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Property Tax — Assessment Records of Real Property and Reassessment After
Appeal

This bill requires the State Department of Assessments and Taxation (SDAT) to include a
note in each property record describing any assessment reduction resulting from an order
or decision of a Property Tax Assessment Appeals Board, the Maryland Tax Court, or any
other court issued on or after October 1, 2014, and the specific reason for the reduction.
The bill also extends the application of Chapter 529 of 2017 to any assessment appeal filed
with a supervisor of assessments on or after October 1, 2014, that is still pending a final
decision on the appeal on or after October 1, 2017.

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________|
Fiscal Summary

State Effect: SDAT can handle the requirements of the bill with existing budgeted
resources, assuming that the bill applies to a limited number of prior year appeals. A
significant number of prior year appeals may require increased staffing expenditures.

Local Effect: None.

Small Business Effect: None.

. _______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________|]
Analysis

Current Law: Chapter 529 prohibits SDAT, when conducting a real property
reassessment after an appeal, from automatically eliminating a reduction in an assessment
of the property that was granted by a Property Tax Assessment Appeals Board or the



Maryland Tax Court. SDAT may eliminate a reduction in the assessment that was granted
if the specific reason for the reduction no longer applies.

SDAT indicated that Chapter 529 codified existing practice regarding the reassessment of
properties after an appeal and that assessors do not automatically reset property
assessments to the value of the property prior to the appeal.

Each county supervisor of assessment is required to keep a record of all real property
assessments in the county. Each account in the record must contain (1) the name and
address of the owner; (2) a brief description of the property; (3) the specific location of the
property; (4) the general location of the property including a deed or will reference and any
tax map reference; and (5) the assessment of the land and any improvement on the land.
The details of land and improvements on the land that have been valued at different
amounts must be recorded on the respective worksheet or card.

Background: The assessment appeal process typically begins with an appeal of the notice
of assessment. These notices are mailed in late December, and an appeal may be filed with
the supervisor of assessments within 45 days of the date of the notice; for properties that
transfer after January 1 but before the beginning of the taxable year, the new owner has
60 days from the date of transfer to file an appeal regarding the property value or
classification. Following that appeal, the property owner receives a final notice. If the
taxpayer is not satisfied with the outcome, the next appeal must be made to the Property
Tax Assessment Appeals Board within 30 days from the date of the final notice. A further
appeal may be taken to the Maryland Tax Court within 30 days of receiving notice from
the board. Any further appeals are made through the judicial system, including the circuit
court, the Court of Special Appeals, and the Court of Appeals.

Appeals of property values may also be filed with the supervisor outside of the regular
assessment cycle. Appeals may also be filed by persons who have purchased property
between January 1 and June 30. Such appeals must be made within 60 days of the purchase.
When a property assessment is changed as the result of an appeal of its value, SDAT must
consider the facts and reasons stated in the decision on the appeal when reviewing the next
assessment of the property. If the value or classification of real property is appealed, the
appeal must be noted in the assessment worksheet or card that relates to the property whose
value or classification was appealed.

Under current law, real property is valued and assessed once every three years. This
approach, the triennial assessment process, was part of major property tax reform
established in 1979. Under this process, assessors from SDAT value each property every
three years. No adjustments are made in the interim, except in the case of (1) a zoning
change; (2) a substantial change in property use; (3) extensive improvements to the
property; (4) a prior erroneous assessment; (5) a residential use assessment is terminated,;
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or (6) a subdivision occurs. The assessor determines the current “full market value” of the
property and any increase in value is phased in over a three-year period. Any decrease,
however, is recognized immediately for assessment purposes.

Additional Information
Prior Introductions: None.
Cross File: None.

Information Source(s): Maryland Tax Court; Property Tax Assessment Appeals Board;
State Department of Assessments and Taxation; Department of Legislative Services

Fiscal Note History: First Reader - February 23, 2018
mm/hlb Third Reader - March 23, 2018
Revised - Amendment(s) - March 23, 2018

Analysis by: Michael Sanelli Direct Inquiries to:
(410) 946-5510
(301) 970-5510
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