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This bill authorizes the Office of Administrative Hearings (OAH) to hold a prehearing 

conference before (1) a prefile mediation session and (2) a postfile mediation session.  The 

conferences are to be governed by the rules of procedure for contested cases of OAH.  The 

bill also extends the timeline for filing an action to foreclose a mortgage or deed of trust 

on residential property from 90 days to 120 days after default. 
   
 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  Special fund revenues for the Department of Housing and Community 

Development (DHCD) decrease minimally on an annual basis due to accrued interest that 

may be lost on loans from the additional delay in the foreclosure process as a result of the 

bill’s provisions.  Expenditures are not materially affected.  OAH can handle the bill’s 

requirements with existing resources, as discussed below.   
  
Local Effect:  The bill is not anticipated to affect local government operations or finances. 
  
Small Business Effect:  None.   
  

 

Analysis 
 

Current Law: 
 

Foreclosure Process in Maryland 

 

Generally, to foreclose on residential property in Maryland, the secured party must first 

send a notice of intent to foreclose (NOI) to the mortgagor or grantor and the record owner, 

then file and serve an order to docket (OTD) or a complaint to foreclose.  Whether an OTD 



    

HB 1046/ Page 2 

is appropriate, or a complaint to foreclose, is based on the lien instrument held by the 

secured party.  An action to foreclose a mortgage or deed of trust may not be filed until the 

later of 90 days after a default in a condition on which the mortgage or deed of trust 

specifies that a sale may be made, or 45 days after an NOI and accompanying loss 

mitigation application are sent.  An OTD or complaint to foreclose must be filed with the 

circuit court, and a copy must be served on the mortgagor or grantor.  An OTD or a 

complaint to foreclose must include, if applicable, the license number of both the mortgage 

originator and the mortgage lender.  The OTD or complaint to foreclose must also contain 

an affidavit stating the date and nature of the default and, if applicable, that the NOI was 

sent and that the contents of the NOI were accurate at the time it was sent. 

 

A secured party may petition the circuit court for leave to immediately commence an action 

to foreclose the mortgage or deed of trust if: 

 

 the loan secured by the mortgage or deed of trust was obtained by fraud or 

deception; 

 no payments have ever been made on the loan secured by the mortgage or deed of 

trust; 

 the property subject to the mortgage or deed of trust has been destroyed; or 

 the default occurred after the stay has been lifted in a bankruptcy proceeding.   

 

The court may rule on the petition with or without a hearing.  If the petition is granted, the 

action may be filed at any time after a default in a condition on which the mortgage or deed 

of trust provides that a sale may be made, and the secured party is not required to send a 

written NOI. 

 

Perquisites for Foreclosure Sales 

 

If the residential property is not owner occupied, a foreclosure sale may not occur until at 

least 45 days after specified notice is given.  If the residential property is owner occupied 

and foreclosure mediation is not held, a foreclosure sale may not occur until the later of (1) at 

least 45 days after providing specified notice that includes a final loss mitigation affidavit or 

(2) at least 30 days after a final loss mitigation affidavit is mailed.  Finally, if the residential 

property is an owner-occupied residential property and postfile mediation is requested, a 

foreclosure sale may not occur until at least 15 days after the date the postfile mediation is 

held or, if no postfile mediation is held, the date OAH files its report with the court.   

 

A foreclosure mediation may be extended for good cause by OAH for up to 30 days, unless 

there is agreement by all parties.  Additionally, both parties have an obligation to provide 

instructions regarding documents and information to each other and the mediator.  Any 

motion to stay a foreclosure sale must come within 15 days of the date the postfile 
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mediation is held.  Notice of the sale of a foreclosed property must be sent 10 days before 

the date of sale.    

 

Generally, notice of the time, place, and terms of a foreclosure sale must be published in a 

newspaper of general circulation in the county where the action is pending at least once a 

week for three successive weeks.  The first publication of the notice must be more than 

15 days before the sale, and the last publication must be within one week of the sale.  

 

Final Loss Mitigation Affidavit 

 

The final loss mitigation affidavit is made by a person authorized to act on behalf of a 

secured party of a mortgage or deed of trust on owner-occupied residential property that is 

the subject of a foreclosure action.  The affidavit must certify the completion of the final 

determination of loss mitigation analysis in connection with the mortgage or deed of trust, 

and that, if denied, provides an explanation for the denial of a loan modification or other 

loss mitigation. 

 

Curing Defaults 

 

The mortgagor or grantor of residential property has the right to cure a default and reinstate 

the loan at any time up to one business day before a foreclosure sale by paying all past-due 

payments, penalties, and fees.  Upon request, and within a reasonable time, the secured 

party or the secured party’s authorized agent must notify the mortgagor or grantor or his or 

her attorney of the amount necessary to cure the default and reinstate the loan as well as 

provide instructions for delivering the payment. 

 

Background:  The number of foreclosure events on residential property in Maryland has 

remained stubbornly high, despite national trends downward.  DHCD data demonstrates that, 

in 2016, 14,895 properties were the subject of a notice of mortgage loan default or OTD.    

 

Under federal regulations, if a mortgage is “federally related” then an action to foreclose 

may be filed no sooner than 120 days after the loan becomes delinquent.  Most loans are 

federally related because most are (1) from a federally regulated or insured lender; 

(2) related to the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development; or (3) intended to 

be sold to secondary market lenders such as Federal National Mortgage Association 

(FNMA or Fannie Mae), Government National Mortgage Association (GNMA or Ginnie 

Mae), and Federal Home Loan Mortgage Corporation (FHLMC or Freddie Mac).  As a 

result, the bill’s proposed extension of the foreclosure timeline effectively codifies 

prevailing practice and reflects federal law with regard to a substantial number of 

foreclosure actions in the State. 
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State Revenues:  Special fund revenues for DHCD minimally decline in fiscal 2018 and 

future years due to the longer period required before an action to foreclose a mortgage or 

deed of trust may be filed.  However, as the authorized conferences may alter the outcome 

of foreclosure actions, there is not enough information to estimate the lost revenue that may 

be incurred by DHCD.  However, the Department of Legislative Services (DLS) advises 

that any such impact is likely to be minimal. 

 

According to DHCD, special fund revenues decrease by approximately $75,000 in 

fiscal 2018, and by approximately $100,000 annually in the out-years, due to accrued 

interest lost on loans during the extended foreclosure process.  However, DLS notes that 

this estimate assumes that OAH holds the prehearing conferences as authorized under the 

bill.  The authorized conferences may alter the outcomes of prefile and postfile mediations 

in a way that reduces the number of foreclosure actions and mitigates the amount of interest 

lost on housing loans issued by DHCD. 

 

State Expenditures:  As the bill authorizes, but does not require, OAH to conduct 

prehearing conferences, no additional expenditures are incurred.  Even so, OAH advises 

that, because the rules of procedure allow prehearing conferences to be conducted by 

telephone, OAH anticipates that it will be able to handle any additional prehearing 

conferences with existing resources. 

 

 

Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  None. 

 

Cross File:  None. 

 

Information Source(s):  Judiciary (Administrative Office of the Courts); Department of 

Housing and Community Development; Department of Labor, Licensing, and Regulation; 

Office of Administrative Hearings; Department of Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - February 27, 2017 

Third Reader - March 14, 2017 

 

fn/kdm 

 

Analysis by:   Nathan W. McCurdy  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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