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Judiciary and Economic Matters   

 

Debt Collection - Exemptions From Attachment 
 

 

This bill alters the amount of wages of a judgment debtor that are exempt from attachment.  

Under the bill, the following is exempt from attachment:  the greater of 75% of the 

disposable wages due or 80 times the State minimum hourly wages under the Fair Labor 

Standards Act (FLSA) in effect at the time the wages are due.  The bill also repeals 

provisions that only apply in Caroline, Kent, Queen Anne’s, and Worcester counties.  The 

bill applies prospectively and may not be applied or interpreted to affect or apply to any 

writ of garnishment or writ of execution issued before the bill’s October 1, 2018 effective 

date. 

     

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  Potential significant decrease in general fund revenues due to the bill’s 

changes to amount of wages exempt by law from attachment.  The bill can be implemented 

with existing resources. 

  

Local Effect:  Local revenues likely decline due to the greater value of wages exempt from 

attachment.  Expenditures are not affected. 

  

Small Business Effect:  Potential meaningful.  
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Analysis 
 

Current Law:   
 

Exemptions from Attachment 

 

Under the Commercial Law Article, the following are exempt from attachment:  (1) the 

greater of the product of $145 multiplied by the number of weeks in which the wages due 

were earned, or 75% of the disposable wages due; or (2) in Caroline, Kent, Queen Anne’s, 

and Worcester counties, for each workweek, the greater of 75% of the disposable wages 

due, or 30 times the federal minimum hourly wages under FLSA in effect at the time the 

wages are due.  Medical insurance payments deducted from an employee’s wages by the 

employer are also exempt.  Under § 13-811 of the Tax-General Article, the amount exempt 

from the attachment under the Commercial Law Article is also exempt from a wage lien 

for unpaid income taxes.       

 

Money Judgments 

 

Under the Courts and Judicial Proceedings Article, a “money judgment” is a judgment that 

a specified amount of money is immediately payable to the judgment creditor.  A money 

judgment constitutes a lien on the debtor’s interest in real or personal property located 

where the judgment was rendered.  A judgment may be executed by a writ.  A sheriff or 

constable may then seize the legal or equitable interest of the debtor in real or personal 

property.  A writ of execution on a money judgment does not become a lien on the personal 

property of the debtor until an actual levy is made.  The lien then extends only to the 

property included in the levy.  Statute specifies several items that are exempt from 

execution on a money judgment, including money payable or paid in accordance with an 

agreement or court order for alimony to the same extent that wages are exempt from 

attachment under the Commercial Law Article. 

 

Maryland Wage and Hour Law 

 

The Maryland Wage and Hour Law is the State complement to FLSA.  State law sets 

minimum wage standards to provide a maintenance level consistent with the needs of the 

population.  State law specifies that an employee must be paid the greater of the federal 

minimum wage (which is currently $7.25 per hour) or $9.25 per hour.  Under Chapter 262 

of 2014, the State minimum wage is scheduled to increase to $10.10 per hour as of 

July 1, 2018.   

 

However, an employer may pay an employee a wage that equals 85% of the State minimum 

wage for the first six months that the employee is employed if the employee is younger 

than age 20.  Additionally, an employer of an amusement or a recreational establishment, 
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including a swimming pool, that meets specified conditions may pay an employee a wage 

that equals the greater of $7.25 or 85% of the State minimum wage.  Exceptions to the 

minimum wage requirement also exist for a training wage and a disabled employee of a 

sheltered workshop under specified conditions.   
 

The Maryland Wage and Hour Law and minimum wage requirements do not apply to 

certain categories of employees, including those defined as administrative, executive, or 

professional; certain seasonal employees; part-time employees younger than age 16; 

salesmen and those who work on commission; an employer’s immediate family; drive-in 

theater employees; employees training in a special education program in a public school; 

employees of an establishment that sells food and drink for on-premises consumption and 

has an annual gross income of $400,000 or less; employees employed by an employer who 

is engaged in canning, freezing, packing, or first processing of perishable or seasonal fresh 

fruits, vegetables, poultry, or seafood; and certain farm workers.   
 

State Fiscal Effect:  General fund revenues decline, potentially significantly, due to the 

increased value of wages exempt from wage attachments and reduced tax revenues as a 

result.  The Comptroller’s Office uses wage attachments to collect on tax arrearages.  

However, the Comptroller’s Office advises that it does not have data on which to base an 

exact estimate.  The bill is not expected to have a significant fiscal or operational impact 

on the District Court. 
 

Small Business Effect:  Small businesses that offer goods or services on credit and pursue 

debt collection through wage attachments may encounter difficulties due to the bill’s 

increases to the amount of wages exempt from attachment. 
 

 

Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  None. 
 

Cross File:  SB 22 (Senator Smith) - Finance and Judicial Proceedings. 
 

Information Source(s):  Comptroller’s Office; Office of the Attorney General (Consumer 

Protection Division); Judiciary (Administrative Office of the Courts); Department of 

Labor, Licensing, and Regulation; Department of Legislative Services 
 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - February 6, 2018 

 mm/kdm 

 

Analysis by:   Amy A. Devadas  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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