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Motor Vehicles - Operation When Approaching Stopped, Standing, or Parked 

Vehicles 
 

 

This bill expands the application of the “move over” requirement under the Maryland 

Vehicle Law to apply to any vehicle using specified visual signals or warning lamps 

(including hazard lights). A violation is a misdemeanor subject to a maximum fine of $500.    
  

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  General fund revenues increase minimally due to additional citations issued 

as a result of the bill. Enforcement can be handled with existing resources.     
  

Local Effect:  Revenues are not affected. Enforcement can be handled with existing 

resources.    
  

Small Business Effect:  None.      
  

 

Analysis 
 

Current Law:    
 

“Move Over” Requirement  
 

A driver of a vehicle generally has the duty to move over or slow down, unless otherwise 

directed by a police officer or traffic control device, when approaching – from the rear – 

certain types of vehicles (an emergency vehicle, specified commercial vehicle, service 

vehicle, tow truck, or waste or recycling collection vehicle) that are stopped, standing, or 

parked. If the stopped, standing, or parked vehicle meets specified visual signal 

requirements, the driver must, and only if practicable, make a lane change into an available 
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lane that is nonadjacent to the specified vehicle. A driver of a vehicle making a required 

lane change must exercise due regard for safety and traffic conditions. If, however, the 

driver is unable to lawfully make a lane change, as specified, the driver must slow to a 

reasonable and prudent speed safe for existing weather, road, and traffic conditions. 
 

A violation of these provisions is a misdemeanor, and a violator is subject to a maximum 

fine of $500. The prepayment penalty established by the District Court is $110, and the 

Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) must assess one point against a violator’s license. 

For a violation that contributes to an accident, the prepayment penalty is $150 or, if the 

accident results in death or serious bodily injury, $750. MVA must assess three points 

against a violator’s license if the violation contributes to an accident. 

 

Requirements for Warning Lamps  
 

Any motor vehicle may be equipped with lamps for the purpose of warning other drivers 

of the presence of a vehicular traffic hazard requiring the exercise of unusual care in 

approaching, overtaking, or passing and may display the warning in addition to any other 

warning signals required by the Maryland Vehicle Law. Warning lamps must be mounted 

in accordance with specified requirements and display simultaneously flashing white or 

amber lights from the front and red or amber lights from the rear that are visible from a 

distance of at least 1,500 feet under normal nighttime conditions. 
 

Background:  The District Court advises that, in fiscal 2019, there were 3,039 citations 

issued for failure to make a lane change or slow to a reasonable and prudent speed while 

passing an emergency vehicle, tow truck, or other specified vehicle. 

 

 

Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  None. 
 

Designated Cross File:  None. 
 

Information Source(s):  Judiciary (Administrative Office of the Courts); Department of 

State Police; Maryland Department of Transportation; Department of Legislative Services 
 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - March 4, 2020 
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Analysis by:   Elizabeth J. Allison  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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