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This bill requires the person authorized to make a sale in an action to foreclose a mortgage 

or deed of trust to give written notice of the proposed sale to a condominium or 

homeowners association (HOA) that has recorded, at least 30 days before the date of the 

proposed sale, a statement of lien against the property under the Maryland Contract Lien 

Act (MCLA).  The notice must be sent to the condominium or HOA at the address shown 

on the statement of lien.  In the event of a postponement or cancellation of a sale to 

foreclose a mortgage or deed of trust, the bill requires the trustee of the property to provide 

written notice to the record owner and, if applicable, to a condominium or HOA that was 

notified of the sale, within 14 days after the postponement or cancellation.  The notice must 

be sent by first-class mail, postage prepaid. 

   

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  The Department of Housing and Community Development and the Judiciary 

can handle the bill’s requirements with existing resources.  The Office of the Attorney 

General, Consumer Protection Division, can handle the bill’s requirements with existing 

resources, assuming 50 or fewer new complaints are generated by the bill.  Revenues are 

not affected.   

  

Local Effect:  The bill is not anticipated to materially affect the circuit courts or local 

finances or operations. 

  

Small Business Effect:  Potential minimal. 
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Analysis 

 

Current Law:           
 

Notice of Proposed Foreclosure Sale 

 

“Record owner” means the person holding record title to property as of the later of (1) 30 days 

before the day on which a foreclosure sale of the property is actually held and (2) the date 

on which an action to foreclose the mortgage or deed of trust is filed.      

 

The person authorized to make a sale in an action to foreclose a mortgage or deed of trust 

is required to give written notice of the proposed sale to the record owner of the property.  

The written notice must be sent by certified mail, postage prepaid, return receipt requested, 

as well as by first-class mail, to the record owner not earlier than 30 days and not later than 

10 days before the date of sale.  The notice must state the time, place, and terms of the sale.  

 

The person sending the notice is required to file, with the documents submitted to the court, 

a return receipt for the notice, or an affidavit that the notice was sent or that the address of 

the record owner could not reasonably be found.  In the event a sale is postponed, which 

may be done at the discretion of the trustee, no new or additional notice is required. 

   

The right of a record owner to file an action for the failure to provide the required notice 

expires three years after the date of the order ratifying the foreclosure sale.   

 

Foreclosure Process in Maryland 

 

Except under specified circumstances, to foreclose on residential property in Maryland, the 

secured party must first send a notice of intent to foreclose (NOI) to the mortgagor or 

grantor and the record owner, then file and serve an order to docket (OTD) or a complaint 

to foreclose.  Whether an OTD is appropriate, or a complaint to foreclose, is based on the 

lien instrument held by the secured party.  An action to foreclose a mortgage or deed of 

trust may not be filed until the later of 90 days after a default in a condition on which the 

mortgage or deed of trust specifies that a sale may be made, or 45 days after an NOI and 

accompanying loss mitigation application are sent.  An OTD or complaint to foreclose must 

be filed with the circuit court, and a copy must be served on the mortgagor or grantor.  

An OTD or a complaint to foreclose must include, if applicable, the license number of both 

the mortgage originator and the mortgage lender.  The OTD or complaint to foreclose must 

also contain an affidavit stating the date and nature of the default and, if applicable, that 

the NOI was sent and that the contents of the NOI were accurate at the time it was sent. 
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Perquisites for Foreclosure Sales 

 

If the residential property is not owner occupied, a foreclosure sale may not occur until at 

least 45 days after specified notice is given.  If the residential property is owner occupied, 

and foreclosure mediation is not held, a foreclosure sale may not occur until the later of 

(1) at least 45 days after providing specified notice that includes a final loss mitigation 

affidavit or (2) at least 30 days after a final loss mitigation affidavit is mailed.  Finally, if 

the residential property is owner-occupied residential property and postfile mediation is 

requested, a foreclosure sale may not occur until at least 15 days after the date the postfile 

mediation is held or, if no postfile mediation is held, the date the Office of Administrative 

Hearings files its report with the court.   

 

Generally, notice of the time, place, and terms of a foreclosure sale must be published in a 

newspaper of general circulation in the county where the action is pending at least once a 

week for three successive weeks.  The first publication of the notice must be more than 

15 days before the sale, and the last publication must be within one week of the sale.    

 

Curing Defaults 

 

The mortgagor or grantor of residential property has the right to cure a default and reinstate 

the loan at any time up to one business day before a foreclosure sale by paying all past-due 

payments, penalties, and fees.  Upon request, and within a reasonable time, the secured 

party or the secured party’s authorized agent must notify the mortgagor or grantor or his or 

her attorney of the amount necessary to cure the default and reinstate the loan as well as 

provide instructions for delivering the payment. 

 

Maryland Contract Lien Act 

 

Generally, under MCLA, a person seeking to create a lien as a result of a breach of contract 

must give written notice, within two years of the breach, to the person whose property is 

subject to the lien.  Within 30 days after service of the notice, the person served may file a 

complaint in circuit court to determine whether probable cause exists to establish a lien.  If 

the court orders a lien or the property owner fails to file a complaint, the person seeking to 

create a lien may file a statement of lien in the land records. 

 

With specified exceptions, a lien may be enforced and foreclosed by the lien holder in the 

same manner, and subject to the same requirements, as the foreclosure of mortgages or 

deeds of trust on property containing a power of sale or an assent to a decree.  An action to 

foreclose a lien must be brought within 12 years following recordation of the lien statement. 

 

Background:  The Secretary of State advises that, in 2016, there were 2,859 condominium 

regimes in the State, and the State Department of Assessments and Taxation reports that 
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there were 222,664 condominium units.  The Foundation for Community Association 

Research estimated that there were 6,600 community associations in the State in 2015.  For 

more information on condominiums and HOAs (commonly known as common ownership 

communities), see the Appendix – Common Ownership Communities. 

 

 

Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  As amended, HB 538 of 2016 passed the House but received an 

unfavorable report from the Senate Judicial Proceedings Committee. 

 

Cross File:  None. 

 

Information Source(s):  Office of the Attorney General (Consumer Protection Division); 

Judiciary (Administrative Office of the Courts); Department of Housing and Community 

Development; Department of Labor, Licensing, and Regulation; Secretary of State; State 

Department of Assessments and Taxation; Foundation for Community Association 

Research; Department of Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - January 19, 2017 

Third Reader - February 19, 2017 

 

mm/kdm 

 

Analysis by:   Nathan W. McCurdy  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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Appendix – Common Ownership Communities 
 

 

When a person purchases a single-family home, a condominium, or an interest in a 

cooperative housing corporation, he or she may also be required to join an association of 

owners, which is intended to act in the common interests of all the homeowners, 

condominium unit owners, or cooperative owners in the community.  Collectively, these 

associations are often referred to as common ownership communities (COCs).  In 

Maryland, a growing number of newly constructed or newly converted residences are 

located in some form of COC.  
 

The affairs of a condominium are governed by a council of unit owners, which comprises 

all unit owners.  Among other powers, the council of unit owners has the power to impose 

assessments on the unit owners to pay common expenses.  A council of unit owners may 

delegate its powers to a board of directors, officers, or a managing agent.  Condominiums 

are governed under Title 11 of the Real Property Article.  
 

Many new housing developments are subject to a homeowners association (HOA) that is 

created by a governing document and has the authority to impose mandatory fees on lots 

in the development in connection with the provision of services or for the benefit of the 

lots, the lot owners, or the common areas.  HOAs are governed under Title 11B of the Real 

Property Article.  
 

A cooperative housing corporation or “cooperative” is a corporation that owns real 

property.  A resident of a cooperative does not own his or her unit; rather, the person owns 

an interest in the corporation, which leases the unit to the person for residential use.  

Cooperatives are governed by the laws in Title 5, Subtitle 6B of the Corporations and 

Associations Article. 
 

Condominiums and HOAs may be authorized by their governing documents to impose 

liens on units or lots to collect unpaid assessments or fees.  In a cooperative, the governing 

documents usually provide for the collection of delinquent fees, and evictions for unpaid 

fees are generally pursued by way of a landlord-tenant action.  
 

Since registration of the various COCs is not required statewide, the exact number of COCs 

in Maryland is unknown.  However, public offering statements for condominium regimes 

are required by law to be registered with the Secretary of State (SOS).  Statewide for 2016, 

the SOS registration records show that there are 2,859 condominium regimes, and the State 

Department of Assessments and Taxation, which maintains assessment records based on 

class of property, reports that there are 222,664 condominium units.  The Foundation for 

Community Association Research estimated that there were 6,600 community associations 

in the State in 2015.  
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Task Force on Common Ownership Communities 

 

With a growing number of Marylanders residing in COCs, and evidence that some COCs 

had issues with governance, dispute resolution, and financial stability, the 

General Assembly created the Task Force on Common Ownership Communities in 2005 

(Chapter 469 of 2005).  The issues addressed by the task force included the education and 

training needs of COC boards and prospective buyers, availability of alternative dispute 

resolution services, special considerations of aging COCs, collection of assessments, and 

resale of homes within COCs.  The task force met 10 times, held five public hearings, and 

submitted its final report in December 2006.  The report’s findings and recommendations 

have served, in subsequent years, as the basis for numerous pieces of legislation intended 

to improve the operation of COCs.  This legislation, enacted from 2007 through 2016, 

accomplished the following: 

 

 authorized a group of three or more unit or lot owners in a condominium or HOA 

to petition a circuit court to appoint a receiver in specified situations frequently 

found in aging communities (Chapter 321 of 2007);  

 

 gave the Consumer Protection Division within the Office of the Attorney General 

increased authority over violations of the Maryland Homeowners Association Act 

(Chapter 593 of 2007);  

 

 eased restrictions on the ability of certain older HOAs to amend their governing 

documents by allowing an amendment at least once every five years by a specified 

percentage of votes (Chapters 144 and 145 of 2008); 

 

 strengthened the transition process from developer to the governing body of a 

condominium or HOA by allowing the governing body to terminate specified 

contracts and requiring the developer to provide specified documents (Chapters 95 

and 96 of 2009);  

 

 required the governing body of a COC to purchase fidelity insurance or a fidelity 

bond covering various acts of malfeasance by COC officers, directors, and other 

specified employees and agents (Chapters 77 and 78 of 2009 and Chapter 615 of 

2010); 

 

 granted priority to a specified portion of a lien of a condominium or HOA over the 

claim of a holder of a first mortgage or first deed of trust in the event of a foreclosure 

on a unit or lot (Chapter 387 of 2011); 
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 limited the amount of damages for which the governing body of a condominium or 

HOA may foreclose on a lien against a unit owner or lot owner (Chapters 448 and 

449 of 2013); 

 

 expanded the purposes for which a condominium’s board of directors may hold a 

closed meeting, similar to the law for an HOA, by allowing a meeting to be closed 

to consider terms or conditions of a business transaction in the negotiation stage if 

disclosure could adversely affect the economic interests of the council of unit 

owners (Chapter 110 of 2013);  

 

 established meeting standards and standards for late charges for delinquent 

payments, eviction restrictions, an auditing process for books and records, and a 

dispute settlement mechanism for cooperatives under specified circumstances 

(Chapter 567 of 2014); and 

 

 altered the contents of a required disclosure for the resale of a condominium unit, 

authorized the assessment of specified fees by a condominium council of unit 

owners or an HOA for providing specified information, set limits on those fees, and 

required the Department of Housing and Community Development to adjust the 

maximum authorized fees every two years (Chapter 735 of 2016).  

 

The task force’s report also featured findings and recommendations relating to the creation 

of an ombudsman in local governments.  Since the report’s release, Prince George’s County 

created its Common Ownership Communities Program in 2007 with the stated purpose of 

assisting governing bodies as well as owners and residents of HOAs, residential 

condominiums, and cooperative housing corporations with education, training, and 

alternative dispute resolution.  Charles and Montgomery counties have offices dedicated 

to COCs that predate the task force. 

 

Finally, findings and recommendations of the report that have not been codified in statute 

include reserves of COCs, an insurance deductible cap for unit owners, and the uniformity 

of COC depository requirements. 
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