## **HOUSE BILL 378**

L6, D1 1 lr 1352HB 1617/20 - HRU (PRE-FILED) By: Delegate D.M. Davis Requested: October 30, 2020 Introduced and read first time: January 13, 2021 Assigned to: Judiciary Committee Report: Favorable House action: Adopted Read second time: February 18, 2021 CHAPTER AN ACT concerning Local Government Tort Claims Act - Definition of Local Government FOR the purpose of altering the definition of "local government" under the Local Government Tort Claims Act to include the Maryland Association of Counties Pooled OPEB Trust Fund; and generally relating to the Local Government Tort Claims Act. BY repealing and reenacting, with amendments, Article – Courts and Judicial Proceedings Section 5–301(d)(28) and (29) Annotated Code of Maryland (2020 Replacement Volume) BY adding to Article – Courts and Judicial Proceedings Section 5-301(d)(30)Annotated Code of Maryland (2020 Replacement Volume) SECTION 1. BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF MARYLAND, That the Laws of Maryland read as follows: **Article – Courts and Judicial Proceedings** 5-301.

## EXPLANATION: CAPITALS INDICATE MATTER ADDED TO EXISTING LAW.

[Brackets] indicate matter deleted from existing law.

<u>Underlining</u> indicates amendments to bill.

1

2

3

4 5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

1415

16 17

18

19

Strike out indicates matter stricken from the bill by amendment or deleted from the law by amendment.



(d) "Local government" means:
(28) The nonprofit corporation serving as the local public transportation authority for Garrett County pursuant to a contract or memorandum of understanding with Garrett County (Garrett County Community Action Committee, Inc.); [and]
(29) The nonprofit corporation serving as the industrial development authority of Carroll County established under Title 12, Subtitle 1 of the Economic Development Article; AND
(30) THE MARYLAND ASSOCIATION OF COUNTIES POOLED OPER TRUST FUND.
SECTION 2. AND BE IT FURTHER ENACTED, That this Act shall take effect October 1, 2021.
Approved:
Governor.
Speaker of the House of Delegates.
President of the Senate.