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Juvenile Law - Transfer of Cases to Juvenile Court 
 

 

This bill requires a transfer hearing (a hearing to determine whether specified cases 

involving a juvenile charged as an adult should be transferred to the juvenile court) to be 

held no later than 30 days after a specified study is completed.  If no study is ordered, the 

hearing must be held no later than 30 days after a motion to transfer the case is filed 

pursuant to the Maryland Rules.  The county administrative judge or a designee of the 

judge, on motion of a party for good cause shown, may grant an extension for the transfer 

hearing.  If an extension is granted, the county administrative judge or the judge’s designee 

must state on the record the cause that requires the extension and the length of the 

extension.  

   

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  Potential significant increase in expenditures for the Office of the Public 

Defender (OPD).  Otherwise, the bill is not anticipated to materially impact State finances, 

as discussed below.  

  

Local Effect:  The bill is not anticipated to materially impact local finances, as discussed 

below.       

  

Small Business Effect:  None.    

  

 

Analysis 
 

Current Law/Background:  In general, the juvenile court has jurisdiction over a child 

alleged to be delinquent, in need of supervision, or who has received a citation for specified 

violations.  The juvenile court does not have jurisdiction over children at least age 16 who 
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are alleged to have committed specified violent crimes, children age 14 and older charged 

with a capital crime, and children who have previously been convicted as an adult of a 

felony and are subsequently alleged to have committed an act that would be a felony if 

committed by an adult.  However, a circuit court may transfer a case involving such a child 

to the juvenile court if such a transfer is believed to be in the interests of the child or society 

(“reverse waiver”).  A reverse waiver is not permitted if the child was convicted in an 

unrelated case excluded from the jurisdiction of the juvenile court or the alleged crime is 

murder in the first degree and the accused child was at least age 16 when the alleged crime 

was committed.  At a transfer hearing, the court must consider specified criteria and may 

order that a study be made concerning the child, the child’s family and environment, and 

other matters concerning the disposition of the case.  The court must make a transfer 

determination within 10 days after the date of a transfer hearing. 

 

Pursuant to Maryland Rule 4-252, a request to transfer an action to juvenile court must be 

filed within 30 days after the earlier of the appearance of counsel or the first appearance of 

the defendant before the court, as specified.  If not made, the request is waived unless the 

court, for good cause shown, orders otherwise. 

 

Detention of Juveniles Charged as Adults 

 

Chapter 442 of 2015 altered the law regarding the pretransfer detention of juveniles 

charged as adults to create a presumption that the juveniles should be held in a juvenile 

detention facility.  Specifically, a court must order a juvenile charged as an adult who is 

eligible for transfer to the juvenile system to be held in a juvenile detention facility unless 

(1) the juvenile is released on bail, recognizance, or other pretrial condition; (2) there is no 

capacity at a secure juvenile facility; or (3) the court finds that detention in a secure juvenile 

facility would pose a risk of harm to the child or others, and states the reasons for the 

finding on the record.    

 

In fiscal 2017, the first full fiscal year following the implementation of Chapter 442, there 

were 397 admissions to Department of Juvenile Services (DJS) detention facilities of 

juveniles charged as adults pending a transfer determination; the average daily population 

was 116.  Juveniles awaiting disposition in the juvenile court, which is subject to strict 

procedural time limits, had an average length of stay of approximately 17 days in 

fiscal 2017.  Conversely, juveniles awaiting a reverse waiver decision had an average 

length of stay of 103 days; according to preliminary data in fiscal 2018, the average length 

of stay has increased to 132 days.  Although DJS has thus far generally been able to 

accommodate these individuals within available capacity, the longer lengths of stay 

associated with these cases may begin to more significantly impact DJS resources.  

Although juveniles in detention facilities have access to medical and behavioral services 

and attend school within the facility, programming is generally designed for shorter lengths 

of stay.  The problem is further exacerbated since juveniles pending adult court action tend 



    

HB 859/ Page 3 

to be those who have committed more serious crimes and potentially need more intensive 

services in order to properly facilitate rehabilitation.   

 

State Fiscal Effect:  Although the bill may reduce the average length of stay in juvenile 

detention facilities for youth charged as adults and ease the strain on DJS resources, as 

discussed above, any such impact is not anticipated to materially impact DJS finances.  

Conversely, the expedited process for transfer hearings may result in longer stays for 

juveniles in adult pretrial facilities, including the Baltimore Pretrial Complex, a 

State-operated facility that is used primarily for pretrial detentions.  As noted above, 

juveniles held pending a reverse waiver determination are generally held in DJS facilities.  

However, if an adult court retains jurisdiction after a transfer hearing, the juvenile is held 

in an adult facility pending trial (if ordered to be held pretrial by the court).  Accordingly, 

some juveniles may be transferred to adult detention facilities faster due to the expedited 

process for transfer hearings.  Any such impact is not likely to materially impact State 

incarceration costs. 

 

OPD advises that it may require additional attorneys to handle the cases in the required 

timeframes and that a reliable estimate of any potential need is not available beforehand.  

However, for illustrative purposes only, for every new attorney needed, expenditures 

increase by at least $100,000 annually.  The Department of Legislative Services notes, 

however, that overall caseloads, including those involving juveniles, are declining for 

OPD.  Therefore, it is possible that a reallocation of resources could alleviate some of the 

impact on OPD, potentially negating the need for additional staff.   

 

The bill does not materially impact the workload of the Judiciary. 

 

Local Expenditures:  As discussed above, the expedited process for transfer hearings may 

result in some juveniles being transferred to adult pretrial detention facilities faster.  

Counties pay the full cost of incarceration for people in their facilities for the first 

12 months of the sentence.  Per diem operating costs of local detention facilities have 

ranged from approximately $40 to $170 per inmate in recent years.  Any such impact is not 

likely to materially impact local incarceration costs. 

 

Any potential minimal increase in expenditures for state’s attorneys’ offices to 

accommodate expedited hearings is not anticipated to materially impact local finances.  

The bill also does not materially impact the workload of the circuit courts. 

        

 

  



    

HB 859/ Page 4 

Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  None. 

 

Cross File:  None. 

 

Information Source(s):  Judiciary (Administrative Office of the Courts); Office of the 

Public Defender; Department of Juvenile Services; Department of Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - February 21, 2018 

 mag/kdm 

 

Analysis by:   Jennifer K. Botts  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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