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Sales and Use Tax - Exemption - Firearm Safety Devices 
 

   

This bill exempts the sale of a firearm safety device from the State sales and use tax.  A 

firearm safety device is defined as a firearm safe, firearm lock box, trigger and barrel lock, 

or any other item designed to enhance home firearm safety. 

 

The bill takes effect July 1, 2016. 

   

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  General fund revenues decrease by a potentially significant amount 

beginning in FY 2017.  The amount of the decrease depends on the number of firearm 

safety devices purchased each year and the taxable price of each item.  General fund 

expenditures for administrative costs in the Comptroller’s Office increase by $81,300 in 

FY 2017. 

  

Local Effect:  None. 

  

Small Business Effect:  Minimal. 

  

 

Analysis 
 

Current Law:  The sale of firearm safety devices are subject to the State sales and use tax.  

Section 5-132 of the Public Safety Article prohibits a firearms dealer from selling, offering 

for sale, renting, or transferring a handgun manufactured on or before December 31, 2002, 

unless the handgun is sold, offered for sale, rented, or transferred with an external safety 

lock.  A firearms dealer is prohibited from selling, offering for sale, renting, or transferring 
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a handgun manufactured on or after January 1, 2003, unless the handgun has an integrated 

mechanical safety device. 

 

Background:  The sales and use tax is the State’s second largest source of general fund 

revenue, accounting for approximately $4.5 billion in fiscal 2016 and $4.7 billion in 

fiscal 2017, according to the December 2015 revenue forecast.  Exhibit 1 shows the sales 

and use tax rates in surrounding states and the District of Columbia. 

 

 

Exhibit 1 

Sales and Use Tax Rates in Maryland and Surrounding States 

 

Delaware 0%  

  
District of Columbia 5.75%; 10% for liquor sold for off-the-premises consumption and 

restaurant meals, liquor for consumption on the premises, and 

rental vehicles 

  
Maryland 6% 

9% for alcoholic beverages 

  
Pennsylvania 6% plus 1% or 2% in certain local jurisdictions 

  
Virginia* 5.3%; 2.5% for food, both rates include 1% for local jurisdictions 

  
West Virginia 6%; plus 0.5% or 1% in certain municipalities 

 
*An additional state tax of 0.7% is imposed in localities in Northern Virginia and the Hampton Roads 

region. 

 

 

Maryland regulates the sale, transfer, rent and possession of regulated firearms, which 

consist of handguns and assault weapons.  Maryland does not regulate the sale of rifles or 

shotguns and no permit is required to purchase a rifle or shotgun that is not an assault 

weapon.  

 

Connecticut, Massachusetts, Michigan, New Jersey, and Washington have similar sales 

and use tax exemptions for firearm safety devices.         

 

State Fiscal Effect:    General fund revenues decrease by a potentially significant amount 

beginning in fiscal 2017 depending on the number of firearm safety devices purchased each 

year and the taxable price of each item.   
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The price of firearm safety devices vary from as little as $10 for a simple trigger lock to 

$1,000 or more for a sophisticated gun safe.  It is not currently known how many gun 

owners in the State currently have some sort of firearm safety device and how many would 

purchase a device as a result of the bill.  As noted, handguns sold in the State are already 

required to have either an external or integrated safety lock.  

 

The Department of State Police report the following sales of firearms in Maryland:  

126,330 in 2013 (prior to enactment of Chapter 427 of 2013, the Firearm Safety Act); 

28,287 in 2014; and 37,259 in 2015.  

 

As a point of reference, Michigan passed legislation similar to this bill in 2015.  The 

Michigan Department of Treasury estimated the revenue loss associated with the sales tax 

exemption to be approximately $1.0 million per year.  Data from the U.S. Census Bureau 

indicates that Maryland’s population is approximately 60% of Michigan’s.  Assuming a 

similar level of per capita purchases of firearm safety devices as estimated in Michigan, 

general fund revenues may decrease by approximately $600,000 annually beginning in 

fiscal 2017.   

 

The Comptroller’s Office will incur a one-time expenditure increase of $81,300 in 

fiscal 2017 to notify the approximately 130,000 sales and use tax account holders of the 

sales tax change. 

 

 

Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  None. 

 

Cross File:  HB 1271 (Delegate Parrott) – Ways and Means. 

 

Information Source(s):  National Rifle Association, Comptroller’s Office, Department of 

State Police, Department of Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - February 15, 2016 

 min/jrb 

 

Analysis by:   Michael Sanelli  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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