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Health and Government Operations

Health Insurance - Group Health Benefit Plans - Renewal Premium Rate
Calculation Statement

This bill requires insurers, health maintenance organizations, and nonprofit health service
plans (collectively known as carriers) to provide a policyholder or plan sponsor of a group
health benefit plan with a renewal premium rate calculation statement. The statement must
be provided at least 90 days before the date of renewal and include, both for the group
overall and on a per-member per-month basis, (1) the projected premium rate for the
renewal plan year and specified factors on which the projected premium rate is based and
(2) the premium rate calculation for the renewal plan year based on the group’s base period
enrollment at current plan year premium rates.

The bill applies to all group health benefit plans issued, delivered, or renewed in the State
on or after October 1, 2016.

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: None. The bill does not directly affect governmental finances.
Local Effect: None.

Small Business Effect: None.

Analysis

Current Law: Carriers must renew group health benefit plans at the option of the
policyholder or plan sponsor with noted exceptions, including nonpayment of premiums,



fraud, intentional misrepresentation, failure to comply with a material plan provision, and
if the carrier elects not to renew all group health benefit plans in the State.

A carrier that elects not to renew all of a particular product in the State must provide notice
of the nonrenewal at least 90 days before the effective date to each policyholder, plan
sponsor, participant, and beneficiary. A carrier must offer each affected plan sponsor the
option to purchase any other health insurance coverage currently being offered by the
carrier and act uniformly without regard to the claims experience of any affected
individual. A carrier that elects not to renew all group health benefit plans in the State must
give notice to the affected individuals at least 180 days prior to the effective date of the
nonrenewal, must give notice to the Maryland Insurance Commissioner at least 30 working
days prior to the notice, and is prohibited from writing new business for groups in the State
for a five-year period.

Background: Unlike the small group market, in which premiums are based on age and
geographic location, in the large group market, premiums are based on the experience of
each individual group.

Although never required, at least some carriers have provided similar information
regarding premium rate calculation to group health benefit plans in the past. According to
the Maryland Insurance Administration, the provision of such information would benefit
employers as they would receive specific information about what their new group health
benefit plan premium rate is based on.

Additional Information
Prior Introductions: None.
Cross File: None.

Information Source(s): Department of Budget and Management, Maryland Insurance
Administration, Department of Legislative Services
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