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This bill renames the Class C (Maryland Ensemble Theater) on-sale beer and wine license 

in Frederick County to be a Class C (theater) license and expands eligibility to include any 

theatre that seats 200 or fewer individuals per performance.  The bill also renames the Class 

MEC (micro-brewery/entertainment center) license to be a Class EC (entertainment center) 

license and authorizes the board to issue the license to a person for use in conjunction with 

a Class B beer, wine, and liquor (BWL) license.  The bill clarifies that a holder of a 

Class EC license may sell, for on-premises consumption, (1) malt beverages that are 

brewed in the license holder’s micro-brewery, if the license holder also holds a Class 7 

micro-brewery license, or (2) beer, wine, and liquor, if the license holder also holds a 

Class B BWL license. 
 

The bill takes effect July 1, 2016. 

   

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  None. 
  
Local Effect:  To the extent that the bill results in additional applications for an issuance of 

alcoholic beverages licenses in Frederick County, revenues increase due to application 

fees, license fees, and renewal fees.  Any increase in workload to review applications and 

monitor and enforce newly issued licenses can be covered by the additional fee revenue 

obtained. 
  

Small Business Effect:  Minimal.  Theaters and entertainment centers that are newly 

eligible, and apply for, a license may realize an increase in sales as a result of the bill. 
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Analysis 
 

Current Law:   
 

Maryland Ensemble Theatre License 

 

The Class C (Maryland Ensemble Theatre) on-sale beer and wine license may only be 

issued for the Maryland Ensemble Theatre.  The annual license fee is $100.  The license 

allows the holder to sell beer and wine for on-premises consumption from one hour before 

to one hour after a regular performance or a fundraiser performance for the benefit of the 

Maryland Ensemble Theatre.  The president and two other officers of the Maryland 

Ensemble Theatre must sign the application for the license, and two of the signers must be 

residents of Frederick County.   

 

Micro-brewery/Entertainment Center License 

 

The board may issue a Class MEC (micro-brewery/entertainment center) license to a 

person for use in conjunction with a Class 7 micro-brewery license.  The entertainment 

center license authorizes the license holder to sell, for on-premises consumption, malt 

beverages that are brewed in the license holder’s micro-brewery.  The annual license fee is 

$1,500.  Alcohol may be sold (1) Monday through Saturday, from 6:00 a.m. to 2:00 a.m. 

the following day, and (2) on Sunday, from 11:00 a.m. to 2:00 a.m. the following day.  The 

entertainment center may (1) allow the playing of music and dancing and (2) contain rides, 

games, and one or more food service facilities, bars, or lounges.  

 

General Alcoholic Beverages Provisions  

 

Generally, only one alcoholic beverages license may be issued to a single licensee, and no 

more than one license may be issued for the same premises, with specified exceptions.  In 

Maryland, a Class B beer, wine, and liquor license allows a restaurant or hotel to sell 

alcoholic beverages for consumption on the premises or elsewhere. 

 

Class B BWL License in Frederick County 

 

Generally, a Class B BWL license may be issued to a hotel or restaurant that meets 

specified size and assessed value criteria.  The annual license fee for a restaurant is $1,500, 

and the annual license fee for a hotel is $2,000. 

 

Background:  Approximately six theaters in Frederick County meet the size requirement 

of the bill.  There have been no Class MEC licenses issued in Frederick County.  However, 

Frederick County advises that they are aware of two potential applicants for the Class EC 

license created under the bill.   
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Local Fiscal Effect:  To the extent that the bill results in additional applications for and 

issuance of alcoholic beverages licenses in Frederick County, county revenues increase due 

to application filing fees ($750), annual licensing fees ($100 for each theater license, and 

$1,500 for each EC license), and annual renewal fees ($100).  However, the number of 

individuals who will seek to obtain a license as a result of the bill, and any corresponding 

revenue increase, cannot be reliably estimated at this time.  For illustrative purposes only, 

if two establishments apply for Class C theater licenses and two establishments apply for 

Class EC licenses, revenues increase under the bill by $6,200 in the first year of licensure 

and by $3,600 annually thereafter.           

 

 

Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  None. 

 

Cross File:  HB 840 (Frederick County Delegation) - Economic Matters. 

 

Information Source(s):  Frederick County, Department of Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - February 15, 2016 

Revised - Senate Third Reader - March 17, 2016 
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Analysis by:   Nathan W. McCurdy  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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