SENATE BILL 707

R67lr3292 **CF HB 952** By: Senators Norman and Cassilly Introduced and read first time: February 3, 2017 Assigned to: Judicial Proceedings Committee Report: Favorable with amendments Senate action: Adopted Read second time: March 7, 2017 CHAPTER AN ACT concerning Vehicle Law - Waste and Recycling Collection Vehicles - Use of Yellow and **Amber Lights** (The Senator Bob Hooper Sanitation Safety Act) FOR the purpose of authorizing certain waste or recycling collection vehicles to be equipped with or display certain lights or signal devices; and generally relating to lighting equipment on waste or recycling collection vehicles. BY repealing and reenacting, without amendments, Article – Transportation Section 22-218(c)(11)Annotated Code of Maryland (2012 Replacement Volume and 2016 Supplement) BY repealing and reenacting, with amendments, Article – Transportation Section 22-218(c)(6)Annotated Code of Maryland (2012 Replacement Volume and 2016 Supplement) SECTION 1. BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF MARYLAND, That the Laws of Maryland read as follows:

EXPLANATION: CAPITALS INDICATE MATTER ADDED TO EXISTING LAW.

[Brackets] indicate matter deleted from existing law.

<u>Underlining</u> indicates amendments to bill.

1

2

3

4

5 6

7

8

9

10

11

12 13

14

15

16

17 18

19 20

21

Strike out indicates matter stricken from the bill by amendment or deleted from the law by amendment.

Article - Transportation



22-218.

 $5\\6\\7$

(c) (6) Service vehicles, WASTE OR RECYCLING COLLECTION VEHICLES, rural letter carrier vehicles, slow moving farm vehicles, and tow trucks may be equipped
with or display yellow or amber lights or signal devices.
(11) The yellow or amber lights or signal devices permitted on vehicles under paragraph (6) of this subsection may be flashed or oscillated or otherwise used only in the course of official duties, to indicate to the public that the vehicle is a slow moving vehicle or otherwise is impeding traffic.
SECTION 2. AND BE IT FURTHER ENACTED, That this Act shall take effect October 1, 2017.
Approved:
Governor.
President of the Senate.
Speaker of the House of Delegates.