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This bill establishes a fine of $50 for violations of the seat belt requirement in Maryland 

Vehicle Law.  Court costs must be included in the fine.  

   

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  General fund revenues decrease by at least $458,800 in FY 2019.  Out-years 

reflect annualization and assume no changes in citations issued or the court costs assessed.  

Enforcement can be handled with existing resources.     

  
(in dollars) FY 2019 FY 2020 FY 2021 FY 2022 FY 2023 

GF Revenue ($458,800) ($611,700) ($611,700) ($611,700) ($611,700) 

Expenditure 0 0 0 0 0 

Net Effect ($458,800) ($611,700) ($611,700) ($611,700) ($611,700)   
Note:() = decrease; GF = general funds; FF = federal funds; SF = special funds; - = indeterminate increase; (-) = indeterminate decrease 

 
Local Effect:  Enforcement can be handled with existing resources.  Revenues are not 

affected.    

  

Small Business Effect:  None.     

  

 

Analysis 
 

Current Law:  Seat belts are required for any person operating a motor vehicle and any 

passengers younger than age 16.  Persons age 16 or older riding as a passenger in an 

outboard front seat of a motor vehicle or in the rear of a motor vehicle must also be 

restrained by a seat belt.  Violation of the rear seat passenger seat belt requirement for 

persons age 16 and older is a secondary offense. 
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The mandatory seat belt provisions do not apply to a person if a Maryland licensed 

physician determines and certifies in writing that the person’s disability or another medical 

reason prevents appropriate restraint by a seat belt.  A violation of the mandatory use of 

seat belts provision is not evidence of negligence or contributory negligence and may not 

be admitted as evidence in any civil trial.  It is also not a moving violation for which points 

may be assessed. 
 

A violation of the Maryland Vehicle Law is a misdemeanor that carries a maximum penalty 

of $500, unless otherwise specified by a separate penalty.  The $50 penalty specified in 

statute for violating the mandatory seat belt requirement does not include court costs.  The 

prepaid fine for violating the mandatory seat belt requirement is $83, which reflects court 

costs.   
 

Background:  Chapter 179 of 2013 increased the maximum fine for a mandatory seat belt 

violation from $25 to $50 and repealed the provision that court costs are included in the 

fine.      
 

According to the Governors Highway Safety Association and the National Conference of 

State Legislatures, 49 states and the District of Columbia mandate the use of seat belts.  

The District of Columbia and 34 states, including Maryland, Delaware, and New Jersey, 

require primary enforcement of seat belt laws for at least front seat occupants.  The 

remaining 15 states, including Pennsylvania and Virginia, require secondary enforcement 

only.  New Hampshire is the only state that does not mandate use of seat belts for adults in 

motor vehicles.  New Hampshire does, however, have a child passenger safety law that 

covers children younger than age 18 and is subject to primary enforcement. 
 

In the Maryland Strategic Highway Safety Plan for 2016 to 2020, issued in February 2016 

(the latest report available), the Maryland Department of Transportation (MDOT) reports 

that an average of 166 unrestrained motorists are killed in Maryland traffic crashes 

annually, and an average of 315 people are seriously injured annually.  While the nonuse 

of personal restraint or protective equipment is not usually a contributing factor to a motor 

vehicle crash, the severity of personal injuries and the occurrence of fatalities can be greatly 

affected by the use or nonuse of occupant protection safety equipment.  In 2014, MDOT 

reports that the State seat belt usage rate was recorded at 92.1%, an increase from the 90.7% 

seat belt usage rate recorded for 2013.    
 

State Revenues:  General fund revenues decrease by at least $458,804 in fiscal 2019, 

accounting for the bill’s October 1, 2018 effective date, due to the requirement that court 

costs be included in the penalty assessed.  General fund revenues decrease annually 

thereafter by at least $611,738.  This estimate is based on the following assumptions: 
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 the number of mandatory seat belt citations is based on a two-year average of   

citations issued that were prepaid and the total number of citations issued for each 

violation does not change; 

 court costs of $33 remain unchanged but are not paid in addition to the penalty – 

rather they are deducted from the $50 penalty and continue to be distributed in 

accordance with State law;  

 accordingly, general fund revenues decrease by $33 for each prepaid citation; and 

 fines that may be assessed in court if an individual elects a trial are not included; 

any fine revenues accrued from trials decrease accordingly. 

 

Exhibit 1 shows the prepaid citations for the child safety seat and seat belt violations 

specified in the bill for fiscal 2016 and 2017.  If the actual number of citations differs from 

the two-year average, the general fund revenue decreases fluctuate accordingly.  

 

 

Exhibit 1  

Enforcement of Seat Belt and Child Safety Seat Provisions 

Fiscal 2016-2017 
  

Citation FY 2016 FY 2017 

Operating a Motor Vehicle with an Individual Younger than 

Age 16 Unrestrained by a Seat Belt or Child Safety Seat 

  

Total Citations Prepaid  17,547 16,317 

   

Passenger Age 16 or Older in Outboard Front Seat Not 

Restrained by Seat Belt 

  

Total Citations Prepaid   1,111 1,037 

   

Passenger Age 16 or Older in Rear Seat of Vehicle Not 

Restrained by Seat Belt 

  

Total Citations Prepaid   544 519 

   

Total Safety Seat and Seat Belt Violations 19,202 17,873 

   

Total Prepaid Fines for Safety Seat and Seat Belt 

Violations  

$1,593,766 $1,483,459 

 

Source:  District Court of Maryland 
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General fund revenues are also generated from a portion of the $33 assessed in court costs 

for traffic cases, and the remainder is allocated to several special funds related to public 

safety.  However the bill’s changes do not affect this source of revenue.    

 

 

Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  None. 

 

Cross File:  None. 

 

Information Source(s):  Judiciary (Administrative Office of the Courts); Department of 

State Police; Maryland Department of Transportation; Maryland Strategic Highway Safety 

Plan; National Conference of State Legislatures; Governors Highway Safety Association;  

Department of Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - March 7, 2018 

Third Reader - March 30, 2018 

 Revised - Amendment(s) - March 30, 2018 

 

nb/kdm 

 

Analysis by:   Michelle Davis  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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