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Finance Economic Matters

Motor Vehicle Insurance - Discrimination in Underwriting and Rating -
Prohibitions

This bill prohibits the insurer of a private passenger motor vehicle insurance policy from
increasing the premium for an insured who becomes a surviving spouse based solely on
the insured’s change in marital status.

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: Maryland Insurance Administration (MIA) special fund revenues may
increase negligibly in FY 2018 due to $125 rate and form filing fees; MIA can review any
such filings using existing resources. General fund revenues decrease to the extent that
less premium tax revenue is collected because insurers are prohibited from increasing
premiums in the situation described by the bill; however, the total effect is expected to be
negligible, as discussed below.

Maryland Automobile Insurance Fund Effect: Maryland Automobile Insurance Fund
(MAIF) nonbudgeted revenues are not materially affected because the situation being
prohibited by the bill rarely occurs, as discussed below. Nonbudgeted expenditures are not
affected.

Local Effect: The bill does not affect local governmental finances or operations.

Small Business Effect: Minimal.



Analysis
Current Law:
Required Security

Maryland law requires an owner of a motor vehicle that is required to be registered in the
State to maintain insurance for the vehicle during the registration period. The security
required must provide at least the payment of claims:

° for bodily injury or death arising from an accident of up to $30,000 for any
one person and up to $60,000 for any two or more persons;

° for property of others damaged or destroyed in an accident of up to $15,000;

° unless waived or exempt by Chapters 425 and 426 of 2016, for personal injury
protection of $2,500 per person; and

° for uninsured motorist coverage (unless waived, the amount equals the amount of
liability coverage provided under the policy; if waived, the amount equals the
minimum required insurance for liability coverage).

Credit History and Automobile Insurance Policies

Insurance law defines “credit history” to mean any written, oral, or other communication
of any information by a consumer reporting agency that has bearing on a consumer’s
creditworthiness, credit standing, or credit capacity used for the purpose of determining
personal lines insurance premiums or eligibility for coverage.

The insurer of a private passenger motor vehicle insurance policy may not (1) refuse to
underwrite, cancel, refuse to renew, or increase the renewal premium based, in whole or in
part, on the credit history of the insured or applicant or (2) require a particular payment
plan based, in whole or in part, on the credit history of the insured or applicant. However,
an insurer may use the credit history of an applicant to rate a new policy of private
passenger automobile insurance. An insurer that uses an applicant’s credit history to rate
a policy must meet specified requirements to do so and may provide a discount of up to
40% or impose a surcharge of up to 40%.

Background: An insurer may, based on actuarial models, increase the premium of an
insured as “single” immediately following the death of his or her spouse in the middle of a
contract term. This could be done because some insurer’s models correlate being single
with being at greater risk of filing a claim for loss under a private passenger motor vehicle
insurance policy. Although losing a spouse is not something over which an insured has
control, a premium increase may be actuarially supported.
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State Revenues: Title 6 of the Insurance Article imposes a 2% premium tax on each
authorized insurance company, surplus lines broker, or unauthorized insurance company
that sells, or an individual who independently procures, any type of insurance coverage
upon a risk that is located in the State. Revenues generally accrue to the general fund.

Currently available information suggests that increasing a policyholder’s rates due solely
to his or her change in marital status when he or she becomes a surviving spouse does not
happen very often. Therefore, even though prohibiting the practice means an insurer may
not increase a premium when it otherwise would have done so, the total effect on premium
tax revenues in the State is expected to be negligible.

Maryland Automobile Insurance Fund Revenues: MAIF advises that it currently
provides a discount based on marital status. This discount applies for about 15% of
MAIF’s policies and reduces premiums by about $87 annually for eligible policyholders.
Even so, MAIF advises that the situation being prohibited by the bill rarely occurs and,
therefore, the bill is not expected to materially affect its revenues.

Additional Information
Prior Introductions: None.

Cross File: None designated; however, HB 916 (Delegate Sydnor, et al. — Economic
Matters) is identical.

Information Source(s): Maryland Insurance Administration; Maryland Automobile
Insurance Fund; Department of Legislative Services

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - February 24, 2017
md/ljm Third Reader - March 27, 2017
Revised - Amendment(s) - March 27, 2017

Analysis by: Richard L. Duncan Direct Inquiries to:
(410) 946-5510
(301) 970-5510
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