HOUSE BILL 1343

1lr3031

By: Delegate Kipke

Introduced and read first time: February 11, 2021 Assigned to: Rules and Executive Nominations Re–referred to: Ways and Means, February 23, 2021

Committee Report: Favorable with amendments House action: Adopted Read second time: March 8, 2021

CHAPTER _____

1 AN ACT concerning

2 Anne Arundel County – Party Central Committees – Republican Requirements

- FOR the purpose of altering the districts from manner in which the members of the Anne
 Arundel County Republican Party Central Committee are elected to councilmanie
 districts instead of legislative districts; and generally relating to the Anne Arundel
 County Republican Party Central Committee.
- 7 BY repealing and reenacting, with amendments,
- 8 Article Election Law
- 9 Section 4–203(a)
- 10 Annotated Code of Maryland
- 11 (2017 Replacement Volume and 2020 Supplement)
- SECTION 1. BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF MARYLAND,
 That the Laws of Maryland read as follows:

Article – Election Law

15 4–203.

14

16 (a) (1) In Anne Arundel County, the members of the Democratic [and 17 Republican] Party Central [Committees] **COMMITTEE** for the county shall be elected as 18 follows:

EXPLANATION: CAPITALS INDICATE MATTER ADDED TO EXISTING LAW.

[Brackets] indicate matter deleted from existing law.

<u>Underlining</u> indicates amendments to bill.

Strike out indicates matter stricken from the bill by amendment or deleted from the law by amendment.



HOUSE BILL 1343

1 [(1)] (I) three members shall be elected from each legislative district 2 wholly contained within Anne Arundel County; and

3 [(2)] (II) one member shall be elected from that portion within Anne 4 Arundel County of any legislative district that is partially contained within Anne Arundel 5 County.

6 (2) FOR THE ANNE ARUNDEL COUNTY REPUBLICAN PARTY 7 CENTRAL COMMITTEE₅:

8 (1) THREE MEMBERS SHALL BE ELECTED FROM EACH 9 COUNCILMANIC DISTRICT OF ANNE ARUNDEL COUNTY; AND

10 (II) ONE MEMBER SHALL BE ELECTED FROM ANNE ARUNDEL 11 COUNTY AT LARGE.

12 SECTION 2. AND BE IT FURTHER ENACTED, That this Act shall take effect 13 October 1, 2021.

Approved:

Governor.

Speaker of the House of Delegates.

President of the Senate.

 $\mathbf{2}$