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Criminal Procedure - Expungement - Possession of Marijuana 
 

 

This bill expands eligibility for expungements to include convictions for possession of 

marijuana under § 5-601 of the Criminal Law Article.  A petition for expungement based 

on a conviction for possession of marijuana under § 5-601 of the Criminal Law Article may 

not be filed within four years after the conviction or satisfactory completion of the sentence, 

including probation, that was imposed for the conviction, whichever is later.  The bill also 

clarifies that expungement provisions under Chapter 515 of 2016 (the Justice Reinvestment 

Act) apply to a conviction of a misdemeanor violation of § 5-601 of the Criminal Law 

Article that does not involve the use or possession of marijuana. 

 

The provisions of the bill that amend Chapter 515 of 2016 take effect on the date that 

specified provisions of that Act take effect (currently October 1, 2017).   

 

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  Potential significant increase in general fund revenues from filing fees in the 

District Court.  Potential significant increase in general fund expenditures for the Judiciary 

and the Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services (DPSCS) to comply with 

the bill’s requirements.  Potential minimal increase in special fund revenues for the 

Maryland State Archives (MSA) from fees assessed the Judiciary to retrieve archived files. 

  

Local Effect:  Minimal increase in local revenues from filing fees in the circuit courts.  

Expenditures may increase for local entities to implement the bill’s provisions, as discussed 

below. 

  

Small Business Effect:  None. 
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Analysis 
 

Current Law:  In general, a defendant in possession of marijuana is guilty of a 

misdemeanor and subject to imprisonment for up to one year (six months effective 

October 1, 2017) and/or a fine of up to $1,000.  However, pursuant to Chapter 158 of 2014, 

possession of less than 10 grams of marijuana is a civil offense punishable by a fine of up 

to $100 for a first offense and $250 for a second offense.  The maximum fine for a third or 

subsequent offense is $500.  A citation for a violation for possession of less than 10 grams 

of marijuana, and the related public court record, are not subject to public inspection and 

may not be included on the public website maintained by the Maryland Judiciary.  

Chapter 4 of 2016 repealed the criminal prohibition on the use or possession of marijuana 

paraphernalia and eliminated the associated penalties.       
 

Under the Criminal Procedure Article, a person who has been charged with the commission 

of a crime may file a petition for expungement listing the relevant facts of a police record, 

court record, or other record maintained by the State or a political subdivision of the State, 

under various circumstances listed in the statute.  These grounds include acquittal, 

dismissal of charges, entry of probation before judgment, entry of nolle prosequi, stet of 

charge, and gubernatorial pardon.  Individuals convicted of a crime that is no longer a crime 

or convicted or found not criminally responsible of specified public nuisance crimes are 

also eligible for expungement of the associated criminal records under certain 

circumstances.   
 

If two or more charges, other than one for a minor traffic violation, arise from the same 

incident, transaction, or set of facts, they are considered to be a unit.  If a person is not 

entitled to expungement of one charge or conviction in a unit, the person is not entitled to 

expungement of any other charge in the unit. 
 

A person is not entitled to expungement if (1) the petition is based on the entry of probation 

before judgment, except a probation before judgment for a crime where the act on which 

the conviction is based is no longer a crime, and the person within three years of the entry 

of the probation before judgment has been convicted of a crime other than a minor traffic 

violation or a crime where the act on which the conviction is based is no longer a crime or 

(2) the person is a defendant in a pending criminal proceeding. 
 

Expungement of a court record means removal from public inspection: 
 

 by obliteration; 

 by removal to a separate secure area to which persons who do not have a legitimate 

reason for access are denied access; and 

 if access to a court record or police record can be obtained only by reference to 

another such record, by the expungement of that record, or the part of it that provides 

access.  
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Chapter 515 of 2016, also known as the Justice Reinvestment Act, expanded eligibility for 

expungements by authorizing individuals convicted of specified misdemeanors contained 

in a list of approximately 100 offenses (including possession of a controlled dangerous 

substance) to file petitions for expungements.  Effective October 1, 2017, a person may file 

a petition listing relevant facts for expungement of a police, court, or other record if the 

person is convicted of specified misdemeanors.  In general, a petition for expungement 

may not be filed earlier than 10 years after the person satisfied the sentence or sentences 

imposed for all convictions for which expungement is requested, including parole, 

probation, or mandatory supervision.  For specified crimes, a minimum waiting period of 

15 years is required.  If the person is convicted of a new crime during the waiting period, 

the original conviction or convictions are not eligible for expungement unless the new 

conviction becomes eligible.  A person is not eligible for expungement if the person is a 

defendant in a pending criminal proceeding or if one conviction in a unit of convictions is 

not eligible for expungement.  In general, a person must file a petition for expungement in 

the court in which the proceeding began.  However, Chapter 515 specifies procedures for 

situations involving transfers to another court or the juvenile court.  In addition, the law 

specifies procedural requirements regarding objections to a petition, hearings, and appeals.   

 

Background:  Exhibit 1 features the most recent data from the Maryland Judiciary on the 

number of violations (charges filed) and convictions under § 5-601 of the Criminal Law 

Article for the possession of marijuana in the District Court from fiscal 2007 through 2016.    

 

 

Exhibit 1 

Violations and Convictions for Possession of Marijuana  

Fiscal 2007 through 2016 

 

Fiscal Year 

District Court 

Violations 

District Court 

Convictions 

Circuit Court 

Violations 

Circuit Court 

Convictions 

2007 24,069 3,936 5,022 1,369 

2008 27,911 4,377 5,536 1,532 

2009 27,694 3,908 5,929 1,434 

2010 27,538 3,664 5,623 1,535 

2011 28,335 3,786 6,015 1,971 

2012 29,938 3,506 6,739 1,859 

2013 20,320 1,821 5,960 1,542 

2014 14,450 548 4,544 809 

2015 7,698 749 2,519 441 

2016 5,444 189 1,944 350 
 

Source:  Maryland Judiciary 
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The Judiciary advises that during fiscal 2015, there were 32,726 petitions for expungement 

filed in the District Court and 2,448 petitions filed in the circuit courts.   

 

In general, the number of expungements received by the Maryland Criminal Justice 

Information System (CJIS) within DPSCS has steadily increased over the years.  

CJIS advises that this increase is due to legislation expanding eligibility for expungements 

(including expungements for individuals arrested and released without being charged) and 

an increase in the number of occupations and employers requiring background checks.  

The numbers shown below in Exhibit 2 do not include expungements for individuals 

released without being charged with a crime.  Those expungements are handled through a 

fairly automated process and involve significantly less work than other types of 

expungements.  

 

 

Exhibit 2 

CJIS Expungements 

2004-2016 

 

Calendar Year CJIS Expungements1 

2004 15,769 

2005 16,760 

2006 20,612 

2007 21,772 

2008 24,200 

2009 25,146 

2010 27,199 

2011 20,492 

2012 30,654 

2013 34,207 

2014 33,801 

2015 36,412 

2016 41,854 
 

CJIS:  Criminal Justice Information System 

 
1Does not include expungements for individuals released without being charged. 

 

Source:  Maryland Criminal Justice Information System – Department of Public Safety and Correctional 

Services 
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State Revenues:  General fund revenues may increase significantly from filing fees for 

expungement petitions in the District Court or appellate courts.  The District Court charges 

a $30 filing fee for expungement petitions based on a disposition other than acquittal.  

 

According to the Judiciary, the District Court collected $748,326.50 in filing fees for 

petitions for expungement between September 1, 2015, and September 1, 2016. 

 

The extent of the bill’s impact depends on the number of individuals who are eligible for 

expungement of their convictions for possession of marijuana as a result of this bill who 

(1) are not eligible for expungement under current law and (2) will not be eligible for 

expungement of the same convictions on October 1, 2017, as a result of provisions in the 

Justice Reinvestment Act (Chapter 515 of 2016).  The exact magnitude of this population 

cannot be reliably determined at this time.   

 

Chapter 515 of 2016 expanded eligibility for expungements by authorizing individuals 

convicted of specified misdemeanors contained in a list of approximately 100 offenses 

(including possession of a controlled dangerous substance) to file petitions for 

expungements.  However, Chapter 515 imposes a 10- or 15-year waiting period following 

satisfaction of the sentence or sentences imposed for all convictions for which 

expungement is requested, including parole, probation, or mandatory supervision.  If a 

person is convicted of a new crime during the applicable waiting period, the original 

conviction or convictions are not eligible for expungement unless the new conviction 

becomes eligible for expungement.  The bill imposes a 4-year waiting period and does not 

disqualify individuals from petitioning for expungement of a conviction for possession of 

marijuana under § 5-601 of the Criminal Law Article based on a subsequent conviction.  

Thus, the bill expands the pool of individuals eligible for expungement.   

 

In general, a person otherwise eligible for expungement of his/her convictions under 

Chapter 515 would have had to have completed his/her sentence(s) by October 1, 2007, in 

order to petition for expungement of a specified misdemeanor convictions on 

October 1, 2017, the effective date of Chapter 515.  The four-year waiting period under the 

bill applies to sentences completed by October 1, 2013.  For illustrative purposes only, 

based on the figures in Exhibit 1, there were 21,610 convictions for possession of marijuana 

in the District Court from fiscal 2008 through 2014.         

 

As previously stated, statute currently authorizes expungement of a conviction if the act on 

which the conviction is based is no longer a crime.  Therefore, some individuals convicted 

of possession of marijuana prior to October 1, 2014 (the date on which the possession of 

less than 10 grams of marijuana became a civil offense rather than a criminal offense) may 

already be eligible for expungement of their convictions.  However, the exact number of 

individuals already eligible under current statute is not readily available and cannot be 

determined without reviewing individual case files.    



    

SB 949/ Page 6 

Statistics on whether a person possessed less than 10 grams of marijuana are not available 

prior to 2012, when that quantity distinction became a factor under statute.  Pursuant to 

Chapters 193 and 194 of 2012, a person in possession of less than 10 grams of marijuana 

was subject to a reduced penalty of imprisonment for up to 90 days and/or a maximum fine 

of $500.  Prior to 2012, there was no distinction in the criminal penalties assessed based 

on the amount of marijuana possessed.  For illustrative purposes only, according to 

information provided by the Judiciary, between October 1, 2012 (the effective date of 

Chapters 193 and 194 of 2012), and September 30, 2014 (the day before Chapter 158 of 

2014 took effect), there were 23,548 charges filed for possessing less than 10 grams of 

marijuana.  There were 3,979 convictions for this offense during that same time period.   

 

Furthermore, individuals convicted of possession of marijuana prior to October 1, 2012, 

who, based on the facts of their cases, were in possession of less than 10 grams of 

marijuana, may face difficulties in obtaining expungements of their convictions under 

current statute if information on the quantity of marijuana they possessed is not readily 

available in their case files.  According to the Judiciary, any cases where the file has been 

stripped due to the Judiciary’s retention policy no longer have the statement of charges 

included to see if the amount of marijuana involved is mentioned and only contain the 

docket sheet where the judge recorded the disposition.  While these individuals are 

technically eligible under current statute, and some may be eligible under Chapter 515 

(depending on the ages of their convictions and the presence of disqualifying subsequent 

convictions), the bill may allow a portion of this population to actually obtain 

expungements.       

 

MSA has records prior to 1981.  Per a memorandum of understanding with the Judiciary, 

MSA charges the Administrative Office of the Courts (AOC) $10 per file retrieved, with a 

maximum charge of $150,000 per year.  Given the ages of convictions affected by the bill, 

MSA may collect fees to retrieve files as a result of the bill.  Thus, special fund revenues 

for MSA may increase minimally from fees to retrieve archived files. 

 

State Expenditures:  General fund expenditures may increase significantly for the 

Judiciary and DPSCS to comply with the bill’s provisions. 

 

Judiciary 

 

The Judiciary advises that it needs eight clerks for the circuit courts and four clerks for the 

District Court to implement the bill’s requirements, at a cost of $602,795 in fiscal 2018 and 

$748,725 in fiscal 2019.  However, the actual need for personnel depends on the volume, 

timing, and geographical distribution of petitions filed solely as a result of the bill, which 

can only be determined with actual experience under the bill.  The District Court further 

advises that its need for four additional expungement clerks is based on (1) the 

26,484 guilty dispositions for possession of marijuana in the District Court between 
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fiscal 2007 and 2016; (2) the 2.5 hours of time estimated to process an expungement; 

(3) the 2,040 hours a clerk works in a year; and (4) the assumption that this workload is 

distributed over multiple years. 

 

While initial demand is likely significant and occurs within a compressed time period, it is 

also probable that the volume and timing of petitions stabilizes over time.  Hence, while 

the Judiciary needs additional personnel to address initial petition volume, the Judiciary 

may also be able to reevaluate and adjust its personnel needs at a future date to account for 

this stabilized volume and timing.  The cost associated with hiring one clerk is $50,234 in 

fiscal 2018, which reflects the bill’s October 1, 2017 effective date, and $62,394 in 

fiscal 2019.     

 

Should individuals with older convictions petition for expungement as a result of the bill, 

AOC incurs general fund expenditures to request files from MSA, as discussed above. 

 

In addition, the Judiciary’s cash register and financial system requires reprogramming at a 

cost of $12,600 in fiscal 2018. 

 

The Judiciary further advises that it reprints brochures and forms on an as-needed basis 

and incurs increased expenditures of $9,571 to create and revise expungement and 

shielding forms and brochures.  However, the Department of Legislative Services advises 

that revising printed materials to reflect changes to statute is a routine function of the 

Judiciary and can be incorporated into annual revisions of forms and brochures. 

 

Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services 

 

General fund expenditures for DPSCS may increase significantly as a result of additional 

expungement orders generated by the bill.  CJIS advises that it needs to hire one additional 

expungement clerk for every additional 2,500 expungements generated by the bill.  

The number of additional clerks needed cannot be reliably determined at this time and 

depends on the number of expungement orders granted by courts under the bill.  Several 

positions in the expungement unit at CJIS have been frozen or have remained vacant in 

recent years.  The cost associated with hiring one expungement clerk is $43,728 in 

fiscal 2018, which reflects the bill’s October 1, 2017 effective date, and $53,784 in 

fiscal 2019.  CJIS does not charge a fee for expungements.   

 

Local Revenues:  Local revenues from expungement petition filing fees increase 

minimally.  The circuit courts charge a $30 filing fee for expungement petitions. 

 

According to the Judiciary, the circuit courts collected $105,337.50 in expungement fees 

from all petitions in fiscal 2016. 
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Local Expenditures:  Local expenditures may increase for local jurisdictions to comply 

with the bill’s requirements.  The extent of the increase varies by jurisdiction but could be 

significant in some jurisdictions.  For instance, the Montgomery County Police Department 

advises that it needs one additional employee, at an annual cost of $69,067 per year, to 

handle the anticipated additional workload under the bill. 

 

The State’s Attorneys’ Association advises that the effect of the bill on prosecutors is 

unknown at this time. 

 

 

Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  HB 268 of 2016, a similar bill, received a hearing in the House 

Judiciary Committee.  No further action was taken on the bill.   

 

Cross File:  HB 379 (Delegate Moon, et al.) - Judiciary. 

 

Information Source(s):  Baltimore City; Caroline, Montgomery, and Prince George’s 

counties; cities of Bowie and Takoma Park; Judiciary (Administrative Office of the 

Courts); Office of the Public Defender; State’s Attorneys’ Association; Department of 

Public Safety and Correctional Services; Department of State Police; Maryland State 

Archives; Department of Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - February 23, 2017 

Third Reader - March 28, 2017 

 Revised - Amendment(s) - March 28, 2017 

 Revised - Updated Information - March 28, 2017 

 Revised - Correction - April 7, 2017 

Enrolled - May 3, 2017 

 Revised - Amendment(s) - May 3, 2017 

 

kb/kdm 

 

Analysis by:   Amy A. Devadas  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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