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FISCAL AND POLICY NOTE 

  

House Bill 477 (Delegate Bromwell, et al.) 

Environmental Matters   

 

Vehicle Laws - Protective Headgear Requirement for Motorcycle Riders - 

Exception 
 

 

This bill exempts an individual age 21 or older who carries at least $10,000 in health 

insurance coverage for injuries that may be incurred in a motorcycle accident from the 

requirement to wear specified protective headgear while operating a motorcycle. 

 

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  General fund revenues from traffic citations decrease beginning in 

FY 2015.  Special fund revenues for the Maryland Insurance Administration (MIA) may 

increase from the $125 rate and form filing fee in FY 2015 only from health insurers that 

must provide proof of coverage.  Medicaid expenditures (50% general funds, 50% federal 

funds) may increase beginning in FY 2015 to the extent that the bill results in a reduction 

in helmet use and an associated increase in head injuries not otherwise covered by 

insurance.   

  
Local Effect:  None. 

  

Small Business Effect:  Potential minimal. 

 

 

Analysis 
 

Current Law:  An individual may not operate or ride on a motorcycle unless the 

individual is wearing protective headgear that meets the standards established by the 

administrator of the Motor Vehicle Administration.  The administrator is authorized to 

approve or disapprove of the protective headgear required for motorcycle operators and 

may adopt and enforce regulations that establish protective headgear standards.  An 

individual who is riding in an enclosed cab is exempt from the protective headgear 

requirement.  An individual may not operate a motorcycle unless the individual is 
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wearing an eye-protective device approved by the administrator or the motorcycle is 

equipped with a windscreen.  “Protective helmet or headgear” means a device primarily 

intended to protect the upper part of the wearer’s head against a blow or impact.  The 

Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard 218, Motorcycle Helmets, 49 CFR § 571.218 

(1991), which is incorporated by reference in the Code of Maryland Regulations, is 

adopted as the minimum standard for helmets required to be worn by operators and 

passengers on motorcycles.  The protective headgear must be worn on the head with the 

chin strap properly fastened and in contact with the chin or jaw by both operator and 

passenger at all times that the motorcycle is in motion. 

 

A violation of the protective headgear or eye-protective device/windscreen requirement is 

a misdemeanor, subject to a maximum fine of $500.  The prepayment penalty assessed by 

the District Court is $110. 

 

The failure of an individual to wear required protective headgear may not be considered 

evidence of negligence or contributory negligence; limit liability of a party or an insurer; 

or diminish recovery for damages arising out of the ownership, maintenance, or operation 

of a motorcycle.  For motorcycles, an insurer may either exclude economic loss benefits 

or offer the economic loss benefits with deductibles, options, or specific exclusions.  

 

Background:  As of January 2014, 19 states and the District of Columbia require all 

motorcyclists to wear a helmet, while 28 states require only some motorcyclists to wear a 

helmet (typically riders age 17 and younger).  Three of these states (Florida, Michigan, 

and Texas) exempt individuals age 21 or older from the helmet requirement if they obtain 

specified health insurance coverage (and in some instances meet other criteria).  In 

Florida, individuals covered by an insurance policy with at least $10,000 in medical 

benefits are eligible for a helmet exception.  In Michigan, individuals must have at least 

$20,000 in first-party medical benefits and have either held a motorcycle endorsement for 

at least two years or have passed an approved motorcycle safety course.  In Texas, 

individuals must provide standard proof of health insurance with no specified minimum 

coverage amount (prior to 2009, a minimum of $10,000 in coverage was required).  

Three states (Illinois, Iowa, and New Hampshire) have no motorcycle helmet laws.   

 

The Maryland Institute for Emergency Medical Services Systems reports that Maryland’s 

trauma centers treated 1,112 patients involved in motorcycle crashes during fiscal 2013.  

Of these patients, 419 sustained a head injury, 22 of whom subsequently died.  Of the 

419 riders who sustained head injuries, 273 (65%) were wearing a helmet, 114 (27%) 

were not, and it was unknown whether 32 of the patients wore a helmet or not.  All 

419 required treatment, and 254 were admitted.  Fifty-nine (23%) of the admitted patients 

stayed in the hospital for one day.  Thirteen of the admitted patients required 

hospitalization for more than 28 days. 
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State Revenues:  General fund fine revenues decrease beginning in fiscal 2015 due to a 

reduction in the number of citations issued for failure to wear a helmet.  In fiscal 2013, 

422 citations were issued statewide for failure to wear a helmet or eye-protective device 

while riding on or operating a motorcycle.  Of these citations, 136 (32%) were prepaid, 

211 (50%) went to trial, and 75 (18%) remained open as of January 2014.  The citation 

carries a prepayment penalty of $110, including court costs.   

 

The actual decrease in general fund fine revenues cannot be reliably estimated at this time 

and depends on the number of individuals who obtain the required health insurance 

coverage.  For illustrative purposes only, if all of the individuals who prepaid citations 

for failure to wear a helmet in fiscal 2013 (136) were exempt from the requirement, 

general fund revenues would decline by $14,960.  Additionally, if every citation that 

went to trial in fiscal 2013 (211) resulted in the maximum fine of $500, general fund fine 

revenues would further decline by $105,500, for a total decline of as much as $120,460.  

These figures do not reflect the 75 cases that remain open. 

 

State Expenditures:  Medicaid expenditures (50% general funds, 50% federal funds) 

may increase in fiscal 2015 to the extent that the exemption from the protective headgear 

requirement results in a reduction in helmet use and an associated increase in head 

injuries to crash-involved motorcyclists not otherwise covered by insurance.   

 

 

Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  SB 246 of 2013 and SB 488 of 2012 each received a hearing in the 

Senate Judicial Proceedings Committee, but no further action was taken on either bill. 

 

Cross File:  SB 173 (Senator Astle, et al.) - Judicial Proceedings. 

 

Information Source(s):  Maryland Institute for Emergency Medical Services Systems, 

Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, Maryland Insurance Administration, 

Department of State Police, Maryland Department of Transportation, Department of 

Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - February 7, 2014 

mc/ljm  

 

Analysis by:  Jennifer B. Chasse  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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