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Natural Resources – Organized Killing Contests – Restrictions 
 

   

This bill prohibits a person from sponsoring, conducting, or participating in a contest 

organized in Maryland that has the objective of killing a coyote, fox, or raccoon for prizes 

or monetary rewards. The bill may not be construed to prohibit (1) a landowner or the 

landowner’s agent or lessee from killing coyotes, foxes, or raccoons on the landowner’s 

property, as long as the killing is not part of an organized contest, or (2) lawful dog training 

or dog performance competitions. The bill establishes a $25 fine for each coyote, fox, or 

raccoon killed in violation of the bill. The bill takes effect July 1, 2020. 

 

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  The bill is not anticipated to materially affect State finances or operations. 

The application of existing criminal penalty provisions to the bill’s provisions, and the fine 

established by the bill, are not expected to materially affect State finances.  

  

Local Effect:  The bill does not materially affect local government finances or operations. 

  

Small Business Effect:  Minimal.    

  

 

Analysis 
 

Current Law/Background:  A “fur-bearing mammal” means any coyote, raccoon, 

bobcat, opossum, beaver, mink, muskrat, otter, fox, skunk, fisher, and long-tailed weasel, 

or any part, offspring, or dead body of any of them. There are legal hunting seasons in 

Maryland for fox, coyote, raccoon, and opossum.  
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General Hunting Restrictions Related to Hunting Fur-bearing Mammals  

 

With certain exceptions, a person must have a Maryland resident or nonresident hunting 

license in order to hunt or attempt to hunt all legal game birds and mammals during the 

appropriate season in the State. With certain exceptions, a Maryland resident or nonresident 

must have a furbearer permit in order to hunt, chase, or trap any furbearer in the State or 

participate in the unarmed chasing of foxes and raccoons in the State. Generally, any person 

who traps or attempts to trap furbearers in the State under the authority of a furbearer permit 

must first obtain a certificate of trapper education. 

 

A group furbearer permit enables an association or group established for the purpose of 

chasing or hunting furbearers to organize and offer hunting or chasing of furbearers to the 

association’s or group’s members or guests. A group furbearer permit is valid for the period 

from August 1 of each year through July 31 of the following year, and the annual fee is 

$10. The group hunting or chasing must occur within the open season for the species being 

pursued. A group furbearer permit is only available to a group that is hunting or chasing a 

furbearer (including foxes), not trapping. Any unarmed participant in a chase is exempt 

from the requirement to obtain a hunting license.  

 

Prohibition Against Organized Contest to Hunt Unprotected Birds  

 

Chapter 670 of 2018 prohibits a person from conducting or participating in an organized 

contest for prizes or monetary awards for which unprotected birds are launched by 

mechanical or manual means as targets; this prohibition does not apply (1) to lethally taking 

unprotected birds to protect or manage public or private property, domestic animals, 

livestock, or wildlife or (2) during an otherwise authorized hunting or dog training activity. 

A person who violates this prohibition is subject to a fine of $25 for each unprotected bird 

killed.  

 

Retriever Dog Training Permit  

 

A person must have a retriever dog training permit in order to shoot captive-raised game 

birds for the purpose of training a retriever dog. A retriever dog training permit enables the 

purchaser to possess and release captive-raised quail, chukar partridge, pheasant, and 

mallard ducks in order to train a retriever dog. The annual fee for the permit is $5, and the 

permit is valid for one year. 

 

Relevant Penalties  

 

Under current law, a person who violates any provision of Title 10 (Wildlife) of the Natural 

Resources Article is guilty of a misdemeanor. Various penalties apply for first and 

subsequent offenses. Fines collected for such violations are credited to the State Wildlife 
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Management and Protection Fund. Additionally, a Natural Resources Police officer, or any 

law enforcement officer who arrests a person for violating Title 10 of the Natural Resources 

Article, may seize every bird, mammal, reptile, and amphibian unlawfully caught, sold, 

offered for sale, transported, or possessed. DNR may dispose of any seized species of 

wildlife at the department’s discretion.  

 

 

Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  None. 

 

Designated Cross File:  None. 

 

Information Source(s):  Department of Natural Resources; Department of Legislative 

Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - February 24, 2020 

Third Reader - March 16, 2020 

 Revised - Amendment(s) - March 16, 2020 
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Analysis by:   Kathleen P. Kennedy  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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