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This bill prohibits a person from knowingly or intentionally causing a diesel-powered 

motor vehicle to discharge clearly visible smoke, soot, or other exhaust emissions onto 

another person or motor vehicle.  The prohibition does not apply to a person operating 

(1) a diesel-powered vehicle that discharges visible exhaust as the result of normal 

acceleration or towing; (2) a commercial vehicle with a gross weight of 10,000 pounds or 

more; or (3) a construction vehicle operating at a construction site. 

   

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  Minimal general fund revenue increase from the penalty provision applicable 

to this offense under the Maryland Vehicle Law (maximum $500 fine).  Enforcement can 

be handled with existing resources. 

  

Local Effect:  Enforcement can be handled with existing resources.  Revenues are not 

affected. 

  

Small Business Effect:  None. 

  

 

Analysis 
 

Current Law:  Certain diesel vehicles in Maryland (those with a gross combination or 

gross vehicle weight rating over 10,000 pounds) are subject to inspection through the 

Diesel Vehicle Emissions Control Program, established in the Transportation Article.  

Program regulations are jointly established by the Secretaries of the Environment, State 

Police, and Transportation.  The operation of a diesel vehicle on any highway in Maryland 
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constitutes consent of the driver and owner of the diesel vehicle to be subject to an 

emissions test established under the Diesel Vehicle Emissions Control Program.  The driver 

of a diesel vehicle must obey any sign or direction of a police officer to stop the diesel 

vehicle and submit to an emissions test administered by an emissions inspector in specified 

circumstances, or at any location or time when a police officer has reasonable cause to 

believe that an individual diesel vehicle is violating emissions standards established under 

the program. 

 

Current regulations establish emissions standards based on the model year of the diesel 

vehicle engine.  Emissions tests are conducted by certified emissions inspectors of the 

Department of State Police and the Maryland Transportation Authority Police.  If a diesel 

vehicle registered in Maryland fails an emissions test, a safety equipment repair order must 

be issued to the driver.  The registered owner of a vehicle that fails an emissions test must 

repair the vehicle and have it retested.  If the owner fails to comply within 30 days of the 

safety equipment repair order, the registration may be suspended by the Motor Vehicle 

Administration.  If the registration is suspended, the owner of the diesel vehicle is subject 

to a fine of up to $1,000.  Similar requirements apply to foreign registered diesel vehicles. 

 

Background:  “Coal rolling,” as it is commonly known, is the practice of deliberately 

emitting soot from the modified exhaust pipes of a diesel-powered truck.  Exhaust from 

coal rolling can be directed at other vehicles, bicycles, and pedestrians and can pose a 

serious danger to other persons. 

 

According to a 2016 New York Times article, the practice originated in truck pulls, a 

competition in which trucks compete to pull a sled.  Competing trucks often modify their 

vehicles by removing emissions controls, which allows additional fuel to be pumped into 

the engines.  As a result, the trucks emit thick, black smoke.  According to the article, 

several state legislatures have introduced legislation in recent years to address the issue.  In 

2015, New Jersey became the first state to ban coal rolling.  The New Jersey law imposes 

a fine of up to $5,000 for coal rolling.  Legislation has been introduced in several other 

states as well, including Illinois, Colorado, and Maryland.  Under federal law, any person 

other than a manufacturer or dealer who knowingly removes or renders inoperative an 

emissions-control device is subject to a civil penalty of up to $2,500. 

 

 

Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  As amended, HB 848 of 2016 passed the House and received a 

hearing in the Senate Judicial Proceedings Committee, but no further action was taken. 

 

Cross File:  None. 
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Information Source(s):  Maryland Department of the Environment; Department of State 

Police; Maryland Department of Transportation; New York Times; Department of 

Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - January 24, 2017 

Third Reader - February 19, 2017 
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Analysis by:   Eric Pierce  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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