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This bill establishes a special event permit that the Washington County Board of License 

Commissioners may issue to a holder of a Class 3 winery license or a Class 4 limited winery 

license.  The permit authorizes the holder to sell for on-premises consumption of beer, wine 

produced by the holder, and liquor at an event for which the entire licensed premises has 

been rented, or an event that the board approves.  A license holder must notify the board at 

least one week in advance before the event covered by the permit is to occur.  The permit 

may be used no more than 60 times in a year.  The annual permit fee is $1,000. 
 

The bill takes effect July 1, 2017, and terminates June 30, 2019.  
 

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  None.   
  
Local Effect:  Washington County revenues increase by up to $2,000 in FY 2018 and 2019 

from special event permit fees.  Washington County can handle any enforcement activity 

with existing resources.   
  
Small Business Effect:  Minimal.    
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Analysis 
 

Current Law: 
 

Class 3 Winery License 

 

The Comptroller issues a Class 3 winery license, which authorizes a license holder to 

establish and operate a plant for fermenting and bottling wine, importing bulk wine, and 

selling and delivering wine to wholesalers, permit holders, and other specified persons 

authorized to acquire wine.  A license holder may sell, at retail, wine made at the plant 

from products grown in the State to an individual participating in a guided tour of the plant 

and serve, at no charge, not more than six ounces of wine made at the plant to an individual 

participating in a guided tour of the plant who has attained the legal drinking age.  The 

annual license fee is $750. 

 

Class 4 Limited Winery License 

 

The Comptroller issues a Class 4 winery license, which authorizes a license holder to 

ferment and bottle wine and distill and bottle pomace brandy from available Maryland 

agricultural products.  A license holder may sell and deliver the wine and pomace brandy 

to wholesalers, permit holders, and other specified persons authorized to acquire wine or 

pomace brandy.  The license authorizes a holder to sell wine and pomace brandy produced 

by the license holder for consumption and provide, in an amount not exceeding two fluid 

ounces per brand, samples of wine and pomace brandy that the license holder produces to 

a consumer at no charge or for a fee.  License holders are subject to various restrictions on 

operating hours and food sales and service.  The annual license fee is $200.      

 

Local Fiscal Effect:  According to the Comptroller’s Office, two Class 4 limited wineries 

would be eligible to obtain the permit.  Accordingly, revenues increase by up to $2,000 in 

fiscal 2018 and 2019 from special event permit fees. 

 

 

Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  None. 

 

Cross File:  SB 620 (Washington County Senators) - Education, Health, and 

Environmental Affairs. 

 

Information Source(s):  Washington County; Comptroller’s Office; Department of 

Legislative Services 
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fn/tso 

 

Analysis by:   Michelle Davis  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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