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This bill prohibits a local school system from charging a student a fee for enrollment in a 

summer school course if (1) the student attends a school in the local school system; 

(2) credit for the course is required for graduation from a high school in the local school 

system; and (3) the student previously took the course, but did not successfully complete 

or receive credit for the course. The bill takes effect July 1, 2020. 

   

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  None.  

  

Local Effect:  Local school system revenues decrease from specified fee revenues that 

would otherwise support summer school course offerings. Some combination of local or 

other funding sources to maintain services, redirection of existing resources, or a 

curtailment of expenditures on summer school courses will be necessary. This bill imposes 

a mandate on a unit of local government. 
 

Small Business Effect:  None.    

  

 

Analysis 
 

Current Law:  The Constitution of Maryland required the General Assembly, at its 

first session after the adoption of this Constitution, to by law establish throughout the State 

a thorough and efficient system of free public schools and to provide by taxation, or 

otherwise, for their maintenance. Maryland statute requires that there must be throughout 

the State a general system of free public schools. 
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The promotion of students in a public school and graduation from a public high school are 

in accordance with policies established by the county board and the rules and regulations 

of the State Board of Education. With the advice of the State Superintendent of Schools, 

the State Board of Education must establish minimum requirements for issuing certificates 

and diplomas by public and private high schools. 

 

The State Board of Education must establish high school curriculum and graduation 

requirements for all public schools in accordance with law. The current credit requirements 

to earn a public high school diploma are shown in the Appendix – State Public High 

School Diploma Credit Requirements. Local school systems may establish graduation 

requirements beyond the minimum requirements established by the State board. 

  

Background:  The bill limits the ability of local school systems to charge their students a 

fee for summer school courses that a student has already unsuccessfully taken during the 

school year and that are required for graduation. These courses are generally referred to as 

credit recovery courses. Local school systems vary in their practices regarding summer 

school fees. Most local school systems charge a fee for credit recovery courses, although 

many provide considerably discounted fees to students from low-income families. For 

example, in 2019, Frederick County Public Schools generally charged $200 per summer 

school course, but charged $100 to students qualifying for reduced-price school meals, and 

charged no fee to students qualifying for free school meals. Fees for out-of-county students 

are typically higher than for school system students. 

 

Anne Arundel County Public Schools (AACPS) advises that, in summer 2019, the district 

collected approximately $286,000 in revenue for summer school; tuition is set at $300 per 

credit, while low-income students (who account for over 90% of AACPS summer school 

enrollees) receive a $200 reduction per course. Baltimore City Public Schools charges 

$75 per course to summer school students; with approximately 2,900 courses taken in 2018 

(including a small number of original credit courses that would not be impacted by the 

bill), this amounted to over $217,500 in revenues. A relatively small number of these 

courses were taken for original credit or were provided at no charge under hardship 

waivers. Baltimore County Public Schools advises that it does not charge fees for courses 

covered by the bill. 

 

Frederick County Public Schools advises that it collected $85,600 in registration fees in 

summer 2019, or 44% of its programming budget for the summer session. 

Montgomery County Public Schools advises that it collected $884,300 in revenues for 

credit-bearing courses taken in regional and local summer school programs in 

summer 2019. 

 

Local Fiscal Effect:  In counties where the local school system does not charge a student 

fee, such as Baltimore County, there is no fiscal impact under the bill. Though a local 



    

HB 1194/ Page 3 

school system may choose to charge a higher fee to those students who may still be required 

to pay under the bill, it is assumed that those school systems that currently charge a fee 

prohibited by the bill will sustain a substantial loss of revenues. To maintain current 

summer school course offerings, many school systems will need to find other funding 

sources or redirect existing resources. However, some local school systems may choose to 

curtail their summer school course offerings and/or increase summer school class sizes in 

response to the decline in fee revenues.  

 

 

Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  House Bill 966 of 2019 passed the House and received a hearing in 

the Senate Education, Health, and Environmental Affairs Committee, but no further action 

was taken.  

 

Designated Cross File:  None. 

 

Information Source(s):  Anne Arundel County Public Schools; Baltimore City Public 

Schools; Baltimore County Public Schools; Frederick County Public Schools; 

Montgomery County Public Schools; Maryland State Department of Education; 

Department of Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - February 27, 2020 

Third Reader - March 14, 2020 
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Analysis by:   Scott P. Gates  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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Appendix – State Public High School Diploma Credit 

Requirements 
 

 

According to State regulations, to be awarded a high school diploma, a student must be 

enrolled in a Maryland public school system and have earned a minimum of 21 credits in 

specified subjects as detailed in Exhibit 1.  

 

 

Exhibit 1 

Distribution of Credits Required to Graduate High School 

 

Subject Credits 

English 4.0 

Fine Arts 1.0 

Mathematics1 3.0 

Physical Education 0.5 

Health Education 0.5 

Science 3.0 

Social Studies 3.0 

Technology Education 1.0 

World Language or American Sign Language or 

Advanced Technology Education2 2.0 

Electives2 3.0 

 
1However, beginning with students entering grade 9 in the 2014-2015 school year, each student must enroll 

in a mathematics course in each year of high school that the student attends, up to a maximum of four years 

of attendance, unless in the fifth or sixth year a mathematics course is needed to meet a graduation 

requirement. 
2Alternatively, a student may successfully complete a State-approved career and technology program for 

four credits and one credit in an elective. 

 

Note:  The credits must meet other requirements specified in the Code of Maryland Regulations. Elective 

programs and instruction must be developed at the discretion of the local school system, be open to 

enrollment for all students, and focus on in-depth study in required subject areas, exploration, or application 

and integration of what has been learned. In addition, all students must complete a locally designed high 

school program of environmental literacy approved by the State Superintendent of Schools. 

 

Source:  Code of Maryland Regulations; Department of Legislative Services 
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