Chapter 318

(House Bill 97)

AN ACT concerning

Workgroup on Black, Latino, Asian American Pacific Islander, and Other Underrepresented Behavioral Health Professionals

FOR the purpose of establishing the Workgroup on Black, Latino, Asian American Pacific Islander, and Other Underrepresented Behavioral Health Professionals; and generally relating to the Workgroup on Black, Latino, Asian American Pacific Islander, and Other Underrepresented Behavioral Health Professionals.

SECTION 1. BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF MARYLAND, That:

- (a) There is a Workgroup on Black, Latino, Asian American Pacific Islander, and Other Underrepresented Behavioral Health Professionals.
 - (b) The Workgroup consists of the following members:
 - (1) the President of Bowie State University, or the President's designee;
 - (2) the President of Coppin State University, or the President's designee;
 - (3) the President of Morgan State University, or the President's designee;
- (4) the President of University of Maryland Eastern Shore, or the President's designee; and
 - (5) the following members, appointed by the Secretary of Health:
- (i) one representative each from at least three different hospital networks in the State that primarily serve Black, Latino, or Asian American Pacific Islander communities;
- (ii) three representatives from the behavioral health profession in the State;
 - (iii) three individuals who provide social services in the State; and
- (iv) at least two but not more than four representatives of organizations, networks, or associations of behavioral health professionals that:
- 1. are composed of a majority of Black, Latino, Asian American Pacific Islander, or other underrepresented behavioral health professionals; and

- 2. primarily work to represent and support Black, Latino, Asian American Pacific Islander, or other underrepresented behavioral health professionals.
 - (c) The Secretary of Health shall designate the chair of the Workgroup.
- (d) The University System of Maryland and the Maryland Department of Health jointly shall provide staff for the Workgroup.
- (e) A member of the Workgroup or any subgroup established under subsection (g) of this section:
- (1) may not receive compensation as a member of the Workgroup or subgroup; but
- (2) is entitled to reimbursement for expenses under the Standard State Travel Regulations, as provided in the State budget.

(f) The Workgroup shall:

- (1) identify and study the shortage of behavioral health professionals in the State who are Black, Latino, Asian American Pacific Islander, or otherwise underrepresented in the behavioral health profession; and
- (2) assess and make recommendations on incentives or other methods to increase the number of:
- (i) students who are Black, Latino, Asian American Pacific Islander, or otherwise underrepresented in the behavioral health profession who study at an institution of higher education in the State to be behavioral health professionals; and
- (ii) behavioral health professionals who are Black, Latino, Asian American Pacific Islander, or otherwise underrepresented in the behavioral health profession who provide behavioral health services in the State, especially in underserved communities.
- (g) (1) The Workgroup may establish a subgroup within the Workgroup to assist the Workgroup in carrying out its duties, including by conducting research and producing reports.
- (2) A subgroup established under paragraph (1) of this subsection may include an individual who is not a member of the Workgroup, including a representative of an insurance carrier or any other relevant expert.
 - (h) On or before July 1, 2023, the Workgroup shall report its findings and

recommendations to the Governor and, in accordance with $\S 2-1257$ of the State Government Article, the General Assembly.

SECTION 2. AND BE IT FURTHER ENACTED, That this Act shall take effect July 1, 2022. It shall remain effective for a period of 2 years and, at the end of June 30, 2024, this Act, with no further action required by the General Assembly, shall be abrogated and of no further force and effect.

Approved by the Governor, May 12, 2022.