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Economic Matters   

 

Labor and Employment - Wages and Benefits - Preemption of Local Authority 
 

   
This bill prohibits a county or municipality from enacting a law that regulates the wages or 

benefits provided by an employer other than the county or municipality.  Any provision of 

law enacted by a county or municipality that does so may not be enforced if the provision 

was enacted on or after January 1, 2017.  Subject to these provisions, the Commissioner of 

Labor and Industry must enforce a local minimum wage law and has the same powers and 

duties in enforcing a local minimum wage law as the commissioner has in enforcing the 

Maryland Wage and Hour Law. 
 

The bill takes effect June 1, 2017. 
 

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  Prohibiting a county or municipality from enacting a law that regulates the 

wages or benefits provided by an employer does not materially affect State finances.  The 

Department of Labor, Licensing, and Regulation (DLLR) can continue to enforce local 

minimum wage laws with existing resources. 
  
Local Effect:  Prohibiting a county or municipality from enacting a law that regulates the 

wages or benefits provided by an employer other than the county or municipality is not 

expected to have an effect on local finances because the bill does not restrict the authority 

of a county or municipality to regulate the wages or benefits of its own employees.  

Foregone future minimum wage increases by counties and municipalities may affect local 

income tax revenues; the net effect is expected to be negligible in that any increased 

payments by individuals would likely have been offset by decreased payments by 

businesses.       
  

Small Business Effect:  Potential meaningful.      
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Analysis 
 

Current Law:  The Commissioner of Labor and Industry must enforce a local minimum 

wage law.  The commissioner has the same powers and duties in enforcing a local minimum 

wage law as the commissioner has in enforcing the State’s Wage and Hour Law.  The 

commissioner, on his own initiative or on receipt of a written complaint, may investigate 

whether a local minimum wage law has been violated.  Additionally, the commissioner 

may delegate any power or duty of the commissioner to enforce a local minimum wage 

law. 

 

Maryland Wage and Hour Law 
 

The Maryland Wage and Hour Law is the State complement to the federal Fair Labor 

Standards Act (FLSA) of 1938.  State law sets minimum wage standards to provide a 

maintenance level consistent with the needs of the population.  State law specifies that an 

employee must be paid the greater of the federal minimum wage (which is currently $7.25 

per hour) or $8.75 per hour.  Under Chapter 262 of 2014, the State minimum wage is 

scheduled to increase on an incremental basis over the next two years to $9.25 per hour as 

of July 1, 2017, and $10.10 per hour as of July 1, 2018.   

 

However, an employer may pay an employee a wage that equals 85% of the State minimum 

wage for the first six months that the employee is employed if the employee is younger 

than age 20.  Additionally, an employer of an amusement or a recreational establishment, 

including a swimming pool, that meets specified conditions may pay an employee a wage 

that equals the greater of $7.25 or 85% of the State minimum wage.  Exceptions to the 

minimum wage requirement also exist for a training wage and a disabled employee of a 

sheltered workshop under specified conditions.   
 

The Maryland Wage and Hour Law, and minimum wage requirements, do not apply to 

certain categories of employees, including those defined as administrative, executive, or 

professional; certain seasonal employees; part-time employees younger than age 16; 

salesmen and those who work on commission; an employer’s immediate family; drive-in 

theater employees; employees training in a special education program in a public school; 

employees of an establishment that sells food and drink for on-premises consumption and 

has an annual gross income of $400,000 or less; employees employed by an employer who 

is engaged in canning, freezing, packing, or first processing of perishable or seasonal fresh 

fruits, vegetables, poultry, or seafood; and certain farm workers.   

 

Background:  Maryland counties operate under three forms of government:  commission; 

charter home rule; and code home rule.  Commission counties cannot enact local laws in 

areas where the General Assembly has not expressly granted authority, while charter 

counties have the authority to enact local laws.  Code counties have authority to enact some 
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local laws, but their power is not as extensive as charter home rule so the General Assembly 

must pass some local laws for code counties. 

 

Charter counties have the authority to regulate local wages and benefits under the Express 

Powers Act.  The act grants a charter county council the authority to pass any ordinance, 

resolution, or bylaw, not inconsistent with State law, which may aid in executing and 

enforcing powers under the Express Powers Act or may aid in maintaining the peace, good 

government, health, and welfare of the county.  A charter county may exercise these powers 

to the extent that the powers are not preempted by or in conflict with public general law.  

Currently, 11 counties exercise charter home rule.   

 

Counties that exercise commission or code home rule have not been delegated the police 

power that charter counties have, so they lack the legal authority to establish a local 

minimum wage.  Baltimore City has police power, so it can establish and enforce a local 

minimum wage rate.  Exhibit 1 shows the form of government for each Maryland county. 

 

 

Exhibit 1 

Forms of County Governments in Maryland 

 

Charter Commission Code 

Anne Arundel Calvert Allegany 

Baltimore Carroll Caroline 

Cecil Garrett Charles 

Dorchester St. Mary’s Kent 

Frederick Somerset Queen Anne’s 

Harford Washington Worcester 

Howard 
  

Montgomery 
 

 

Prince George’s   

Talbot   

Wicomico   
 

Source:  Department of Legislative Services 

 

 

Maryland has 156 municipalities with home rule powers under Article XI-E of the 

Maryland Constitution.  A municipality has the following powers and no others:  (1) those 

granted in express words; (2) those necessarily or fairly implied in or incident to the powers 

expressly granted; and (3) those essential to the accomplishment of the declared objects 

and purposes of the corporation.  A municipality may adopt ordinances to assure the good 

government of the municipality; protect and preserve the municipality’s rights, property, 
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and privileges; preserve peace and good order; secure persons and property from danger 

and destruction; and protect the health, comfort, and convenience of the residents of the 

municipality. 

 

Local Laws on Employee Wages and Benefits 

 

Montgomery County and Prince George’s County passed local minimum wage laws in 

2013 – Montgomery County Bill 27-13 and Prince George’s County Bill CB-94-2013.  

Both bills phase in minimum wage increases over four years.  The bills increase the 

minimum wage to $8.40 per hour beginning October 1, 2014; $9.55 per hour beginning 

October 1, 2015; $10.75 per hour beginning October 1, 2016; and $11.50 per hour 

beginning October 1, 2017.  The county minimum wages for Montgomery and 

Prince George’s counties do not apply to an employee who is exempt from the minimum 

wage requirements of the Maryland Wage and Hour Law or the federal FLSA or to an 

employee who is younger than age 19 and is employed no more than 20 hours in a week.  

The Montgomery County Executive recently vetoed legislation that would have increased 

the minimum wage in Montgomery County to $15.00 per hour by 2020.  
 

Baltimore City enacted a city minimum wage rate in 1964, which was challenged in the 

State Court of Appeals in Mayor of Baltimore v. Sitnick, 254 Md. 303, 255 A.2d 

376 (1969).  The court found that the State’s minimum wage rate did not preempt 

Baltimore’s minimum wage law since Baltimore’s law supplemented the State law by 

setting a higher rate.  Baltimore City still has its own minimum wage statute with an 

enforcement commission, which currently enforces the State minimum wage rate in the 

city.  Legislation was introduced in 2016 to raise the minimum wage in Baltimore City to 

$15.00 per hour by fiscal 2021, but the legislation did not pass.  

 

Montgomery County enacted paid sick leave legislation in June 2015 (Montgomery 

County Bill 60-14), which generally requires employers in the county to provide 1 hour of 

earned sick and safe leave for every 30 hours an employee works in the county, up to 

56 hours in a calendar year.  An employer with 5 or more employees must provide paid 

leave, while an employer with less than 5 employees must provide 32 hours of paid leave 

and 24 hours of unpaid leave in a year.  A person who regularly works in Montgomery 

County more than 8 hours each week, including a domestic worker, for an employer that 

employs one or more persons in the county in addition to the owners is covered.  An 

employer includes the county government, but not the federal, State, or any other local 

government.  The law does not cover an independent contractor or a person who does not 

have a regular work schedule. 
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Other States 

 

The following 24 states have laws that prevent local governments from enacting a higher 

minimum wage than the state statute requires:  Alabama, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, 

Idaho, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, New York, 

North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, 

Tennessee, Texas, Utah, and Wisconsin.  Arizona, as well as 13 of those other states, has 

laws that prevent local governments from regulating other employment benefits. 

 

Small Business Effect:  Small businesses within jurisdictions that are considering 

legislation to regulate private-sector employee wages or benefits may benefit from the 

prohibition against new local laws regulating employee wages or benefits.  By prohibiting 

new local laws on employee wages and benefits, the bill prevents potential increased 

payroll expenses and administrative burdens associated with complying with those laws.  

DLLR advises that employers and employees are often confused over the application of 

existing minimum wage laws when employees travel or work temporarily in jurisdictions 

with different rules, so prohibiting new local laws on employee wages and benefits may 

prevent further confusion.     

 

 

Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  None. 

 

Cross File:  None. 

 

Information Source(s):  Baltimore City; Montgomery and Prince George’s counties; 

Maryland Association of Counties; Maryland Municipal League; Department of Labor, 

Licensing, and Regulation; The Washington Post; Department of Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - February 5, 2017 

 md/mcr 

 

Analysis by:   Heather N. Ruby  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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