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Ways and Means

Child Care Centers - Operating Without a License - Penalties

This bill increases, from $1,500 to $2,500, the maximum fine for a first violation of the
misdemeanor offense of operating a child care center without a license. The bill also
increases, from $2,500 to $5,000, the maximum penalty for a second or subsequent
violation. In addition, the bill establishes that a violator of these provisions with respect to
a child care center in which a child suffers serious physical injury or death is guilty of a
misdemeanor and subject to maximum penalties of 60 days imprisonment and a $2,500 fine
for afirst violation and one year imprisonment and a $5,000 fine for a second or subsequent
violation.

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: The bill is not anticipated to materially impact State incarceration costs.
Potential minimal increase in general fund revenues due to the bill’s monetary penalty
provisions.

Local Effect: The bill’s penalty provisions are not anticipated to materially impact local
incarceration costs. Potential minimal increase in local revenues due to the bill’s monetary

penalty provisions.

Small Business Effect: Minimal.

. _______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________|]
Analysis

Current Law: Generally, a person must be licensed by the Maryland State Department of
Education before operating a child care center. A violator is guilty of a misdemeanor and



subject to maximum fines of $1,500 for a first violation and $2,500 for a second or
subsequent violation.

Individuals who violate statutory provisions, rules, or regulations regarding the operation
of a nonlicensed child care center are also subject to maximum civil penalties of (1) $250
for a first violation; (2) $500 for a second violation; and (3) $1,000 for third and subsequent
violations. The maximum civil penalties imposed may not exceed $5,000.

State Revenues: General fund revenues may increase minimally as a result of the bill’s
monetary penalty provisions from cases heard in the District Court. In general, the District
Court has concurrent jurisdiction with the circuit court for misdemeanors for which the
penalty may be confinement for three years or more or a fine of $2,500 or more.

State Expenditures: Generally, persons serving a sentence of one year or less in a
jurisdiction other than Baltimore City are sentenced to a local detention facility. The
Baltimore Pretrial Complex, a State-operated facility, is used primarily for pretrial
detentions. The bill is not anticipated to materially impact State incarceration costs.

Local Revenues: Local revenues may increase minimally as a result of the bill’s monetary
penalty provisions from cases heard in the circuit courts.

Local Expenditures: Counties pay the full cost of incarceration for people in their
facilities for the first 12 months of the sentence. Per diem operating costs of local detention
facilities have ranged from approximately $60 to $160 per inmate in recent years. The bill
IS not anticipated to materially impact local incarceration costs.

Additional Information
Prior Introductions: None.
Cross File: None.

Information Source(s): Judiciary (Administrative Office of the Courts); Maryland State
Department of Education; Department of Legislative Services
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