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Health and Government Operations

Insurance - Medicare Supplement Policy Plans - Open Enrollment Period
Following Birthday

This bill requires a carrier that sells Medicare supplement policy plans to provide an
enrolled individual the opportunity to switch to a different Medicare supplement policy
plan with equal or lesser benefits within 30 days following the individual’s birthday. A
carrier is prohibited from denying or conditioning a new plan or denying, reducing, or
conditioning coverage because of the health status, claims experience, receipt of health
care, or medical condition of the individual. A carrier must notify an insured of their right
to switch plans at least 30 days, but not more than 60 days, before the insured’s birthday.

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: Minimal increase in special fund revenues for the Maryland Insurance
Administration (MIA) in FY 2020 from the $125 rate and form filing fee. Review of forms
can be handled within existing budgeted resources.

Local Effect: None.

Small Business Effect: None.

Analysis

Current Law: For individuals age 65 and older, federal law provides a one-time-only
open enrollment period during the first six months after enrollment in Medicare Part B.
During this period, individuals can buy any Medicare supplement policy sold in the State.
Maryland law requires carriers to extend a similar, limited open enrollment period to
individuals younger than age 65 who are eligible for Medicare due to a disability.



During this open enrollment period, carriers may not deny or condition the issuance or
effectiveness of a Medicare supplement; discriminate in the pricing of a policy plan; or
deny, reduce, or condition coverage or apply an increase premium rating under such a plan
because of the health status, claims experience, receipt of health care, or medical condition
of the applicant.

Generally, if an individual seeks to enroll in a Medicare supplement policy plan (or change
plans) after this open enrollment period, guaranteed issue requirements do not apply. Thus,
an individual may be subject to medical underwriting and/or charged higher premiums
based on health status.

Background: California and Oregon allow Medicare supplement policy plan enrollees to
switch to a plan with the same or lesser benefits within 30 days of their birthday (often
referred to as the “birthday rule”). Missouri allows enrollees to switch within a 60-day
window of their enrollment anniversary. In New York and Connecticut, Medicare
supplement policy plans are guaranteed issue year-round. Maine allows individuals to
switch plans at any time during the year.

MIA advises that there are currently 59 Medicare supplement carriers approved in
Maryland. Most carriers offer 5 to 10 types of supplement policy plans.

Additional Information
Prior Introductions: None.
Cross File: None.

Information Source(s): Maryland Insurance Administration; Department of Legislative
Services
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