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This departmental bill provides an exemption from personal property valuation and 

taxation if the total original cost of the personal property was less than $2,500.  The bill 

takes effect July 1, 2018, and applies to taxable years beginning after 

December 31, 2018. 

   

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  None.  The bill does not materially affect the operations or finances of the 

State Department of Assessments and Taxation.     

  

Local Effect:  Local government personal property tax revenues decrease by 

approximately $345,500 beginning in FY 2020.  Local expenditures are not affected.  This 

bill imposes a mandate on a unit of local government.   
  

Small Business Effect:  The State Department of Assessments and Taxation has 

determined that this bill has a meaningful impact on small business (attached).  The 

Department of Legislative Services disagrees with this assessment.    

  

 

Analysis 
 

Current Law/Background:  County and municipal governments impose property taxes 

on business-owned personal property.  Appendix – Personal Property Taxation in 

Maryland provides an overview on how personal property taxes are imposed and collected 

in Maryland.  The Appendix also includes information on personal property tax rates and 

the assessable base amounts for fiscal 2018.         
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Local Fiscal Effect:  Local government personal property tax revenues decrease by 

approximately $345,500 annually beginning in fiscal 2020.  Exhibit 1 shows the number 

of personal property accounts with a total original purchase price of less than $2,500 and 

the current assessable base amount, by county, for tax year 2016.  As shown in the exhibit, 

the total assessable base for these accounts was approximately $10.8 million in tax year 

2016, which represents less than one-tenth of 1% (0.1%) of the total personal property base.  

Based on current county personal property tax rates, county personal property tax revenues 

will decrease by approximately $323,200 annually beginning in fiscal 2020, assuming a 

relatively constant personal property base and rates of depreciation.  Municipal property 

tax revenues will decrease by an estimated $22,300.    

 

Small Business Effect:  Tax year 2016 data (as shown in Exhibit 1) indicates that, on 

average, the businesses with personal property with an original purchase price of less than 

$2,500 will have an average tax savings of $11.  However, these businesses may realize 

additional savings by not having to value personal property for their annual personal 

property tax return each year.        
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Exhibit 1 

Personal Property Accounts with Original Purchase Price of less than $2,500 

Tax Year 2016 

 

County 

Personal 

Property Tax 

Rate 

Number 

of 

Accounts Base Value 

Local 

Revenue 

Decrease 

Average 

Per 

Account 

Allegany $2.4425 293 $81,220  ($1,984) $7  

Anne Arundel 2.2670 2,864 1,137,230  (25,781) 9  

Baltimore City 5.6200 2,563 1,130,860  (63,554) 25  

Baltimore 2.7500 3,904 1,640,750  (45,121) 12  

Calvert 2.2300 421 167,320  (3,731) 9  

Caroline 2.4500 138 55,660  (1,364) 10  

Carroll 2.5150 892 344,340  (8,660) 10  

Cecil 2.6035 377 140,190  (3,650) 10  

Charles 3.0125 618 226,890  (6,835) 11  

Dorchester 2.4400 100 0  0  0  

Frederick 0.0000 579 0  0  0  

Garrett 2.4750 73 0  0  0  

Harford 2.6049 1,139 477,490  (12,438) 11  

Howard 2.9750 2,023 793,510  (23,607) 12  

Kent 0.0000 49 0  0  0  

Montgomery 2.5320 6,539 2,412,550  (61,086) 9  

Prince George’s 3.4350 3,307 1,359,240  (46,690) 14  

Queen Anne’s 0.0000 87 0  0  0  

St. Mary’s 2.1195 83 29,790  (631) 8  

Somerset 2.5000 508 147,930  (3,698) 7  

Talbot 1.4270 196 0  0  0  

Washington 2.3700 562 209,080  (4,955) 9  

Wicomico 2.1715 452 154,690  (3,359) 7  

Worcester 2.0875 726 292,220  (6,100) 8  

Total  28,493 $10,800,960  ($323,244) $11  
 

Source:  State Department of Assessments and Taxation’ Department of Legislative Services 
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Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  None. 

 

Cross File:  None. 

 

Information Source(s):  State Department of Assessments and Taxation; Department of 

Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - January 28, 2018 

Third Reader - March 20, 2018 

 

md/hlb 

 

Analysis by:   Michael Sanelli  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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Appendix – Personal Property Taxation in Maryland 
 
 

In Maryland, there is a tax on business-owned personal property that is imposed and 

collected by local governments.  Personal property generally includes business property 

such as furniture, fixtures, office and industrial equipment, machinery, tools, supplies, 

inventory, and any other property not classified as real property.  To provide for uniform 

assessments, the State Department of Assessments and Taxation (SDAT) is responsible for 

assessing all personal property.  Each county or municipal government is responsible for 

issuing the tax bills and collecting the tax.  The tax year begins on July 1 and ends on 

June 30.  The personal property tax has been a local tax exclusively since 1984 when the 

State tax rate on personal property was set at zero.   

 

At the beginning of each calendar year, SDAT notifies business entities on record that a 

personal property tax return must be filed by April 15.  This tax return must include 

personal property located in Maryland as of January 1, the date of finality.  The “date of 

finality” is the date used to determine ownership, location, value, and liability for tax 

purposes.  Beginning in 2017, all tax returns will be filed electronically.  An annual report 

fee is required to be paid to SDAT with the personal property tax return.  The annual report 

fee is for the privilege of maintaining the legal entity’s existence in the State.  Exhibit 1 

identifies the amount of the report fee that each legal entity is required to pay. 

 

 

Exhibit 1 

Annual Reporting Fee Requirement 
 

Business Entity Fee  Business Entity Fee 

Stock Corp $300  Domestic Statutory Trust $300 

NonStock Corp 0  Foreign Statutory Trust 300 

Foreign Insurance Corp 300  Real Estate Investment Trust 300 

Foreign Interstate Corp 0  Certified Family Farm 100 

Limited Liability Company 300  Sole Proprietorship 0 

Limited Liability Partnership 300  General Partnership 0 

Limited Partnership 300  Amended Return 0 

    

 

Personal property, except inventory, is assessed based on the original cost less an annual 

depreciation allowance.  The depreciation rate is determined based on the category of 

property.  Seven rate categories (A through G) each pertain to different types of personal 

property.  Except for data processing equipment and canned software, property may not be 

depreciated below 25%.  For example, an item that was purchased for $400 would be 
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reduced by the depreciation factor each year until it reaches a minimum of $100.  

Inventory is valued at its fair average value using the cost or market value, whichever is 

lower.   

 

Certain personal property is exempt by statute or local law.  Exemptions generally fall into 

two categories:  those mandated by State law and those that are optional to local 

governments.  There are certain organizations or groups whose personal property is exempt 

throughout the State.  These organizations include religious groups, governmental entities, 

nonprofit hospitals, cemetery and mausoleum companies, and certain other groups that 

meet specified strict use criteria.  In addition, State law requires that certain types of 

personal property be fully exempt throughout the State.  These include aircraft, farming 

implements, residential (nonbusiness) property, most registered vehicles, boats not more 

than 100 feet in length, hand tools of mechanics or artisans, and intangible personal 

property (e.g., stocks, bonds, patents, goodwill, trademarks, etc.). 

 

State law authorizes local governments to exempt certain types of business personal 

property.  The county or municipality where the property is located may authorize a full or 

partial exemption.  The most significant categories that may be exempt from the personal 

property tax are commercial inventory, manufacturing and research and development 

inventory, and manufacturing and research and development machinery.  Most counties 

offer exemptions for 100% of all three of these categories, but tax other types of business 

personal property.  In addition, six counties (Dorchester, Frederick, Garrett, Kent, Queen 

Anne’s, and Talbot) have elected to exempt all business personal property from county 

taxation.  Garrett County does not tax business personal property, however the county does 

tax property of non-utility generators at the county personal property tax rate.     

 

Personal Property Tax Rates and Assessable Base Amounts 

 

As shown in Exhibit 2, the statewide assessable base for business personal property totals 

$13.1 billion in fiscal 2018.  Among counties that impose the business personal property 

tax, the assessable base ranges from a high of $2.4 billion in Montgomery County to a low 

of $38.7 million in Somerset County.  Tax rates on business personal property range from 

$2.0875 in Worcester County to $5.62 in Baltimore City.  
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Exhibit 2 

County Business Personal Property Base 

Fiscal 2018 
 

County 

Personal Property 

Tax Rate 

Business 

Personal 

Property 

Allegany $2.4425 $182,348,030 

Anne Arundel 2.2670  1,594,684,760 

Baltimore City 5.6200  1,363,449,310 

Baltimore 2.7500  1,881,971,450 

Calvert 2.2300  158,865,410 

Caroline 2.4500  55,961,050 

Carroll 2.5150  306,836,860 

Cecil 2.6035  235,408,890 

Charles 3.0125  231,003,880 

Dorchester 2.4400  0 

Frederick 0.0000  0 

Garrett 2.4750  145,172,850 

Harford 2.6049  696,101,930 

Howard 2.9750  1,038,693,700 

Kent 0.0000  0 

Montgomery 2.5320  2,417,503,290 

Prince George’s 3.4350  1,704,318,300 

Queen Anne’s 0.0000  0 

St. Mary’s 2.1195  169,942,030 

Somerset 2.5000  38,704,360 

Talbot 1.4270 0 

Washington 2.3700  416,848,090 

Wicomico 2.1715  217,027,750 

Worcester 2.0875  224,176,860 

Total  $13,079,018,800 

 
Source:  State Department of Assessments and Taxation 
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ANALYSIS OF ECONOMIC IMPACT ON SMALL BUSINESSES 
 

TITLE OF BILL: Personal Property – Exemption for Low Assessments 

 

BILL NUMBER:   HB 90 

 

PREPARED BY:  Corbett Webb, 410-767-1142, corbett.webb@maryland.gov 

 

PART A.  ECONOMIC IMPACT RATING 

 

This agency estimates that the proposed bill: 
 

___ WILL HAVE MINIMAL OR NO ECONOMIC IMPACT ON MARYLAND SMALL 

BUSINESS 

 

OR 

 

   X    WILL HAVE MEANINGFUL ECONOMIC IMPACT ON MARYLAND SMALL 

BUSINESSES 

     

PART B.  ECONOMIC IMPACT ANALYSIS 

 

The proposed legislation would benefit small businesses by exempting them from paying 

personal property tax. Small-business owners are currently tasked with submitting paperwork to 

our Department and paying single-digit tax bills issued by the counties. Under this proposed bill, 

small businesses with less than $1,000 in assessed personal property would be exempt. Although 

our Department is suggesting a $1,000 threshold, some alternatives are listed here for reference: 

 

Exemption 

amount: 

Number of small-

businesses 

exempted: 

Estimated average 

personal property tax 

liability*: 

Overall savings for small 

businesses: 

<$250 0 $0 $0 

<$500 6,340 $7.45 $47,231 

<$1,000 15,842 $11.98 $189,859 

<$2,500 33,501 $23.51 $787,707 

*Calculated using the statewide-county-average personal property tax rate of 2.05% 
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