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Criminal Procedure - Expungement - Possession of Marijuana 
 

 

This bill expands eligibility for expungements to include convictions for possession of 

marijuana under § 5-601 of the Criminal Law Article before October 1, 2014.   

   

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  Potential significant increase in general fund revenues from filing fees in the 

District Court.  Potential significant increase in general fund expenditures for the Judiciary 

and the Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services (DPSCS) to comply with 

the bill’s requirements.  Minimal increase in special fund revenues for the Maryland State 

Archives from fees assessed the Judiciary to pull archived files. 

  

Local Effect:  Minimal increase in local revenues from filing fees in the circuit courts.  

Expenditures may increase for local entities to implement the bill’s provisions, as discussed 

below. 

  

Small Business Effect:  None. 

  

 

Analysis 
 

Current Law:  In general, a defendant in possession of marijuana is guilty of a 

misdemeanor and subject to imprisonment for up to one year and/or a fine of up to $1,000.  

However, pursuant to Chapter 158 of 2014, possession of less than 10 grams of marijuana 

is a civil offense punishable by a fine of up to $100 for a first offense and $250 for a second 

offense.  The maximum fine for a third or subsequent offense is $500.  A citation for a 

violation for possession of less than 10 grams of marijuana, and the related public court 

record, are not subject to public inspection and may not be included on the public website 
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maintained by the Maryland Judiciary.  Chapter 4 of 2016 repealed the criminal prohibition 

on the use or possession of marijuana paraphernalia and eliminated the associated penalties.       

 

Under the Criminal Procedure Article, a person who has been charged with the commission 

of a crime may file a petition for expungement listing the relevant facts of a police record, 

court record, or other record maintained by the State or a political subdivision of the State, 

under various circumstances listed in the statute.  These grounds include acquittal, 

dismissal of charges, entry of probation before judgment, entry of nolle prosequi, stet of 

charge, and gubernatorial pardon.  Individuals convicted of a crime that is no longer a crime 

or convicted or found not criminally responsible of specified public nuisance crimes are 

also eligible for expungement of the associated criminal records under certain 

circumstances.   

 

If two or more charges, other than one for a minor traffic violation, arise from the same 

incident, transaction, or set of facts, they are considered to be a unit.  If a person is not 

entitled to expungement of one charge or conviction in a unit, the person is not entitled to 

expungement of any other charge in the unit. 

 

A person is not entitled to expungement if (1) the petition is based on the entry of probation 

before judgment, except a probation before judgment for a crime where the act on which 

the conviction is based is no longer a crime, and the person within three years of the entry 

of the probation before judgment has been convicted of a crime other than a minor traffic 

violation or a crime where the act on which the conviction is based is no longer a crime or 

(2) the person is a defendant in a pending criminal proceeding. 

 

Expungement of a court record means removal from public inspection: 

 

 by obliteration; 

 by removal to a separate secure area to which persons who do not have a legitimate 

reason for access are denied access; and 

 if access to a court record or police record can be obtained only by reference to 

another such record, by the expungement of that record, or the part of it that provides 

access. 

 

Background:  Exhibit 1 features the number of convictions of Criminal Law Article 

§ 5-601 for the possession of marijuana in the District Court from fiscal 2005 through 2015.    
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Exhibit 1 

District Court Convictions for Possession of Marijuana 

Fiscal 2005 through 2015 

 

Fiscal Year Number of Convictions  

2005 3,365 

2006 3,940 

2007 4,204 

2008 4,541 

2009 4,440 

2010 3,961 

2011 4,229 

2012 3,813 

2013 2,664 

2014 971 

2015 392 

 
Source:  Maryland Judiciary 

   

 

The Judiciary advises that during fiscal 2015, there were 32,726 petitions for expungement 

filed in the District Court and 2,448 petitions filed in the circuit courts.  During fiscal 2014, 

there were 35,737 petitions for expungement filed in the District Court and 1,646 in the 

circuit courts.  Legislation expanding eligibility for expungements enacted in 2015 took 

effect on October 1, 2015.  According to the District Court, the percentage of petitions filed 

in the District Court increased by 50.55% during October through December 2015 

compared to the number of petitions filed during the same time period in 2014.  

 

In general, the number of expungements received by the Maryland Criminal Justice 

Information System (CJIS) within DPSCS has steadily increased over the years.  

CJIS advises that this increase is due to legislation expanding eligibility for expungements 

(including expungements for individuals arrested and released without being charged) and 

an increase in the number of occupations and employers requiring background checks.  

The numbers shown below in Exhibit 2 do not include expungements for individuals 

released without being charged with a crime.  Those expungements are handled through a 

fairly automated process and involve significantly less work than other types of 

expungements.  
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Exhibit 2 

CJIS Expungements 

2004-2015 

 

Calendar CJIS 

Year Expungements1 
2004 15,769 

2005 16,760 

2006 20,612 

2007 21,772 

2008 24,200 

2009 25,146 

2010 27,199 

2011 20,492 

2012 30,654 

2013 34,207 

2014 33,801 

2015 36,412 

 
1Does not include expungements for individuals released without being charged. 

 
Source:  Maryland Criminal Justice Information System – Department of Public Safety and Correctional 

Services 

 

 

As previously stated, statute authorizes expungement of a conviction if the act on which 

the conviction is based is no longer a crime.  Thus, some individuals convicted of 

possession of marijuana prior to October 1, 2014, may already be eligible for expungement 

of their convictions.  However, the exact number of individuals already eligible under 

current statute is not readily available and cannot be determined without reviewing 

individual case files.  Statistics on whether a person possessed less than 10 grams of 

marijuana are not available prior to 2012, when that quantity distinction became a factor 

under statute.  Pursuant to Chapters 193 and 194 of 2012, a person in possession of less 

than 10 grams of marijuana was subject to a reduced penalty of imprisonment for up to 

90 days and/or a maximum fine of $500.  Prior to 2012, there was no distinction in the 

criminal penalties assessed based on the amount of marijuana possessed.  

 

State Revenues:  General fund revenues may increase significantly from filing fees for 

expungement petitions in the District Court or appellate courts.  The District Court charges 

a $30 filing fee for expungement petitions.   
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The Maryland State Archives has records prior to 1981.  The Archives has advised, in 

similar bills, that per a memorandum of understanding with the Judiciary, it charges the 

Administrative Office of the Courts $10 per file pulled.  Given the ages of convictions 

affected by the bill, the Archives may collect fees to pull files as a result of the bill.  Thus, 

special fund revenues for the Maryland State Archives increase minimally from fees to pull 

archived files. 

 

State Expenditures:  General fund expenditures may increase significantly for the 

Judiciary and DPSCS to comply with the bill’s provisions. 

 

Judiciary 

 

The Judiciary advises that it needs 12 clerks to implement the bill’s requirements, at a cost 

of $550,623 in fiscal 2017 and $672,194 in fiscal 2018.  However, the actual need for 

personnel depends on the volume, timing, and geographical distribution of petitions filed 

under the bill, which can only be determined with actual experience under the bill.   

 

While initial demand is likely significant and occurs within a compressed time period, it is 

also probable that the volume and timing of petitions stabilizes over time.  Hence, while 

the Judiciary needs additional personnel to address initial petition volume, the Judiciary 

may also be able to reevaluate and adjust its personnel needs at a future date to account for 

this stabilized volume and timing.  The cost associated with hiring one clerk is $39,683 in 

fiscal 2017, which reflects the bill’s October 1, 2016 effective date, and $48,583 in 

fiscal 2018.   

 

Given the scope of convictions eligible for expungement under the bill, individuals with 

older convictions may feel motivated to petition for expungement as a result of the bill.  

Thus, the Administrative Office of the Courts is likely to incur general fund expenditures 

to request files from the Archives, as discussed above. 

 

The Judiciary further advises that it reprints brochures and forms on an as-needed basis 

and incurs increased expenditures of $9,571 to create and revise expungement and 

shielding forms and brochures.  However, the Department of Legislative Services advises 

that revising printed materials to reflect changes to statute is a routine function of the 

Judiciary and can be incorporated into annual revisions of forms and brochures. 

 

DPSCS 

 

General fund expenditures for DPSCS may increase significantly as a result of additional 

expungement orders generated by the bill.  CJIS advises that it needs to hire one additional 

expungement clerk for every additional 2,500 expungements generated by the bill.  

The number of additional clerks needed cannot be reliably determined at this time and 
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depends on the number of expungement orders granted by courts under the bill.  Several 

positions in the expungement unit at CJIS have been frozen or have remained vacant in 

recent years.  The cost associated with hiring one expungement clerk is $41,750 in 

fiscal 2017, which reflects the bill’s October 1, 2016 effective date, and $51,319 in 

fiscal 2018.  CJIS does not charge a fee for expungements.   

 

Local Revenues:  Local revenues from expungement petition filing fees may increase 

significantly.  The circuit courts charge a $30 filing fee for expungement petitions. 

 

Local Expenditures:  Local expenditures may increase for local jurisdictions to comply 

with the bill’s requirements.  The extent of the increase varies by jurisdiction but could be 

significant in some jurisdictions.  For instance, the Montgomery County Police Department 

advises that it needs one additional employee, at an annual cost of $67,872 per year, to 

handle the anticipated additional workload under the bill. 

 

The State’s Attorneys’ Association advises that the bill has no effect on prosecutors. 

 

Additional Comments:  The Department of State Police advises that as a result of the bill, 

its licensing division may not be able to determine if an applicant for a handgun 

qualification license (HQL) is a habitual drug user.  Habitual drug use is a disqualifying 

factor for determining if an applicant qualifies for a HQL or qualifies to purchase a weapon. 

 

 

Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  None. 

 

Cross File:  None. 

 

Information Source(s):  Judiciary (Administrative Office of the Courts), Office of the 

Public Defender, Department of Juvenile Services, Department of Public Safety and 

Correctional Services, Department of State Police, Maryland State Archives, State’s 

Attorneys’ Association, Montgomery County, Department of Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - March 7, 2016 

 min/kdm 

 

Analysis by:   Amy A. Devadas  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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