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Economic Matters   

 

Units of State Government - Award of Grants to Counties - Requirement of Paid 

Sick Leave 
 

   

This bill establishes that, if a unit of State government awards a grant to a county that 

provides funding for an employee position, the terms of the grant must require the county 

to provide the employee paid sick leave that, at a minimum, accrues at a rate of 4 hours per 

month for a total of 48 hours per year. 

   

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  State agencies can add provisions to grant agreements with existing 

resources.  Revenues are not affected. 

  

Local Effect:  Expenditures increase in counties that do not provide State grant-funded 

workers paid sick leave, in most cases to do so for part-time or temporary employees; any 

such impact is likely minimal.  Revenues are not affected.  

  

Small Business Effect:  None.     

  

 

Analysis 
 

Current Law:  Maryland law does not require local government employers to provide 

employees with paid or unpaid sick leave.         

 

State employees in both the State Personnel Management System and the Maryland 

Department of Transportation Human Resources System currently accrue paid sick leave 

at the rate of 1.5 hours for every 26 hours worked in nonovertime status.  Employees earn 
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a maximum of 15 days or 120 hours of sick leave each year.  Employees may use paid sick 

leave for the following: 

 

 for illness or disability of the employee; 

 for death, illness, or disability of the employee’s immediate family member; 

 following the birth of the employee’s child; 

 when a child is placed with the employee for adoption; or 

 for a medical appointment of the employee or the employee’s immediate family 

member. 

 

Federal Family and Medical Leave Act of 1993 

 

The Federal Family and Medical Leave Act of 1993 (FMLA) requires covered employers 

to provide eligible employees with up to 12 work weeks of unpaid leave during any 

12-month period under the following conditions:  

 

 the birth and care of an employee’s newborn child;  

 the adoption or placement of a child with an employee for foster care;  

 to care for an immediate family member (spouse, child, or parent) with a serious 

health condition;  

 medical leave when the employee is unable to work due to a serious health 

condition; or  

 any qualifying circumstance arising out of the fact that the employee’s spouse, son, 

daughter, or parent is a covered military member on “covered active duty.”  

 

Generally, an FMLA-covered employer is an entity engaged in commerce that employs at 

least 50 employees.  Public agencies and public or private elementary or secondary schools 

are considered to be covered employers, regardless of the number of individuals they 

employ.  
 

An eligible employee is an individual employed by a covered employer who has been 

employed for at least 12 months; however, these may be nonconsecutive months.  

Among other criteria, the individual must have been employed for at least 1,250 hours of 

service during the 12-month period immediately preceding the leave.          

         

Background:  Montgomery County enacted paid sick leave legislation in June 2015 

(Montgomery County Bill 60-14), which generally requires employers in the county to 

provide 1 hour of earned sick and safe leave for every 30 hours an employee works in the 

county, up to 56 hours in a calendar year.  An employer with five or more employees must 

provide paid leave, while an employer with fewer than five employees must provide 
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32 hours of paid leave and 24 hours of unpaid leave in a year.  A person who regularly 

works in Montgomery County more than 8 hours each week, including a domestic worker, 

for an employer that employs one or more persons in the county, in addition to the owners, 

is covered.  An employer includes the county government but not the federal, State, or any 

other local government.  The law does not cover an independent contractor or a person who 

does not have a regular work schedule.   

 

According to the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, in Maryland’s region (South Atlantic) in 

2016, 61% of workers in private-industry businesses have paid sick leave, while 92% of 

workers in state and local governments have paid sick leave.   

 

Based on the 2015 National Health Interview Survey, approximately half of all workers 

who are covered by paid sick leave plans do not take any days off for illness or injury in a 

given year (not including maternity leave) while approximately 65% of workers who are 

not covered by paid sick leave plans do not take any days off for illness or injury.  Exhibit 1 

shows the percentage of workers who miss work at a job due to illness or injury by whether 

the worker has access to paid sick leave.  Employees, on average, took 3.5 days off work 

for an illness or injury.  Based on a sample of the survey respondents that the Department 

of Legislative Services analyzed, the average number of sick days employees with a paid 

sick leave policy took is not statistically significantly different from the average number of 

sick days employees took without a paid sick leave policy. 

 
 

 

Exhibit 1  

Percentage of Workers that Take Sick Days 

 

 
Source:  2015 National Health Interview Survey; Department of Legislative Services 
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Local Expenditures:  While counties provide paid sick leave to full-time employees, not 

all counties provide the paid sick leave required by this bill to all of their State grant-funded 

staff.  The Maryland Association of Counties advises that many, if not all, counties have 

grant-funded employees, and for these employees, the grant’s terms normally establish 

employee benefits, such as paid time off and paid sick leave.  Thus, the bill has no fiscal 

impact on some counties, such as Garrett and Montgomery counties, that already provide 

paid sick leave as required by the bill.   

 

However, to the extent that counties do not provide State grant-funded workers paid sick 

leave, these counties likely incur increases in expenditures.  For example, Baltimore 

County employees who work between 10 to 17 hours per week earn 2.33 hours of paid sick 

leave per month, instead of the required 4 hours per month under the bill, and employees 

who work less than 10 hours do not earn paid sick leave, so Baltimore County estimates 

six grant-funded employees do not earn leave as required by the bill.  Dorchester County 

estimates a potential increase in costs to provide paid sick leave.  The actual increase depends 

on how many additional hours of paid sick leave grant-funded county employees’ use. 

 

 

Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  None. 

 

Cross File:  None. 

 

Information Source(s):  Baltimore, Dorchester, Garrett, and Montgomery counties; 

Maryland Association of Counties; Department of Budget and Management; Department 

of Labor, Licensing, and Regulation; U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics; National Health 

Interview Survey; Department of Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - February 26, 2017 

 mm/mcr 

 

Analysis by:   Heather N. Ruby  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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