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Washington County - Alcoholic Beverages - Serving Underage Individuals - 

Penalties 
 

 

This bill alters provisions related to the prohibition on serving or providing alcoholic 

beverages to an individual under the age of 21.  An employee who violates the prohibition 

in Washington County is subject to the following penalties:  (1) $100 for a first offense; 

(2) for a second offense, a maximum penalty of $250 and/or an order to take or retake an 

approved alcohol awareness program; and (3) for each subsequent offense, a maximum 

penalty of $1,000 and/or two years imprisonment.  The bill takes effect July 1, 2018.   

 

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  Minimal increase in general fund revenues and expenditures due to the bill’s 

penalty provisions.      

  

Local Effect:  Minimal increase in Washington County revenues and expenditures due to 

the bill’s penalty provisions. 

  

Small Business Effect:  Minimal.    

  

 

Analysis 
 

Current Law:  A license holder or an employee of the license holder may not sell or 

provide alcoholic beverages to an individual under the age of 21 years.  A license holder 

or an employee of a license holder who is guilty of serving or providing alcoholic beverages 

to an individual under the age of 21 is charged via summons to appear in court and may 

not be required to post bail pending trial.  A violation is a misdemeanor, and the board may 

impose on an employee a maximum fine, for a first offense, of $200 and, for each 
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subsequent offense, $500.  If a license holder violates the prohibition on serving or 

providing alcoholic beverages to an individual who is under the age of 21, the board may 

impose a maximum fine of $2,500, suspend or revoke the license, or both. 

 

A license holder or an employee of a license holder may not be found guilty of a violation 

if the license holder or employee establishes to the satisfaction of the finder of fact that the 

license holder or employee used due caution to establish that the individual was not under 

the age of 21, and the individual was not a resident of the State. 

 

The granting of probation before judgment to a license holder or an employee of the license 

holder for a violation does not bar the board from proceeding administratively against the 

license holder for the violation.       

 

State Revenues:  General fund revenues increase minimally as a result of the bill’s 

monetary penalty provisions from cases heard in the District Court. 

 

State Expenditures:  General fund expenditures increase minimally as a result of the bill’s 

incarceration penalties due to more people being committed to State correctional facilities 

and increased payments to counties for reimbursement of inmate costs.   

 

Persons serving a sentence longer than 18 months are incarcerated in State correctional 

facilities.  Currently, the average total cost per inmate, including overhead, is estimated at 

$3,800 per month.  Persons serving a sentence of one year or less in a jurisdiction other 

than Baltimore City are sentenced to local detention facilities.  For persons sentenced to a 

term of between 12 and 18 months, the sentencing judge has the discretion to order that the 

sentence be served at a local facility or a State correctional facility.  The State provides 

assistance to the counties for locally sentenced inmates and for (1) inmates who are 

sentenced to and awaiting transfer to the State correctional system; (2) sentenced inmates 

confined in a local detention center between 12 and 18 months; and (3) inmates who have 

been sentenced to the custody of the State but are confined in or receive reentry or other 

prerelease programming and services from a local facility.   

 

Local Revenues:  Revenues increase minimally as a result of the bill’s monetary penalty 

provisions from cases heard in the circuit courts. 

 

Local Expenditures:  Expenditures increase minimally as a result of the bill’s 

incarceration penalties.  Counties pay the full cost of incarceration for people in their 

facilities for the first 12 months of the sentence.  The per diem operating cost of local 

detention facilities in Washington County is $126 per inmate. 
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Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  None. 

 

Cross File:  None. 

 

Information Source(s):  Washington County; Department of Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - February 21, 2018 

 mm/tso 

 

Analysis by:   Michelle Davis  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 

 

 


	SB 323
	Department of Legislative Services
	Maryland General Assembly
	2018 Session
	FISCAL AND POLICY NOTE
	First Reader
	Fiscal Summary
	Analysis
	Additional Information




