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Washington County - Alcoholic Beverages - Hotel and Motel Licenses

This bill alters the privileges of a Class B beer, wine, and liquor (BWL) license issued to a
hotel or motel in Washington County. Specifically, the bill authorizes a license holder who
(1) was issued the license with an existing off-sale privilege, on or before June 30, 2016,
and (2) operated a retail store on the licensed premises since at least June 30, 2016, to sell
alcoholic beverages for both on- and off-premises consumption. The license is restricted
to on-premises consumption for all other license holders. The bill also requires a license
holder to notify the Washington County Board of License Commissioners prior to
constructing or altering an area on the licensed premises where beer, wine, and liquor are
sold.

The bill takes effect July 1, 2017.

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: None.

Local Effect: Washington County operations or finances are not materially affected.

Small Business Effect: Minimal.

. _______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________|]
Analysis

Current Law: Chapter 605 of 2016 authorized the holder of a Class B BWL (hotel and
restaurant) license to sell beer, wine, and liquor at a hotel or restaurant at retail, for
on-premises consumption only, (1) through room service or otherwise to registered guests
or (2) by the glass, bottle, or can to individuals attending an event in a ballroom, conference



room, or banquet room. The Washington County Board of License Commissioners is
authorized to adopt regulations for the license, including regulations that (1) provide for
the manner of dispensing beer, wine, and liquor under the license; (2) provide for the hours
and days of sale; and (3) limit the quantity of alcoholic beverages that may be sold to an
individual as a single serving or during a 24-hour period. The annual license fee is $1,000.
The Sunday permit fee is $250.

Additional Information
Prior Introductions: None.

Cross File: SB 1039 (Washington County Senators — Rules) is designated as a cross file,
but it is not identical.
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