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Finance Economic Matters 

 

Labor and Employment - Wage Payment and Collection - Order to Pay Wages 
 

   

This departmental bill increases the threshold from $3,000 to $5,000 for a complaint of 

unpaid wages to be subject to an order by the Commissioner of Labor and Industry for an 

employer to pay wages. The bill takes effect July 1, 2020. 

   

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  The bill’s changes can be handled with existing budgeted resources. The 

State is not subject to the Wage Payment and Collection Law as an employer. 

  

Local Effect:  None. The bill does not apply to local governments as employers. 

  

Small Business Effect:  The Maryland Department of Labor (MDL) has determined that 

this bill has minimal or no impact on small business (attached). The Department of 

Legislative Services concurs with this assessment. 

  

 

Analysis 
 

Current Law:  Maryland’s Wage Payment and Collection Law regulates the payment of 

wages by employers in the State. The law requires employers to pay workers the wage 

promised; establish regular paydays; pay wages when due; pay employees in a specified 

manner; pay employees at least once every two weeks or twice in each month, with 

exceptions; furnish employees with a statement of gross earnings; advise employees of 

their rate of pay and designated payday; and pay employees all wages due on termination 

of employment. MDL’s Division of Labor and Industry enforces the State’s Wage Payment 
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and Collection Law. Unless otherwise specified, the definition of “employer” in the State’s 

Wage Payment and Collection Law does not include units of government.  

 

The commissioner may investigate a violation of the Wage Payment and Collection Law 

only upon receipt of a written complaint by an employee. Whenever it is determined that 

the State’s Wage Payment and Collection Law has been violated, the commissioner may 

(1) try to resolve the violation informally through mediation; (2) ask the Office of the 

Attorney General to bring an action on behalf of the employee; or (3) bring an action on 

behalf of the employee in the county where the violation allegedly occurred.  

 

However, for wage complaints amounting to $3,000 or less, the Commissioner of Labor 

and Industry uses an expedited process. For these cases, the commissioner must review the 

complaint and may investigate the claim and may either issue an order requiring the 

employer to pay or dismiss the claim. Within 30 days after receipt of the order to pay 

wages, the employer may request an administrative hearing. Under specified 

circumstances, the commissioner may proceed in District Court to enforce payment of the 

order.  

 

For wage complaints over $3,000, an employee entitled to wages from an employer may – 

after two weeks have elapsed – bring an action against the employer in a court of competent 

jurisdiction to recover the unpaid wages.  

 

If a court determines that an employer withheld an employee’s wage unlawfully, and not 

as a result of a bona fide dispute, the court may award the employee up to three times the 

amount of wages owed, counsel fees, and other costs.  

 

Employers who violate the State’s Wage Payment and Collection Law are guilty of a 

misdemeanor and may be fined up to $1,000.         

 

Background: Between fiscal 2017 and 2019, the Commissioner of Labor and Industry 

received an average of 97 claims annually for unpaid wages between $3,000 and $5,000.          

 

For claims of unpaid wages over $3,000, current law requires an action to be brought in 

court. MDL advises that it typically takes one to two years for these court actions to be 

resolved and often the employer dissolves the company before a court issues an order. The 

wage order process for claims of $3,000 or less is more expedient since, once a 

determination is made, most claims are paid or referred to the Central Collection Unit 

within 120 days if there are no appeals. 

 

State Fiscal Effect:  MDL anticipates receiving the same number of unpaid 

wage complaints, but the bill increases the number of complaints subject to the wage order 

process instead of having to be settled through the District Court. Thus, the bill enables the 
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Commissioner of Labor and Industry to more quickly resolve claims for unpaid wages. 

MDL advises that the increased administrative workload for handling more cases internally 

can be accomplished with existing resources.  

 

The Office of Administrative Hearings (OAH) currently receives appeals of wage orders 

of $3,000 or less. Since the volume of these appeals is relatively small, OAH does not 

expect the bill to significantly increase the number of wage order appeals; thus, OAH can 

handle any increase in appeals with existing resources.  

 

 

Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  None. 

 

Designated Cross File:  None. 

 

Information Source(s):  Judiciary (Administrative Office of the Courts); Maryland 

Department of Labor; Office of Administrative Hearings; Department of Legislative 

Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - January 14, 2020 

Third Reader - February 4, 2020 

 

mr/mcr 

 

Analysis by:   Heather N. MacDonagh  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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  ANALYSIS OF ECONOMIC IMPACT ON SMALL BUSINESSES 

 

 

TITLE OF BILL:    Wage Payment and Collection - Order To Pay Wages 

 

BILL NUMBER: SB 119 

    

PREPARED BY: Mischelle Vanreusel for Matt Helminiak, Commissioner of Labor & 

Industry 

   

   

 

PART A.  ECONOMIC IMPACT RATING 

 

This agency estimates that the proposed bill: 
 

_X_ WILL HAVE MINIMAL OR NO ECONOMIC IMPACT ON MARYLAND SMALL 

BUSINESS 

 

OR 

 

 

        WILL HAVE MEANINGFUL ECONOMIC IMPACT ON MARYLAND SMALL 

BUSINESSES 

     

 

 

PART B.  ECONOMIC IMPACT ANALYSIS 
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