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Personal Property Tax - Exemption for Business Personal Property 
 
   

This bill exempts personal property from the county and municipal property tax except 

(1) operating personal property of a railroad or public utility and (2) property used to 

provide a cable television, data, or telecommunications service, including all fiber-optic 

and other cable wire systems, cellular telephone towers, and wireless appurtenances 

attached to or installed on cellular telephone towers.  
 

The State Department of Assessments and Taxation (SDAT) must identify provisions of 

the Annotated Code of Maryland or the Code of Public Local Laws that are rendered 

inaccurate or obsolete as a result of specified provisions of the bill and must submit a report 

to the General Assembly, by December 1, 2020, on its findings with recommendations for 

any amendments to the Annotated Code of Maryland or the Code of Public Local Laws. 

The bill takes effect June 1, 2020, and applies to taxable years beginning after 

June 30, 2020. 
   

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  General fund expenditures increase by $60,000 in FY 2021 for computer 

programming changes at SDAT. Special fund revenues and expenditures increase by a 

commensurate amount in FY 2021.  
  
Local Effect:  County and municipal property tax revenues decrease by an estimated 

$341.4 million annually beginning in FY 2021 due to the business personal property tax 

exemption. Local expenditures increase by $60,000 in FY 2021. The bill imposes a 

mandate on a unit of local government. 
  

Small Business Effect:  Potential meaningful.  
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Analysis 
 

Current Law:  County and municipal governments impose property taxes on 

business-owned personal property. Appendix – Personal Property Taxation in Maryland 

provides an overview on how personal property taxes are imposed and collected in 

Maryland. The appendix also includes information on personal property tax rates and the 

assessable base amounts for fiscal 2020. 

 

State Fiscal Effect:  SDAT advises that the department does not have an inventory of 

specified telecommunications property as identified in the bill. As a result, the department 

will have to create a new subclass of business personal property in its database, which will 

require computer programming changes at an estimated cost of $120,000 in fiscal 2021. 

 

Under current law, the State and county governments share the cost for SDAT’s assessment 

operations (both real property and personal property) as well as the department’s 

information technology operations. Based on the estimated expenditures for computer 

programming, general fund expenditures would increase by $60,000 in fiscal 2021. Special 

fund revenues and expenditures from county government reimbursements increase by a 

commensurate amount in fiscal 2021. 

 

Local Fiscal Effect:  The bill exempts all personal property from county and municipal 

taxation, except for operating personal property of a railroad or public utility and specified 

telecommunications property. As a result, local personal property tax revenues will 

decrease by a significant amount beginning in fiscal 2021. SDAT estimates that the county 

business personal property assessable base for the counties that impose a personal property 

tax will total approximately $12.6 billion in fiscal 2020.  

 

SDAT does not currently have data as to the amount of personal property owned by various 

telecommunications services referenced in the bill. As a point of reference, if specified 

telecommunications property comprises 15% of the county business personal property 

assessable base, and the business personal property tax base remains constant, county and 

municipal personal property tax revenues may decrease by approximately $341.4 million 

beginning in fiscal 2021.  

 

To the extent the actual business personal property assessable base, including the amount 

of telecommunications property within the assessable base, differs from the estimate, the 

effect of the property tax exemption will vary accordingly. 

 

As noted, county governments are required to reimburse SDAT for 50% of the 

department’s real and personal property assessment costs. Therefore, county expenditures 

increase by $60,000 in fiscal 2021. 
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Small Business Effect:  Beginning in fiscal 2021, small businesses will not be subject to 

county and municipal personal property taxes with regard to certain business personal 

property. As a point of reference, in fiscal 2018, there were 354,855 personal property tax 

reports filed with SDAT, of which 106,089 had assessed personal property. The average 

personal property assessment was $104,416, resulting in an average tax amount of $2,606. 

 

 

Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  HB 858 of 2019 received a hearing in the House Ways and Means 

Committee, but no further action was taken. HB 374 of 2018 received an unfavorable report 

from the House Ways and Means Committee. HB 1238 of 2017 received a hearing in the 

House Ways and Means Committee, but no further action was taken.  

 

Designated Cross File:  None. 

 

Information Source(s):  State Department of Assessments and Taxation; Department of 

Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - February 17, 2020 

 an/hlb 

 

Analysis by:   Michael Sanelli  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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Appendix – Personal Property Taxation in Maryland 
 

 

In Maryland, there is a tax on business-owned personal property that is imposed and 

collected by local governments. Personal property generally includes business property 

including furniture, fixtures, office and industrial equipment, machinery, tools, supplies, 

inventory, and any other property not classified as real property. To provide for uniform 

assessments, the State Department of Assessments and Taxation (SDAT) is responsible for 

assessing all personal property. Each county or municipal government is responsible for 

issuing the tax bills and collecting the tax. The tax year begins on July 1, and ends on 

June 30. The personal property tax has been a local tax exclusively since 1984 when the 

State tax rate on personal property was set at zero.  

 

At the beginning of each calendar year SDAT notifies business entities on record that a 

personal property tax return must be filed by April 15. This tax return must include personal 

property located in Maryland as of January 1, the date of finality. The “date of finality” is 

the date used to determine ownership, location, value, and liability for tax purposes. Since 

2017, all tax returns have been filed electronically. An annual report fee is required to be 

paid to SDAT with the personal property tax return. The annual report fee is for the 

privilege of maintaining the legal entity’s existence in the State. Exhibit 1 identifies the 

amount of the report fee that each legal entity is required to pay. 

 

 

Exhibit 1 

Annual Reporting Fee Requirement 
 

Business Entity Fee  Business Entity Fee 

Stock Corp $300  Domestic Statutory Trust $300 

NonStock Corp 0  Foreign Statutory Trust 300 

Foreign Insurance Corp 300  Real Estate Investment Trust 300 

Foreign Interstate Corp 0  Certified Family Farm 100 

Limited Liability Company 300  Sole Proprietorship 0 

Limited Liability Partnership 300  General Partnership 0 

Limited Partnership 300  Amended Return 0 

    

 

Personal property, except inventory, is assessed based on the original cost less an annual 

depreciation allowance. The depreciation rate is determined based on the category of 

property. Seven rate categories (A through G) each pertain to different types of personal 

property. Except for data processing equipment and canned software, property may not be 

depreciated below 25%. For example, an item that was purchased for $400 would be 
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reduced by the depreciation factor each year until it reaches a minimum value of $100. 

Inventory is valued at its fair average value using the cost or market value, whichever is 

lower.  

 

Certain personal property is exempt by statute or local law. Exemptions generally fall into 

two categories:  those mandated by State law and those that are optional to local 

governments. There are certain organizations or groups whose personal property is exempt 

throughout the State. These organizations include religious groups, governmental entities, 

nonprofit hospitals, cemetery and mausoleum companies, and certain other groups that 

meet specified strict use criteria. In addition, State law requires that certain types of 

personal property be fully exempt throughout the State. These include aircraft, farming 

implements, residential (nonbusiness) property, most registered vehicles, boats not more 

than 100 feet in length, hand tools of mechanics or artisans, and intangible personal 

property (e.g., stocks, bonds, patents, goodwill, trademarks, etc.). 

 

State law authorizes local governments to exempt certain types of business personal 

property. The county or municipality where the property is located may authorize a full or 

partial exemption. The most significant categories that may be exempt from the personal 

property tax are commercial inventory, manufacturing and research and development 

inventory, and manufacturing and research and development machinery. Most counties 

offer exemptions for 100% of all three of these categories, but tax other types of business 

personal property. In addition, seven counties (Caroline, Dorchester, Frederick, Garrett, 

Kent, Queen Anne’s, and Talbot) have elected to exempt all business personal property 

from county taxation. Garrett County does not tax business personal property, however the 

county does tax property of non-utility generators at the county personal property tax rate.  

 

Chapter 102 of 2018 provides an exemption from personal property valuation and taxation 

if the total original cost of the personal property was less than $2,500.  

 

Personal Property Tax Rates and Assessable Base Amounts 

 

As shown in Exhibit 2, the statewide assessable base for business personal property totals 

$12.6 billion in fiscal 2020. Among counties that impose the business personal property 

tax, the assessable base ranges from a high of $2.2 billion in Montgomery County to a low 

of $85.0 million in Somerset County. On a per capita basis, business personal property 

ranges from $1,424 in Charles County to $4,245 in Worcester County. Tax rates on 

business personal property range from $2.1130 in Worcester County to $5.62 in Baltimore 

City.  
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Exhibit 2 

County Business Personal Property Base 

Fiscal 2020 
 

   
County Tax Rate Assessable Base 

Allegany $2.4375 $180,000,000 

Anne Arundel 2.3370  1,600,000,000 

Baltimore City 5.6200  1,270,000,000 

Baltimore 2.7500  1,850,000,000 

Calvert 2.2300  159,000,000 

Caroline 2.4500  0 

Carroll 2.5150  285,000,000 

Cecil 2.6035  401,000,000 

Charles 3.0125  230,000,000 

Dorchester 0.0000  0 

Frederick 0.0000  0 

Garrett 0.0000  0 

Harford 2.6049  680,000,000 

Howard 3.1250  1,025,000,000 

Kent 0.0000  0 

Montgomery 2.4768  2,170,000,000 

Prince George’s 3.4350  1,600,000,000 

Queen Anne’s 0.0000  0 

St. Mary’s 2.1195  175,000,000 

Somerset 2.5000  85,000,000 

Talbot 0.0000  0 

Washington 2.3700  420,000,000 

Wicomico 2.1715  210,000,000 

Worcester 2.1130  220,000,000 

Total  $12,560,000,000 

 
Source:  State Department of Assessments and Taxation 
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