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Hate Crimes 
 

   

This bill requires the Maryland Police Training and Standards Commission (MPTSC) to 

require, for entrance-level police training and at least every three years for in-service level 

police training conducted by the State and each county and municipal police training 

school, that the curriculum and minimum courses of study include special training, 

attention to, and study of the application and enforcement of the criminal laws concerning 

hate crimes and the appropriate treatment of victims of hate crimes, as specified. 

   

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  General fund expenditures increase by $24,900 in FY 2020 only. Revenues 

are not affected.   

  
(in dollars) FY 2020 FY 2021 FY 2022 FY 2023 FY 2024 

Revenues $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 

GF Expenditure 24,900 0 0 0 0 

Net Effect ($24,900) $0 $0 $0 $0   
Note:() = decrease; GF = general funds; FF = federal funds; SF = special funds; - = indeterminate increase; (-) = indeterminate decrease 

  

Local Effect:  Potential minimal increase in local expenditures for law enforcement 

agencies that do not currently conduct the required training. Revenues are not affected.  

  

Small Business Effect:  None.  
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Analysis 
 

Current Law:   
 

Maryland Police Training and Standards Commission 

 

Chapter 519 of 2016 reconstituted the former Police Training Commission as MPTSC, an 

independent commission within the Department of Public Safety and Correctional 

Services. MPTSC operates approved police training schools and prescribes standards for 

and certifies schools that offer police and security training. In consultation and cooperation 

with various entities, it also sets minimum qualifications for instructors and certifies 

qualified instructors for approved training schools. 
 

MPTSC certifies persons as police officers who have met commission standards, including 

submission to a criminal history records check and a specified psychological consultation. 

An individual who is not satisfactorily trained in the 12-month probationary period may 

not be employed as a police officer, and a police officer may not serve after certification 

has been revoked, suspended, or allowed to lapse. 
 

MPTSC requirements include, among other things, for entrance-level police training and 

at least every three years for in-service level police training conducted by the State and 

each county and municipal police training school, that the curriculum and minimum 

courses of study include special training, attention to, and study of the application of: 

 

 the criminal laws concerning rape and sexual offenses, including the sexual abuse 

and exploitation of children and related evidentiary procedures; 

 the criminal laws concerning human trafficking, including services and support 

available to victims and the rights and appropriate treatment of victims; 

 the contact with and treatment of victims of crimes and delinquent acts; 

 the notices, services, support, and rights available to victims and victims’ 

representatives under State law; and 

 the notification of victims of identity fraud and related crimes of their rights under 

federal law. 

 

Hate Crimes 

 

The State’s hate crimes statutes are contained in Title 10, Subtitle 3 of the Criminal Law 

Article, specifically §§ 10-302 (damaging property of a religious entity), 

10-303 (obstructing exercise of religious beliefs), 10-304 (harassment or destruction of 

property), and 10-305 (damage to an associated building). 
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Section 10-302 (Damaging Property of a Religious Entity) 

 

A person may not deface, damage, destroy, or attempt to deface, damage, or destroy real 

or personal property that is owned, leased, or used by a religious entity or for any religious 

purpose. 

 

Section 10-303 (Obstructing Exercise of Religious Beliefs) 

 

A person may not, by force or the threat of force, obstruct or attempt to obstruct the free 

exercise of religious beliefs.   

 

Section 10-304 (Harassment or Destruction of Property) 

 

A person may not engage in the following acts because another person or group is homeless 

or because of another person’s or group’s race, color, religious beliefs, sexual orientation, 

gender, or national origin: 

 

 commit a crime or attempt to commit a crime against another person or group; 

 damage the real or personal property of another person or group; 

 deface, damage, or destroy, or attempt to deface, damage, or destroy the real or 

personal property of another person or group;  

 burn or attempt to burn an object on the real or personal property of another person 

or group; or 

 commit a hate crime that involves a separate crime that is a felony or that results in 

the death of a victim. 

 

Section 10-305 (Damage to an Associated Building) 

 

A person may not deface, damage, or destroy; attempt to deface, damage, or destroy; burn 

or attempt to burn an object on; or damage the real or personal property connected to a 

building that is publicly or privately owned, leased, or used (1) because a person of a 

particular race, color, religious belief, sexual orientation, gender, or national origin, or 

because a person or group that is homeless, has contacts or is associated with the building 

or (2) if there is evidence that exhibits animosity against a person or group due to the race, 

color, religious beliefs, sexual orientation, gender, or national origin of that group or 

because that person or group is homeless.  

 

Penalties 

 

In general, an individual who violates these provisions is guilty of a misdemeanor, 

punishable by imprisonment for up to 3 years and/or a maximum fine of $5,000. However, 
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if a violation of § 10-304 involves a separate felony, the violator is guilty of a felony and 

is subject to imprisonment for up to 10 years and/or a fine of up to $10,000. If a violation 

of § 10-304 results in the death of the victim, the violator is subject to imprisonment for up 

to 20 years and/or a fine of up to $20,000.   

 

Background:  Training for the certification of law enforcement officers in the State may 

be conducted at MPTSC facilities or at any of 20 police training academies in the State 

certified by MPTSC. There are approximately 16,500 certified police officers in Maryland. 

 

State Expenditures:  General fund expenditures increase by $24,909 for MPTSC in 

fiscal 2020 only. This estimate reflects the cost of hiring a contractual curriculum specialist 

for six months to develop the training and to administer the training for trainers. It includes 

a salary, fringe benefits, one-time start-up costs, and ongoing operating expenses. 

 

Contractual Position 1 

Salary and Fringe Benefits $19,656 

Operating Expenses 5,253 

Total FY 2020 State Expenditures $24,909 
 

 

Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  None. 

 

Cross File:  None. 

 

Information Source(s):  Anne Arundel, Charles, Frederick, Montgomery, and 

Somerset counties; Maryland Association of Counties; City of Havre de Grace; Maryland 

Municipal League; Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services; Department of 

State Police; Department of Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - February 22, 2019 

 mm/lgc 

 

Analysis by:   Shirleen M. E. Pilgrim  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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