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Crimes - Solicitation to Commit Murder - Penalty

This bill repeals the statute of limitations for the prosecution of the crime of solicitation to
commit murder in the first degree. The bill also establishes that a person who solicits
another or conspires with another to commit murder in the first degree is guilty of a felony,
punishable by imprisonment not exceeding life. The bill applies prospectively to any
offense occurring on or after the bill’s October 1, 2018 effective date.

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: Minimal increase in general fund expenditures beginning in FY 2022 if the
bill’s extension of the statute of limitations for solicitation to commit murder in the first
degree increases the number of incarcerations in State facilities. Revenues are not affected.

Local Effect: The bill is not expected to materially affect local finances.

Small Business Effect: None.

|
Analysis

Current Law: Chapters 647 and 648 of 2017 increased the statutes of limitations for the
prosecution of the crimes of solicitation to commit the following offenses from one year to
three years: murder in the first degree; murder in the second degree; arson in the
first degree; and arson in the second degree.

Under the common law, solicitation involved urging, advising, or otherwise inciting
another person to commit a crime. Solicitation, like an attempt to commit a crime or a



conspiracy to commit a crime, is referred to as an “inchoate” crime. Inchoate crimes reflect
steps taken toward the commission of another crime (the substantive crime) that are serious
enough that they are considered criminal behavior worthy of punishment.

Under the common law, solicitation is a misdemeanor regardless of whether the substantive
crime that is the basis of the solicitation is a misdemeanor or felony. There is no statute of
limitations for most felonies.

Inchoate crimes are generally common law crimes. However, some inchoate crimes (e.g.,
attempted murder, rape, and robbery) have been made statutory felonies. According to the
Maryland Sentencing Guidelines Offense Table, the maximum penalty for conspiracy to
commit first-degree murder and solicitation to commit first-degree murder is imprisonment
for life.

Background: According to the Maryland Sentencing Guidelines Database, the Maryland
State Commission on Criminal Sentencing Policy (MSCCSP) received sentencing
information on 25 individuals sentenced for conspiracy to commit murder in the first
degree, under common law, in the State’s circuit courts during fiscal 2017.

MSCCSP did not provide statistics for individuals sentenced for solicitation to commit
murder in the first degree. However in 2017, MSCCSP advised that it did not receive
sentencing information for anyone sentenced in the State’s circuit courts during fiscal 2016
for solicitation to commit murder in the first degree.

State Expenditures: General fund expenditures increase minimally, beginning in
fiscal 2022, if the bill’s repeal of the statute of limitations for a prosecution of a person for
solicitation to commit murder in the first degree increases the number of incarcerations for
this offense.

Persons serving a sentence longer than 18 months are incarcerated in State correctional
facilities. Currently, the average total cost per inmate, including overhead, is estimated at
$3,800 per month. Persons serving a sentence of one year or less in a jurisdiction other
than Baltimore City are sentenced to local detention facilities. For persons sentenced to a
term of between 12 and 18 months, the sentencing judge has the discretion to order that the
sentence be served at a local facility or a State correctional facility. The State provides
assistance to the counties for locally sentenced inmates and for (1) inmates who are
sentenced to and awaiting transfer to the State correctional system; (2) sentenced inmates
confined in a local detention center between 12 and 18 months; and (3) inmates who have
been sentenced to the custody of the State but are confined in or who receive reentry or
other prerelease programming and services from a local facility.
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The State does not pay for pretrial detention time in a local correctional facility. Persons
sentenced in Baltimore City are generally incarcerated in State correctional facilities. The
Baltimore Pretrial Complex, a State-operated facility, is used primarily for pretrial
detentions.

Additional Information
Prior Introductions: None.
Cross File: None.
Information Source(s): Maryland State Commission on Criminal Sentencing Policy;
Judiciary (Administrative Office of the Courts); Office of the Public Defender; Maryland
State’s Attorneys’ Association; Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services;

Black’s Law Dictionary; Department of Legislative Services
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