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This bill establishes that a prior conviction not arising from the same incident from another 

state, or in a federal military or Native American tribal court, that if committed in this State 

would be considered a violation § 3-303 (first-degree rape), § 3-304 (second-degree rape), 

§ 3-305 (first-degree sexual offense), or § 3-306 (second-degree sexual offense) of the 

Criminal Law Article, may serve as a predicate crime for an additional penalty for repeat 

sexual offenders.   

 

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  Assuming that the additional penalty authorized under § 3-313 of the 

Criminal Law Article is a rare occurrence, general fund incarceration expenditures for the 

Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services (DPSCS) increase minimally as a 

result of the bill.  Revenues are not affected. 

  

Local Effect:  None. 

  

Small Business Effect:  None. 

  

 

Analysis 
 

 

Current Law:  Upon a conviction of a violation of the State’s prohibitions on 

second-degree rape (§ 3-304), second-degree sexual offense (§ 3-306), third-degree sexual 

offense (§ 3-307), attempted second-degree rape (§ 3-310), or attempted second-degree 

sexual offense (§ 3-312) under the Criminal Law Article, a person who has been convicted 

on a prior occasion not arising from the same incident of any violation of the State’s 
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prohibitions on first-degree rape, second-degree rape, first-degree sexual offense, or 

second-degree sexual offense under the Criminal Law Article is subject to imprisonment 

not exceeding life.   

 

If the State intends to proceed against a person under this additional penalty, it must comply 

with the procedures set forth in the Maryland Rules for the indictment and trial of a 

subsequent offender.    

 

Background:  DPSCS conducted intake on 48 individuals for second-degree rape, 

47 individuals for second-degree sexual offense, and 59 individuals for third-degree sexual 

offense during fiscal 2016.   

 

Neither DPSCS nor the State’s Attorneys’ Association have information on the number of 

individuals sentenced under the additional penalty provision authorized under § 3-313 of 

the Criminal Law Article.  The Maryland State Commission on Criminal Sentencing Policy 

(MSCCSP) provided information on individuals sentenced in the State’s circuit courts 

during fiscal 2016 for some of the offenses that, upon conviction, are eligible for an 

additional penalty as a subsequent offender.  MSCCSP did not receive information as to 

whether a subsequent offender petition was filed for any of the affected individuals.  

However, MSCCSP also advises that information on subsequent offender petitions was 

missing from the submissions MSCCSP received for most individuals convicted of the 

selected offenses that are affected by the bill. 

 

State Expenditures:  Assuming that individuals are rarely sentenced under the additional 

penalty provision contained in § 3-313 of the Criminal Law Article, general fund 

expenditures increase minimally as a result of individuals being committed for longer 

amounts of time due to expanded application of the additional penalty.   

 

Persons serving a sentence longer than 18 months are incarcerated in State correctional 

facilities.  Currently, the average total cost per inmate, including overhead, is estimated at 

$3,600 per month.  This bill alone, however, should not create the need for additional beds, 

personnel, or facilities.  Excluding overhead, the average cost of housing a new State 

inmate (including variable health care costs) is about $800 per month.  Excluding all health 

care, the average variable costs total $210 per month.       

 

 

Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  None. 

 

Cross File:  None. 
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Information Source(s):  Maryland State Commission on Criminal Sentencing Policy; 

Judiciary (Administrative Office of the Courts); Department of Public Safety and 

Correctional Services; Office of the Public Defender; State’s Attorneys’ Association; 

Department of Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - February 19, 2017 

Third Reader - March 14, 2017 
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Analysis by:   Amy A. Devadas  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 

 


	HB 738
	Department of Legislative Services
	Maryland General Assembly
	2017 Session
	FISCAL AND POLICY NOTE
	Third Reader
	Fiscal Summary
	Analysis
	Additional Information




