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Vehicle Laws - Single Registration Plate - Class L (Historic) Vehicles and Class N 

(Street Rod) Vehicles 
 

   

This bill requires the Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) to issue a single registration 

plate to Class L (historic) and Class N (street rod) vehicles.   

   

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  Transportation Trust Fund (TTF) expenditures may decrease by about 

$28,300 in FY 2016, which reflects the bill’s effective date, and by more than 

$38,200 beginning in FY 2017 due to reduced production costs associated with scaling 

down to a single-registration plate requirement for Class L and N vehicles; this does not 

account for the minimal additional savings associated with lower plate postage costs.  

General fund revenues decrease, likely minimally, beginning in FY 2016 due to the 

elimination of penalties collected for driving with one registration plate, as discussed 

below.  Nonbudgeted revenues decrease, likely minimally, for the Maryland 

Transportation Authority (MDTA) from an increase in unpaid tolls at facilities using 

electronic tolling. 
  

(in dollars) FY 2016 FY 2017 FY 2018 FY 2019 FY 2020 

GF Revenue (-) (-) (-) (-) (-) 

NonBud Rev. (-) (-) (-) (-) (-) 

SF Expenditure ($28,300) ($38,200) ($38,500) ($38,900) ($39,300) 

Net Effect $28,300 $38,200 $38,500 $38,900 $39,300   
Note:() = decrease; GF = general funds; FF = federal funds; SF = special funds; - = indeterminate effect 

  

Local Effect:  The bill is not anticipated to materially affect local operations or finances. 
  

Small Business Effect:  Minimal. 
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Analysis 
 

Current Law:  All vehicles are required to display two registration plates, unless they are 

in one of three vehicle classes.  Class D (motorcycle), Class F (tractor), and Class G (trailer) 

vehicles are exempt from the two-registration plate requirement.  In addition, MVA must 

issue only one plate for vehicles with temporary registration.  Class F vehicles are required 

to display the registration plate on the front of the vehicle, while all other vehicles issued a 

single plate must affix the plate to the rear.  Historic and antique vehicles must display 

current registration plates in the places provided on the vehicle.  A violation of the 

requirement to attach a registration plate to the front and rear of a vehicle is a misdemeanor 

and carries a fine of up to $500 or a prepayment fine of $70.        

 

Background:  Many older vehicles and some current-year models have been designed 

without a registration plate incorporated in the design and without additional parts available 

from the manufacturer to attach registration plates.  The owners of such vehicles may be 

required to purchase additional after-market parts from third-party automotive suppliers, if 

available, or attach the registration plate without automotive parts designed for this 

purpose.  

 

According to the National Conference of State Legislatures, as of July 2014, 19 states, 

including Delaware, Pennsylvania, and West Virginia, allowed one registration plate to be 

issued for some vehicle classes.  The remaining 31 states and the District of Columbia 

required two plates.  Several states only required one plate for certain types of vehicles 

such as motorcycles, trailers, or all-terrain vehicles.   

 

According to a 2012 study by the Texas A&M Transportation Institute, the issuance of 

two license plates created fiscal and other resource efficiencies in the areas of enforcement, 

tolling, parking, and homeland security.  For example, the study reported that, in Virginia, 

23% of toll violations could not be pursued because the rear plates were unreadable.  The 

study also reported that, in field studies using advanced vehicle identification technology, 

the registration plate identification rate for moving vehicles was 89% in Maryland, 

compared with 22% in Pennsylvania where only a single registration plate is required. 

 

The Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services (DPSCS) advises that the 

Maryland Correctional Enterprises (MCE) currently provides employment to about 

70 inmates at the license tag plant located at the Jessup Correctional Institution.  The 

employment opportunity provided by the plant enhances safety and security at the 

institution by reducing idleness and improves employment opportunities for inmates upon 

release.   

 

State Expenditures:  TTF expenditures may decrease by about $28,338 in fiscal 2016, 

which accounts for the bill’s October 1, 2015 effective date, and by more than 
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$38,162 annually thereafter.  This estimate reflects the savings from procuring fewer 

registration plates and is based on the estimate provided by MCE at the request of MVA.  

Minimal additional savings may be realized from decreased postage costs.  The estimate 

also assumes a 1% annual increase in plate production costs. 

 

State Revenues:  General fund revenues decrease minimally beginning in fiscal 2016 due 

to the elimination of penalties under the Maryland Vehicle Law for driving with only one 

registration plate for Class L and N vehicles.  Although a reliable estimate of this revenue 

loss cannot be made, for illustrative purposes only, general fund revenues may decrease by 

about $12,600 in fiscal 2016 and by about $16,800 annually thereafter, which reflects the 

following assumptions: 

 

 the number and percentage of violations resulting in a prepaid fine in fiscal 2016 

and future years would otherwise remain constant at the average of fiscal 2011 

through 2014 levels (10,081 and 74.2%); 

 Class L and N vehicles comprise about 2.9% of registered vehicles in Maryland; 

 one-half of the violations for failure to display two registration plates in accordance 

with current law are attributed to driving with only one registration plate; 

 the conviction rate in contested cases is 50% and results in the payment of a fine of 

one-half of the statutory maximum; and 

 fines and penalties in fiscal 2016 and future years remain at current levels. 

 

Nonbudgeted revenues also decrease minimally as the toll collection rate at MDTA 

facilities likely decreases.  MDTA advises that, although its electronic toll facilities 

photograph both the front and rear of the car, the identification rate is significantly lower 

for vehicles that only display one registration plate.  A reliable estimate of this revenue loss 

cannot be made, but it is not likely to be significant as Class L and N vehicles only comprise 

about 2.9% of registered vehicles in the State, and only a fraction of these vehicles may 

use electronically tolled lanes. 

 

Additional Comments:  The Department of Legislative Services notes that the bill 

requires MVA to issue only one plate, but it does not require that each existing registered 

vehicle have only one plate.  If all registered vehicles were required to have only one plate, 

the costs of implementing this standard could increase, but the standard could also 

significantly reduce the potential for fraud.  For example, requiring vehicles to comply 

immediately, or within a specified phase-in period, may necessitate that MVA retain one 

or more additional contractual employees to collect the existing front plates.  In addition, 

a contractual program administrator or auditor may be necessary to account for all collected 

plates. 
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Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  HB 77 of 2014 received a hearing in the House Environmental 

Matters Committee, but no further action was taken. 

 

Cross File:  Although not designated as a cross file, HB 524 (Delegate McMillan et al. – 

Environment and Transportation) is identical. 

 

Information Source(s):  Department of State Police, Maryland Department of 

Transportation, Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services, Judiciary 

(Administrative Office of the Courts), National Conference of State Legislatures, Texas 

A&M Transportation Institute, Department of Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - February 20, 2015 

 md/ljm 

 

Analysis by:   Evan M. Isaacson  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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