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Health and Government Operations

State Board of Professional Counselors and Therapists - Maryland Music
Therapists Act

This bill establishes the Music Therapist Advisory Committee within the State Board of
Professional Counselors and Therapists, and it requires individuals to be licensed by the
board by January 1, 2018, in order to practice music therapy in the State.

The bill subjects the new licensure program to periodic review under the Maryland
Program Evaluation Act, as with other health occupations boards and certain advisory
committees, establishing a termination date of July 1, 2027, with a preliminary evaluation
in 2024.

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: Special fund expenditures for the board increase by $31,600 in FY 2018 to
hire one full-time contractual administrative specialist to implement the bill’s
requirements. Future year expenditures reflect elimination of the contractual position in
FY 2019 concurrent with hiring of a part-time, regular employee to continue licensing
music therapists and handle ongoing responsibilities. Special fund revenues for the board
increase by $41,700 in FY 2018 from licensing fees. Out-years reflect biennial renewal

fees.
(in dollars) FY 2018 FY 2019 FY 2020 FY 2021 FY 2022
SF Revenue $41,700 $0 $32,700 $0 $32,700
SF Expenditure $31,600 $41,800 $41,000 $43,300 $45,900
Net Effect $10,100 ($41,800) ($8,300) ($43,300) ($13,100)

Note:() = decrease; GF = general funds; FF = federal funds; SF = special funds; - = indeterminate increase; (-) = indeterminate decrease

Local Effect: None.



Small Business Effect: Meaningful.

Analysis
Definitions

“Board certified music therapist” means an individual who (1) has completed the education
and clinical training requirements established by the American Music Therapy Association
(AMTA) and (2) holds current board certification from the Certification Board for Music
Therapists (CBMT, which is not affiliated with the Maryland State Board of Professional
Counselors and Therapists or the Music Therapy Advisory Committee established under
the bill).

“Individualized music therapy treatment plan” means a music therapy treatment plan for a
client that identifies the goals, objectives, and potential strategies for the client using music
therapy interventions, including (1) music improvisation; (2) receptive music listening;
(3) song writing; (4) lyric discussion; (5) music and imagery; (6) music performance;
(7) learning through music; and (8) movement to music.

“Practice of music therapy” means the clinical and evidence-based use of music therapy to
accomplish individualized goals for people of all ages and ability levels within a
therapeutic relationship. The bill provides several specific examples of the practice of
music therapy, but specifies that the term does not include the diagnosis of any physical,
mental, or communication disorder.

Requirements of the Board

The bill requires the board to adopt regulations for the licensure and practice of music
therapy, as well as a code of ethics for the practice of music therapy. Additionally, the
board must set reasonable fees for the issuance and renewal of licenses and the other
services it provides to music therapists. The fees charged must be set to approximate the
cost of maintaining the licensure program and the other services provided to music
therapists.

Music Therapist Advisory Committee
The bill establishes a Music Therapist Advisory Committee within the board. The
committee consists of five members who meet specified qualifications and are appointed

by the board. The committee must meet at least once a year. Members are entitled to
reimbursement for expenses under State travel regulations, as provided in the State budget.
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The advisory committee must (1) develop and recommend implementing regulations to the
board; (2) develop and recommend to the board a code of ethics for the practice of music
therapy; (3) provide to the board recommendations concerning the practice of music
therapy and reasonable fees for the issuance and renewal of licenses and the other services
that the board provides to music therapists; (4) keep a record of its proceedings; and
(5) report to the board as required in regulations adopted by the board.

The advisory committee may also (1) facilitate the development of materials that the board
may use to educate the public concerning music therapist licensure, the benefits of music
therapy, and the use of music therapy and (2) act as a facilitator of statewide dissemination
of information among music therapists, AMTA (or any successor organization), CBMT (or
any successor organization), and the board.

Qualifications for Licensure

To qualify for a license, an applicant must be of good moral character and at least 18 years
old. The applicant must:

o be a board certified music therapist and provide proof that the applicant has either
passed the examination for board certification (offered by CBMT, or any successor
organization) or is being transitioned into board certification as well as proof that
the applicant is currently a board certified music therapist;

) hold a bachelor’s degree or higher in music therapy, or its equivalent, from an
educational program that is approved by AMTA (or any successor organization) and
within an accredited college or university;

o meet specified training requirements, including 1,200 hours of clinical training in
specified experiences;

o be in good standing based on a review of the applicant’s licensure, certification, or
registration history in other jurisdictions; and

o meet any other requirements established by the board.

The board must waive specified requirements until January 1, 2020, for an applicant who
Is (1) designated as a registered music therapist, certified music therapist, or advanced
certified music therapist and (2) in good standing with the National Music Therapy
Registry (NMTR).

Application Process
To apply for a license, an applicant must (1) submit an application to the board on the form
that the board requires; (2) pay to the board the application fee set by the board; and

(3) submit to a criminal history records check (CHRC) in accordance with standards for
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professional counselors and therapists under the Health Occupations Article. The board
must issue a license to any applicant who meets the requirements of the bill.

Criminal History Records Check

The board may not issue a license if the criminal history record information has not been
received. On receipt of the criminal history record information of an applicant for
licensure, when determining whether to grant a license, the board must consider:

the age at which the crime was committed;

the circumstances surrounding the crime;

the length of time that has passed since the crime;

subsequent work history;

employment and character references; and

other evidence that demonstrates whether the applicant poses a threat to the public
health or safety.

Renewal, Inactive Status, and Reinstatement of Licenses

A license may not be renewed for a term longer than two years. Before a license expires,
the licensee may renew the license for an additional term if the licensee (1) otherwise is
entitled to be licensed; (2) pays to the board a renewal fee; and (3) submits a renewal
application on the form that the board requires as well as evidence of compliance with any
continuing education requirements.

The board must establish continuing education requirements as a condition of the renewal
of licenses which must include proof of completion of at least 40 hours of continuing
education in an approved program.

The board must place a licensee on inactive status if the licensee submits an application for
Inactive status (on the form that the board requires) and the inactive status fee. The board
must license an individual on inactive status who applies for a license if the individual
meets the renewal requirements and meets any continuing education requirements.

The board must reinstate the license of an individual who has not been put on inactive
status and who has failed to renew the license if the individual (1) meets the renewal
requirements; (2) pays to the board a reinstatement fee; and (3) applies for reinstatement
within five years after the license expires. However, the board may not reinstate a license
that has been expired for five years or more. An individual may become licensed by
meeting the requirements for obtaining a new license.
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Disciplinary Authority

Subject to specified hearing requirements, on the affirmative vote of a majority of its
membership, the board may deny any applicant a license, reprimand a licensee, place a
licensee on probation, or suspend or revoke a license, if the applicant or licensee engages
in specified conduct.

If the board finds grounds to suspend or revoke a license, the board may impose a monetary
penalty of up to $10,000 instead of suspending or in addition to suspending or revoking the
license. The board must pay any penalties into the general fund. The board may also issue
a cease and desist order for a violation of the bill’s provisions.

With limited exceptions, a person aggrieved by a final decision of the board in a contested
case, as defined under the State Government Article, is entitled to judicial review. A
decision of the board to deny a license, enforce a suspension of a license for more than
one Yyear, or revoke a license may not be stayed pending judicial review. On the affirmative
vote of a majority of its full appointed membership, the board may reinstate the certificate
of an individual whose certificate has been revoked, reduce a suspension, or withdraw a
reprimand. Unless the board accepts the surrender of a license, the license may not lapse
by operation of law while the licensee is under investigation or while charges are pending
against the licensee.

Music Therapist Rehabilitation Subcommittee

The bill establishes a Music Therapist Rehabilitation Subcommittee that evaluates and
provides assistance to any music therapist in need of treatment and rehabilitation for
alcoholism, drug abuse, chemical dependency, or other physical, emotional, or mental
condition. The subcommittee may function solely for the committee, or jointly with a
rehabilitation committee representing another board or boards. Generally, the proceedings,
records, and files of the subcommittee are not discoverable and are not admissible in
evidence in any civil action arising out of the matters that are being or have been reviewed
and evaluated by the subcommittee.

An individual who acts in good faith and within the scope of jurisdiction of the
subcommittee is not civilly liable for any action as a member of the subcommittee or for
giving information to, participating in, or contributing to the function of the subcommittee.

Prohibited Acts and Penalties

With specified exceptions, unless a person is licensed by the board, a person may not
practice music therapy in the State, represent to the public that the person is a licensed
music therapist, or use any title or other representation that the person is a licensed music
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therapist. A person who violates any of the bill’s provisions is guilty of a misdemeanor
and on conviction is subject to a fine of up to $10,000 and/or imprisonment for up to
one year. A person who violates the prohibition against practicing without a license is
subject to a civil fine of up to $50,000 to be assessed by the board in accordance with
regulations adopted by the board.

Miscellaneous Provisions

The bill does not prohibit or restrict the practice, services, or activities of individuals
otherwise licensed or authorized to practice in the State. A licensee must notify the board
in writing of a change in name or address within 60 days after the change occurs. The
penalty for failure to comply is $100, which must be paid into the general fund.

Current Law: The State Board of Professional Counselors and Therapists licenses and
certifies professional counselors, alcohol and drug counselors, marriage and family
therapists, art therapists, and behavior analysts; receives and resolves complaints regarding
professional counselors and therapists; and sets standards for the practice of professional
counseling through regulations and legislation. The board consists of 13 members:
4 licensed clinical professional counselors, 3 licensed clinical marriage and family
therapists, 3 licensed clinical alcohol and drug counselors, 1 licensed professional art
therapist, and 2 consumers. In total, the board now regulates 14 different credentials across
five areas of specialization. In fiscal 2016, the board regulated more than
7,500 individuals, a 66% increase from fiscal 2007.

Maryland Program Evaluation Act

Approximately 70 regulatory entities and activities, including the board, are subject to
periodic evaluation under the Maryland Program Evaluation Act. The Act establishes a
process better known as “sunset review” as most entities evaluated are also subject to
termination, including the board, which is scheduled to terminate July 1, 2019. In 2016,
the Department of Legislative Services (DLS) conducted a preliminary sunset evaluation
of the board, Preliminary Evaluation of the State Board of Professional Counselors and
Therapists. DLS recommended a full evaluation of the board, which will be conducted in
2017.

Background: Music therapy is the clinical and evidence-based use of music interventions
to accomplish individualized goals within a therapeutic relationship by a credentialed
professional who has completed an approved music therapy program. In music therapy,
music is used within a therapeutic relationship to address the physical, emotional,
cognitive, and social needs of individuals. After assessing the strengths and needs of a
client, a qualified music therapist provides treatment including creating, singing, moving
to, and/or listening to music.
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The American Music Therapy Association and the National Music Therapy Registry

AMTA is the professional association for music therapists. AMTA advises that it is
committed to the advancement of education, training, professional standards, credentials,
and research in support of the music therapy profession. AMTA maintains a directory
search on its website to find AMTA-approved schools that offer a music therapy degree
program.

According to AMTA, NMTR serves qualified music therapy professionals with the
following designations: RMT (Registered Music Therapist), Certified Music Therapist,
and Advanced Certified Music Therapist. Although these designations are no longer
awarded, individuals who have received and continue to maintain them have met accepted
educational and clinical training standards and are qualified to practice music therapy.
NMTR sunsets January 1, 2020. Two Maryland residents are listed on NMTR, both of
whom hold the RMT designation and would qualify for licensure under the bill.

The Certification Board for Music Therapists

CBMT, an independent organization, certifies music therapists to practice music therapy
and administers a national music therapy examination that is officially recognized by the
National Commission for Certifying Agencies. There are 7,106 music therapists who
maintain the Music Therapist — Board Certified (MT-BC) credential. To become an
MT-BC, a person must successfully complete an AMTA-approved educational and clinical
training program and pass the board certification exam. Recertification is required every
five years through the completion of 100 recertification credits. According to CBMT,
117 individuals certified by the board practice in Maryland.

State Expenditures: The board advises, and DLS concurs, that it has no capacity to absorb
the impacts of the bill. The board’s licensee base has increased by 66% since 2007. Over
the past five years, two new specializations have been added to the board’s workload
(professional art therapists in 2012 and behavior analysts in 2014). The DLS sunset
evaluation conducted in 2016 found that the board has had to give significant attention to
implementing the regulation of the new credentials. Further, instead of gaining incremental
staff in response to the addition of new specializations, the board has lost staff.

Thus, to ensure ongoing board operations and handle additional licensing duties required
by the bill, which must be implemented under an aggressive licensing schedule (within
three months of the bill’s effective date), the board needs one full-time contractual staff
member for one full year (three-quarters of fiscal 2018 and the first quarter of fiscal 2019)
who must be hired expeditiously to staff initial meetings of the advisory committee, assist
in promulgating regulations, and initially process applications and license music therapists.
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Concurrent with elimination of the contractual position, the board needs permanent staff to
handle renewals, oversee any additional licensing and renewal requirements that occur, and
support the advisory committee. This permanent position would also be available to
support the board with other ongoing duties. DLS notes that, under normal operations and
with a longer timeframe for implementation, the board could likely handle the bill’s initial
licensing duties with one part-time contractual administrative specialist for nine months to
develop and implement the licensing program and could rely on periodic contractual
assistance in renewal years. However, given the current staffing deficit and the issues the
board is experiencing with its current responsibilities, the board requires additional
permanent staff.

Thus, board special fund expenditures increase by $31,595 in fiscal 2018, which accounts
for the bill’s October 1, 2017 effective date. This estimate reflects the cost of hiring
one full-time, contractual administrative specialist to establish the program and begin
licensing music therapists. It includes a salary, fringe benefits, one-time start-up costs, and
ongoing operating expenses. In fiscal 2019, special fund expenditures increase by $41,753,
which reflects elimination of the contractual position after the first quarter and the cost of
hiring one part-time regular employee to handle renewals, oversee ongoing licensing and
renewal requirements, and support the advisory committee (among other duties that may
be assigned).

FY 2018 FY 2019
Contractual Position 1.0 -1.0
Regular Position 0.5
Salary and Fringe Benefits $24,986 $36,472
Advisory Committee Member Reimbursement 1,500 250
Other Operating Expenses 5,109 5,031
Total State Expenditures $31,595 $41,753

Future year expenditures reflect a full salary with annual increases and employee turnover
and ongoing operating expenses, including reimbursement for advisory committee
members. This estimate does not include any health insurance costs that could be incurred
for the one contractual employee in fiscal 2018 and 2019 under the State’s implementation
of the federal Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act.

Although the advisory committee is only required to meet once a year, this analysis
estimates that the advisory committee must meet at least six times during fiscal 2018 to
develop and recommend regulations and a code of ethics and to provide other necessary
advice to the board. Future years reflect the bill’s requirement that the committee meet
once a year.
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As noted above, the bill sets an aggressive licensing timetable with an effective date of
October 1, 2017, and a requirement that all practicing music therapist be licensed by
January 1, 2018 (only three months later). It is not likely, even with the staffing
complement noted above, that the board is able to license music therapists by that date,
nevertheless, this analysis assumes the program is implemented within the required
timeframe. To be able to do so, the board must not only expeditiously hire contractual staff
but also quickly select and appoint members to the advisory committee, establish
regulations, and ensure processes are in place to confirm required credentials.

State Revenues: Under the bill, the board is authorized to set reasonable fees for licensure
sufficient to produce funds to approximate the cost of maintaining the licensure program
and the other services provided to music therapists. DLS estimates that 119 individuals
(117 with an MT-BC and 2 from the NMTR) seek licensure in fiscal 2018.

The board indicates that it intends to charge a $200 application fee, a $150 license fee, and
a $275 renewal fee. Thus, special fund revenues increase by $41,650 in fiscal 2018 and by
$32,725 in fiscal 2020 and 2022 (and biennially thereafter).

However, to cover the full costs of licensure through fiscal 2022, the board would have to
set initial licensing fees at $505 and biennial renewal fees at $605. DLS notes that the
part-time permanent position is likely available to assist the board with other duties and
that the board has a fund balance that well exceeds the recommended 25% of annual
expenditures. The current and projected fund balance reported in the 2016 preliminary
sunset evaluation indicates that the fund balance is sufficient to cover the deficit between
proposed fee revenues and expenditures. Thus, the board should be able to subsidize the
cost of licensing musical therapists with its special fund balance.

Small Business Effect: As of January 1, 2018, to be able to continue to practice music
therapy in Maryland, an individual must be licensed by the board. To become licensed, an
individual must also be certified by CBMT. Under the bill, music therapists must also
likely pay at least $350 for initial licensure and $150 for biennial renewal and be subjected
to regulatory oversight and disciplinary action by the State Board of Professional
Counselors and Therapists.

Also, each music therapist applying for licensure is subject to a CHRC at a cost of $50 for
a State and national CHRC including a $20 fingerprinting fee, a $12 Federal Bureau of
Investigation fee, and an $18 fee to the Criminal Justice Information System (CJIS) Central
Repository in the Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services. CJIS collects,
manages, and disseminates Maryland Criminal History Record Information for criminal
justice and noncriminal justice (e.g., employment and licensing) purposes.
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Although the bill does not specify whether a licensee must maintain MT-BC, the
requirement for a licensee to “otherwise be entitled to be licensed” at renewal appears to
establish a requirement for ongoing certification as well. Maintenance of MT-BC status
requires licensees to, every five years, complete at least 100 hours of recertification credits,
take and pass the certification examination, and pay at least $100 for the exam fee. These
requirements for national certification are independent of the biennial requirement for
40 hours of continuing education to maintain licensure.

Additional Information
Prior Introductions: None.
Cross File: None.
Information Source(s): American Music Therapy Association; Certification Board for
Music Therapists; Department of Health and Mental Hygiene; National Music Therapy

Registry; Department of Legislative Services

Fiscal Note History: First Reader - March 7, 2017

md/jc
Analysis by: Kathleen P. Kennedy Direct Inquiries to:
and Nathan W. McCurdy (410) 946-5510

(301) 970-5510
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