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Criminal Law - Assault of Public Transportation Operator - Penalties 
 

 

This bill expands provisions prohibiting felony second-degree assault to include the 

intentional causing of physical injury to another person by a person who knows or has 

reason to know that the victim is a bus operator, a train operator, a light rail operator, or 

any other individual engaged in providing public transportation services.   

 

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  Potential minimal increase in general fund revenues.  Expenditures are not 

materially affected, as discussed below. 

  

Local Effect:  Potential minimal increase in local revenues due to the bill’s expanded 

application of an existing monetary penalty.  Local expenditures are not materially 

affected. 

  

Small Business Effect:  None.      

  

 

Analysis 
 

Current Law:  A person may not commit an assault.  However, the consequences of an 

assault vary depending on the circumstances involved. 

 

First-degree Assault:  A person commits a first-degree assault if he/she (1) intentionally 

causes or attempts to cause serious physical injury to another person or (2) commits an 

assault with a firearm, including a handgun, assault pistol, machine gun, or other 

specified firearms.  A person who commits a first-degree assault is guilty of a felony and 

subject to imprisonment for up to 25 years.   
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Felony Second-degree Assault:  A person commits a felony second-degree assault if he/she 

intentionally causes “physical injury” to another if the person knows or has reason to know 

that the other person is a (1) law enforcement officer or parole or probation agent engaged 

in the performance of the officer/agent’s official duties or (2) a firefighter, an emergency 

medical technician, a rescue squad member, or any other first responder engaged in 

providing emergency medical care or rescue services.  “Physical injury” means any 

impairment of physical condition, excluding minor injuries.  Violators are subject to 

imprisonment for up to 10 years and/or a maximum fine of $5,000. 

 

Misdemeanor Second-degree Assault:  The misdemeanor second-degree assault statute 

applies to assaults that are not considered to be felony assaults in the first or second degrees.  

Under the misdemeanor second-degree assault statute, a person is prohibited from 

committing an assault.  A violator is subject to imprisonment for up to 10 years and/or a 

maximum fine of $2,500.  Assault means the crimes of assault, battery, and assault and 

battery, which are defined through case law. 

 

The District Court has concurrent jurisdiction with the circuit courts over felony 

second-degree assaults. 

 

Background: The Maryland Transit Administration (MTA) advises that the agency 

averages 50 operator assault incidents annually across all transit modes affected by the bill.  

Exhibit 1 contains information on operator assaults against MTA employees from 

calendar 2013 through 2017. 

 

 

Exhibit 1 

Assault Incidents Against MTA Transportation Operators 

Calendar 2013-2017 

 

 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 Average 

Spit 8 17 13 12 19 14 

Struck by Patron/Other 7 4 13 21 14 12 

Bus struck by thrown object 3 1 1 5 10 4 

Operator struck by thrown object 3 10 8 12 17 10 

Sexual Assault 0 1 0 0 0 0 

Unknown 32 18 0 0 0 10 

Total  53 51 35 50 60 50 

 
Source: Maryland Transit Administration 
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The Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services advises that it conducted intake 

at its correctional facilities for 23 individuals convicted of felony second-degree assault 

and 957 individuals convicted of misdemeanor second-degree assault during fiscal 2017.  

The average sentence for felony second-degree assault for this population was 56.4 months 

(47% of the maximum 10-year sentence).  The average sentence for misdemeanor second-

degree assault for this population was 41 months (34.1% of the maximum 10-year 

sentence).   

 

State Fiscal Effect:  General fund revenues may increase minimally from fines imposed 

in the District Court.  The maximum fine for misdemeanor second-degree assault is $2,500; 

the maximum fine for felony second-degree assault is $5,000.  Given that the maximum 

incarceration penalty for misdemeanor second-degree assault is the same as the maximum 

incarceration penalty for felony second-degree assault, this bill is not expected to materially 

affect State incarceration expenditures.  This fiscal and policy note assumes that the acts 

affected by this bill would be prosecuted as misdemeanor second-degree assaults under the 

existing second-degree assault law and that the bill’s specification of these acts as felony 

second-degree assaults based on the victim of the crime does not increase the likelihood of 

charges being filed and convictions being secured in these cases. 

 

 

Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  None.   

 

Cross File:  None.  However, HB 312 (Delegate Davis, et al. – Judiciary) is identical. 

 

Information Source(s):  cities of Bowie and Takoma Park; Montgomery and 

Prince George’s counties; Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services; 

Maryland Department of Transportation; Maryland State Commission on Criminal 

Sentencing Policy; Department of State Police; Office of the Public Defender; Maryland 

State’s Attorneys’ Association; Department of Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - February 15, 2018 

 nb/kdm 

 

Analysis by:   Amy A. Devadas  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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