund 

expenditures for DHCD may be significant.   

 

Minimal increase in Transportation Trust Fund (TTF) expenditures for MDOT’s Office 

of Real Estate (ORE) in fiscal 2014 and subsequent years.  ORE occasionally disposes of 

State-owned improved properties originally bought by the State Highway Administration.  

ORE’s current policy is to sell “as is,” and the office does not test for lead-contaminated 

dust.  Under the bill, ORE must test for lead-contaminated dust and provide any 

purchaser with a report off test findings.   

 

Currently, ORE has five improved properties; however, ORE can go extended periods of 

time without owning an improved property as much of its inventory is unimproved 

property.  Additionally, a further limit on the impact of the bill is that only properties 

built prior to 1978 are affected.  The process to sell an improved property can take place 

over a year or more.  Therefore, any increase in TTF expenditures is unpredictable and 

may not occur for several fiscal years.   

 

To the extent that other agencies own and sell residential property built before 1978, 

general fund and special fund expenditures also increase to perform lead dust tests and 

any necessary remediation.   

 

Local Expenditures:  Local government expenditures increase in fiscal 2014 and 

subsequent years to perform lead dust tests required by the bill for jurisdictions that own 

residential property built before 1978.  For example, Baltimore City advises that its 

current inventory of abandoned property is 2,531.  According to recent trends, the city 

takes title to an additional 200 to 300 properties a year.  Virtually all of dwellings on 

these properties were built before 1978.  To the extent that the city is able to sell these 

properties, expenditures increase by approximately $300 for each dust test and from 

$1,200 to $10,000 for any remediation measurers performed on each property sold. 

 

Small Business Effect:  The bill may have a meaningful detrimental impact on vendors 

in a sale of real property, some of which may be small businesses.  As noted above, lead 

dust tests typically cost around $300, and lead-based paint remediation may cost 

approximately $1,200 to $10,000 per property.  A vendor may either pay for the 

remediation or reduce the selling price of a home.   

 

Additionally, small business contractors engaged in the inspection, abatement, or 

renovation of properties with lead paint, as well as businesses that administer lead dust 

tests, may realize a meaningful increase in the demand for their services. 
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Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  None. 

 

Cross File:  None. 

 

Information Source(s):  Baltimore City, Maryland Department of the Environment, 

Judiciary (Administrative Office of the Courts), Maryland Department of Transportation, 

Department of Housing and Community Development, U.S. Department of Housing and 

Urban Development, Department of Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - February 21, 2013 

 mc/kdm 

 

Analysis by:   Michael F. Bender  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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