SENATE BILL 261

Q1

7lr1398

By: Senators Bates, Edwards, Ready, and Young <u>Young, Guzzone, and Kasemeyer</u> Introduced and read first time: January 20, 2017 Assigned to: Budget and Taxation

Committee Report: Favorable with amendments Senate action: Adopted Read second time: February 9, 2017

CHAPTER _____

1 AN ACT concerning

2 Property Tax Credit – Residential Property Damaged by Natural Disaster

- FOR the purpose of altering a certain property tax credit authorized against the county or
 municipal corporation property tax for certain residential real property damaged by
 flooding to include damage caused by a natural disaster; providing for the application
 of this Act; and generally relating to a property tax credit for residential real property
- 7 damaged by a natural disaster.
- 8 BY repealing and reenacting, with amendments,
- 9 Article Tax Property
- 10 Section 9–211
- 11 Annotated Code of Maryland
- 12 (2012 Replacement Volume and 2016 Supplement)
- 13 SECTION 1. BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF MARYLAND,
 14 That the Laws of Maryland read as follows:
- 15

Article – Tax – Property

16 9–211.

The Mayor and City Council of Baltimore City or the governing body of a county or of a municipal corporation may grant, by law, a property tax credit under this section against the county or municipal corporation property tax imposed on residential real property that the Mayor and City Council of Baltimore City or the appropriate governing

EXPLANATION: CAPITALS INDICATE MATTER ADDED TO EXISTING LAW.

[Brackets] indicate matter deleted from existing law.

<u>Underlining</u> indicates amendments to bill.

Strike out indicates matter stricken from the bill by amendment or deleted from the law by amendment.



SENATE BILL 261

1 body determines has suffered [flood damage or sewage] damage caused by [flood 2 conditions] A NATURAL DISASTER.

3 SECTION 2. AND BE IT FURTHER ENACTED, That this Act shall take effect June 4 1, 2017, and shall be applicable to all taxable years beginning after June 30, 2017.

Approved:

Governor.

President of the Senate.

Speaker of the House of Delegates.