## **HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION 4**

P5, G1 6lr3277 CF SJ 3

By: Delegates Reznik, Angel, Atterbeary, Barkley, Barron, Branch, Brooks, Busch, Carey, Clippinger, Conaway, Cullison, Fraser-Hidalgo, Frick, Frush, Glenn, Hettleman, Hixson, Jackson, Jameson, Jones, Kaiser, Kelly, Korman, Kramer, Krimm, Lam, Lierman, Lisanti, Luedtke, McCray, Moon, Morhaim, Patterson, Platt, B. Robinson, S. Robinson, Rosenberg, Sample-Hughes, Sanchez, Smith, Sophocleus, Sydnor, Tarlau, Waldstreicher, A. Washington, M. Washington, K. Young, and P. Young

Introduced and read first time: February 10, 2016 Assigned to: Rules and Executive Nominations

## HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION

1 A House Joint Resolution concerning

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9 10

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

## United States Congress – Call to Congress and the President to Act on Redistricting Reform

FOR the purpose of requesting that the United States Congress pass, and the President of the United States sign, legislation that establishes uniform standards and procedures applicable to each state for the creation of the districts for the election of the members of the United States Congress; requiring that the resolution be forwarded to the President and Vice President of the United States and to certain members and officials of the United States Congress; and generally relating to redistricting reform for the United States Congress.

WHEREAS, The states of the United States currently utilize a hodgepodge of standards and methodologies to create the districts for the election of that state's Representatives in the United States Congress; and

WHEREAS, The standards and methodologies currently used by the states to create the districts for the election of the members of the United States Congress have resulted in nonuniform and uneven delegations that do not reflect voters' political affiliations in those states, thus leaving many voters feeling disenfranchised and unrepresented; and

WHEREAS, Voter unease is not limited to one party or one state, but is seen in almost every state throughout the country, regardless of which political party holds majority status; and

WHEREAS, Congressional redistricting has become a highly charged political endeavor in states throughout the country that have confronted issues related to it, with



the results being that political concerns leave the members of both major political parties unwilling forthrightly to confront the redistricting issue; and

WHEREAS, Action by Congress affecting all 50 states at once would aid the redistricting process immensely by helping to take local political considerations out of the redistricting process and removing the partisan cloud surrounding redistricting legislation throughout the country; and

WHEREAS, A solution enacted by Congress or the United States Supreme Court would affect all states equally; impose uniform standards and procedures for the creation of each state's districts for the election of Representatives to the United States Congress; likely lead to districts across the country that are more uniform, even, and representative; and also likely cause voters to feel more empowered and enfranchised; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF MARYLAND, That the General Assembly of Maryland requests that the United States Congress pass, and the President of the United States sign, comprehensive legislation that establishes uniform standards and procedures applicable to each state for the creation of the districts for the election of the members of the United States Congress; and be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be forwarded by the Department of Legislative Services to President Barack Obama, the White House, 1600 Pennsylvania Ave., Washington, D.C. 20500; Vice President Joseph Biden, President of the United States Senate, the White House, 1600 Pennsylvania Ave., Washington, D.C. 20500; Ms. Nancy Erickson, Secretary of the United States Senate, United States Senate, Washington, D.C. 20510; and the Maryland Congressional Delegation: Senators Barbara A. Mikulski and Benjamin L. Cardin, Senate Office Building, Washington, D.C. 20510; and Representatives Andrew P. Harris, C. A. Dutch Ruppersberger III, John P. Sarbanes, Donna Edwards, Steny Hamilton Hoyer, John K. Delaney, Elijah E. Cummings, and Christopher Van Hollen, Jr., House Office Building, Washington, D.C. 20515.