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Reckless and Negligent Driving - Death of Another - Must-Appear Violation
(Ryan's Law)

This bill alters enforcement, under the Maryland Vehicle Law, for reckless or negligent
driving that contributes to an accident resulting in death to another by designating these
violations as “must appear” offenses, meaning that the offender may not prepay the penalty
but must appear in court to answer the charge.

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: General fund expenditures increase for the Judiciary by $164,000 in FY 2017
for one-time computer programming costs associated with the bill. No effect on revenues.
Enforcement can be handled with existing resources.

(in dollars) FY 2017 FY 2018 FY 2019 FY 2020 FY 2021
Revenues $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
GF Expenditure 164,000 0 0 0 0
Net Effect ($164,000) $0 $0 $0 $0

Note:() = decrease; GF = general funds; FF = federal funds; SF = special funds; - = indeterminate effect
Local Effect: Enforcement can be handled with existing resources. No effect on revenues.

Small Business Effect: None.

Analysis

Current Law: A person is guilty of reckless driving if a motor vehicle is driven in wanton
or willful disregard for the safety of persons or property or in a manner that indicates
a wanton or willful disregard for the safety of persons or property. A violation isa misdemeanor,



subject to a maximum fine of $1,000. The Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) is also
required to assess six points against the driver’s license upon conviction for this offense.
The District Court prepayment penalty, including court costs, is $510 for this offense.

A person is guilty of negligent driving if the motor vehicle is driven in a careless or
imprudent manner that endangers any property or the life or safety of any individual.
This violation is a misdemeanor, subject to a maximum fine of $500. Upon conviction,
MVA must assess one point against the driver’s license, or three points if the offense
contributes to an accident. The District Court assesses a prepayment penalty of $140 for
this offense or $280 if the offense contributes to an accident.

Background: According to the District Court, in fiscal 2015, there were 10,672 citations
issued for reckless driving, of which 6 contributed to an accident and resulted in fatalities,
and 25,185 citations issued for negligent driving, of which 17 contributed to an accident
and resulted in fatalities.

State Expenditures: General fund expenditures increase for the Judiciary by $164,025 in
fiscal 2017 for one-time computer programming changes to the Judicial Information
System. The offenses covered by the bill must be designated as “must appear” instead of
payable.

Additional Information
Prior Introductions: None.
Cross File: None.

Information Source(s): Judiciary (Administrative Office of the Courts), Department of
State Police, Maryland Department of Transportation, Department of Legislative Services
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