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This bill establishes that a person who breaks and enters the dwelling of another with the 

intent to commit a crime of violence is guilty of the felony of home invasion under the 

burglary in the first degree statute, punishable by imprisonment for up to 25 years.  The 

bill retains the application of the current maximum penalty for first-degree burglary 

(imprisonment for 20 years) to individuals who break and enter the dwelling of another 

with the intent to commit a theft. 

  

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  Minimal increase in general fund expenditures due to the bill’s 

incarceration penalty.  Enforcement can be handled with existing resources.  Revenues 

are not affected.   

  

Local Effect:  None.  The bill does not materially affect local finances as enforcement 

can be handled with existing resources. 

  

Small Business Effect:  None. 

  

 

Analysis 
 

Current Law:  A person may not break and enter the dwelling of another with the intent 

to commit theft or a crime of violence.  A violator is guilty of first degree burglary, a 

felony punishable by imprisonment for up to 20 years. 

 

A “crime of violence” is (1) abduction; (2) arson in the first degree; (3) kidnapping; 

(4) manslaughter, except involuntary manslaughter; (5) mayhem; (6) maiming; 
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(7) murder; (8) rape; (9) robbery; (10) carjacking (including armed carjacking); (11) first 

and second degree sexual offenses; (12) use of a handgun in the commission of a felony 

or other crime of violence; (13) child abuse in the first degree; (14) sexual abuse of a 

minor under the age of 13 years under specified circumstances; (15) an attempt to commit 

crimes (1) through (14); (16) continuing course of conduct with a child; (17) assault in 

the first degree; or (18) assault with intent to murder, rape, rob, or commit a sexual 

offense in the first or second degree. 

 

Background:  In many states, home invasions are treated as a form of burglary.  

Connecticut, Illinois, and Michigan are among the states that have specific home invasion 

statutes. 

 

In fiscal 2013, the Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services (DPSCS) 

conducted intake on 385 individuals for first degree burglary.  Information is not readily 

available on how many of these individuals committed a breaking and entering with the 

intent to commit a crime of violence (as opposed to the intent to commit a theft).  

According to the most recent version of the Uniform Crime Report, there were 

33,472 reports of breaking and entering during 2012, a 6% decrease over 2011.  The 

report defines “breaking and entering” as the unlawful entry of a structure to commit a 

felony or theft.  There were 7,380 arrests for burglary statewide during 2012.   

 

State Expenditures:  The bill imposes a maximum penalty of 25 years imprisonment for 

a home invasion, which is greater than the existing 20-year maximum penalty under the 

first degree burglary statute, under which the actions that constitute a home invasion are 

already prohibited.  Thus, general fund expenditures increase minimally as a result of the 

bill’s incarceration penalty due to people being committed to State correctional facilities 

for longer periods of time. 

 

Persons serving a sentence longer than 18 months are incarcerated in State correctional 

facilities.  Currently, the average total cost per inmate, including overhead, is estimated at 

$3,100 per month.  This bill alone, however, should not create the need for additional 

beds, personnel, or facilities.  Excluding overhead, the average cost of housing a new 

State inmate (including variable health care costs) is about $735 per month.  Excluding 

all health care, the average variable costs total $185 per month.   

 

 

Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  None. 

 

Cross File:  SB 742 (Senator Forehand, et al.) - Judicial Proceedings. 
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Information Source(s):  Office of the Public Defender, Judiciary (Administrative Office 

of the Courts), Maryland State Commission on Criminal Sentencing Policy, Crime in 

Maryland – 2012 Uniform Crime Report, Department of Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - February 26, 2014 

Revised - House Third Reader - March 18, 2014 

 

mc/kdm 

 

Analysis by:   Amy A. Devadas  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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