#### HB0414/745965/1

BY: Committee on Ways and Means

### AMENDMENTS TO HOUSE BILL 414

(First Reading File Bill)

### AMENDMENT NO. 1

On page 1, in line 2, strike "– Improvements" and substitute "<u>for Improvements</u>"; in line 3, after "Property" insert "<u>and Transfer Tax Sunset Extension</u>"; in line 11, after "criteria;" insert "<u>extending to a certain date the termination provision relating to the authority of the County Commissioners of St. Mary's County to impose a transfer tax on <u>certain instruments of writing</u>;"; in the same line, after "of" insert "<u>certain provisions of</u>"; in line 13, after "property" insert "<u>and the transfer tax</u>"; and after line 18, insert:</u>

# "BY repealing and reenacting, without amendments,

The Public Local Laws of St. Mary's County

Section 138-1B.

Article 19 – Public Local Laws of Maryland

(2007 Edition and March 2015 Supplement, as amended)

# BY repealing and reenacting, with amendments,

The Public Local Laws of St. Mary's County

Section 138-1F.

Article 19 – Public Local Laws of Maryland

(2007 Edition and March 2015 Supplement, as amended)".

#### AMENDMENT NO. 2

On page 2, after line 20, insert:

"SECTION 2. AND BE IT FURTHER ENACTED, That the Laws of Maryland read as follows:

Article 19 – St. Mary's County

(Over)

# HB0414/745965/1 Committee on Ways and Means Amendments to HB 414 Page 2 of 2

### <u>138-1.</u>

- <u>B.</u> <u>The County Commissioners may impose a transfer tax on an instrument of writing:</u>
- (1) Recorded with the Clerk of the Circuit Court for St. Mary's County; or
  - (2) Filed with the State Department of Assessments and Taxation.
- <u>F.</u> The authority granted to impose a transfer tax under this section shall terminate and be of no effect after [July 1, 2020] **OCTOBER 1, 2024**.

SECTION 3. AND BE IT FURTHER ENACTED, That Section 1 of this Act shall be applicable to all taxable years beginning after June 30, 2020.";

in line 21, strike "2." and substitute "4."; and in line 22, strike ", and shall be applicable to all taxable years beginning after June 30, 2020".