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This bill alters the definition of “fully online distance education program in the State” to 

require the Maryland Higher Education Commission (MHEC) to determine whether any 

portion of the program offered at a location in the State requires a certificate of approval 

from MHEC to operate.  If so, the institution of higher education that offers the program 

must obtain a certificate of approval to operate in the State instead of registering the 

program with MHEC. 

 

The bill takes effect June 1, 2015. 

 

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  Revenues are not likely affected in FY 2015.  However, MHEC special fund 

revenues increase from fees for institutions with programs that are required to obtain a 

certificate of approval as a “fully online distance education program in the State” by an 

estimated $409,300 in FY 2016 due to the bill’s June 1, 2015 effective date and the 

certificate of approval and registration application cycles.  This gain will be slightly offset 

by a loss in revenue from registration fees of an estimated $8,500 due to institutions that 

will be able to exclusively obtain a certificate of approval.  Future years reflect new 

out-of-state institutions triggering physical presence in Maryland and institutions 

becoming eligible for five-year renewals for certificates of approval.  The additional 

workload can likely be handled with existing staff.    

  
(in dollars) FY 2016 FY 2017 FY 2018 FY 2019 FY 2020 

SF Revenue $409,300 $459,500 $436,300 $413,000 $389,800 

Expenditure 0 0 0 0 0 

Net Effect $409,300 $459,500 $436,300 $413,000 $389,800   
Note:() = decrease; GF = general funds; FF = federal funds; SF = special funds; - = indeterminate effect 
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Local Effect:  None. 

  

Small Business Effect:  None. 

  

 

Analysis 
 

Current Law:  Most institutions of postsecondary education must obtain a certificate of 

approval from MHEC before they are allowed to operate in the State.  However, certain 

institutions are exempt from obtaining a certificate of approval from MHEC.  Exempt 

institutions are either operating under a charter from the General Assembly or religious 

institutions meeting certain qualifications.  MHEC grants a certificate of approval 

exemption after an institution demonstrates it meets the requirements to qualify for an 

exemption.   

 

Institutions of higher education that offer fully online distance education programs in the 

State and do not have a physical presence in the State are required to register with MHEC.  

This involves the payment of a fee and completion of the registration process.  Then MHEC 

will issue or deny registration.   

 

“Fully online distance education program in the State” is defined as a program originating 

outside the State offered by an out-of-state institution in which a student domiciled in 

Maryland enrolls and where 51% or more of the program is offered through electronic 

distribution.   

 

According to the Code of Maryland Regulations (COMAR 13B.05.01.06), a fully online 

distance education program seeking to register with MHEC must pay an annual registration 

fee of $500 if it has an enrollment of no more than 20 Maryland students, or $1,000 if it 

has an enrollment of more than 20 Maryland students.  With the exception of an out-of-state 

institution that is located at and is part of a regional higher education center, an out-of-state 

institution seeking to obtain a certificate of approval must submit an annual application fee 

of $7,500 for up to two degree programs (COMAR 13B.02.01.08).  For each additional 

degree program for which approval is sought, an institution must submit $850.  During or 

after the fifth year of operation in Maryland and during any subsequent renewal cycle, an 

out-of-state institution may apply for approval to operate in Maryland for an extended 

period of time, up to five years. 

 

According to COMAR 13B.02.01.03, “Operate in Maryland” means to (1) establish or 

provide a location in the State for students to receive synchronous instruction for credit 

leading to a degree or certificate; (2) require students to physically meet in a location in the 

State for instructional purposes more than twice during a full-term (quarter or semester) 

course for a total of more than six hours; or (3) have more than five students in a single 
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program who are physically present at one or more sites in the State in a supervised 

internship, practicum, or field experience as a required part of a degree or certificate 

program. 

  

Background:  Chapter 132 of 2014 was amended and passed in such a way that it created 

gaps in MHEC’s authority to regulate out-of-state institutions of higher education that offer 

fully online distance education programs in the State.  Prior to the passage of Chapter 132, 

these institutions with a physical presence in the State were required to obtain a certificate 

of approval from MHEC rather than only register with MHEC to offer fully online distance 

education programs.  Under Chapter 132, as long as 51% of a program is online, even if 

the program has a physical presence in Maryland (i.e., in the form of weekend seminars, 

practica, or internships), the institution is not required to obtain a certificate of approval in 

order to operate in Maryland.   

 

MHEC has less authority to regulate institutions that are only required to register as a “fully 

online distance education program in the State” than institutions that are required to receive 

a certificate of approval.  In addition, the process is less rigorous since the institutions are 

primarily regulated by other bodies.  Accordingly, the fees for the registration are lower. 

 

New regulations implementing Chapter 132 (COMAR 13B.02.01.03) went into effect 

November 24, 2014, and alter the definition of “operate in Maryland” in regards to higher 

education institutions.  According to a letter of advice from the Attorney General’s Office 

dated September 2, 2014, “while this definition reduces the number of out-of-state 

institutions that would be required to obtain a certificate of approval by excluding those 

with only a small number of students participating in a supervised internship, practicum or 

field experience, it would also apply to some programs that fall within the definition of 

‘fully online distance education program in the State’ as that term will be defined in statute 

starting October 1, 2014.  In those circumstances, the proposed definition would not 

override the language of Chapter 132, which allows out-of-state programs that are at least 

51% online to register rather than obtain a certificate of approval.” 

 

State Revenues:  MHEC fee revenues increase beginning in fiscal 2016 from certificate 

of approval renewals and from institutions that have not previously received a certificate 

of approval in the State due to the bill’s June 1, 2015 effective date and the annual process 

for registrations and certificates of approval, which are valid for one year beginning July 1 

or September 1, respectively.  This is offset slightly by the loss of some registration fee 

revenues from institutions that will now be required to obtain a certificate of approval.  This 

estimate was calculated using the following facts and assumptions.   

 

In fiscal 2015, there were 32 out-of-state institutions offering 210 programs that will need 

to obtain a certificate of approval under the bill.  Based on the actual number of programs 

offered at each institution and the prevailing certificate of approval fee rates ($7,500 for up 
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to two programs and $850 for each additional program), $367,500 in annual fees are 

projected from those 32 institutions.  After five years of annual renewals at these rates 

(assuming that the number of programs remains constant and the institution remains in 

good standing), institutions become eligible for five-year renewals.  MHEC, therefore, 

assumes that only 80% of the original cohort of 32 institutions will be required to renew in 

fiscal 2018, 60% in fiscal 2019, and 40% in fiscal 2020.  The fees collected will decline 

accordingly.    

 

In addition, MHEC expects five new institutions will trigger the physical presence in 

Maryland and require a certificate of approval each year beginning in fiscal 2016.  MHEC 

assumes that these institutions will offer an average of five programs each; thus, the 

resulting fees will be $10,500 per institution ($7,500 for up to two programs and $850 for 

each additional programs).  These institutions will also be required to renew annually over 

the initial five-year approval period.  It is assumed that the number of institutions and 

programs applying remains constant and that all institutions remain in good standing.   

 

MHEC reports that, under the bill, 12 of the existing 32 certificate of approval institutions 

are projected be able to exclusively go through the certificate of approval process, since all 

of their online programs trigger physical presence in Maryland.  Due to the 12 institutions 

that will no longer be required to register, there will be an annual loss of $8,500 in revenue, 

with 5 institutions no longer paying at the annual rate of $1,000, and 7 institutions no longer 

paying at the annual rate of $500.  For the purposes of this estimate, it is assumed that 

none of these institutions will offer programs that will require them to register. 

     

 FY 2016 FY 2017 FY 2018 

Revenue Gain for Certificate of Approval Renewals $367,500 $367,500  $294,000  

Revenue Gain for New Certificates of Approval 50,250 100,500  150,750  

Loss in Online Registration Fees -8,500 -8,500  -8,500  

Total $409,250 $459,500  $436,250  

 

 

Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  None. 

 

Cross File:  HB 10 (Delegates Jones and McIntosh) - Appropriations. 

 

Information Source(s):  Maryland Higher Education Commission, Department of 

Legislative Services 
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Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - January 14, 2015 

Revised - Senate Third Reader - March 24, 2015 

 

md/rhh 

 

Analysis by:   Caroline L. Boice  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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