HOUSE BILL 683

EMERGENCY BILL

2lr1561 CF SB 500

CF SB 500	
By: Delegates Saab, Chisholm, Howard, Kipke, and Munoz Introduced and read first time: January 31, 2022 Assigned to: Ways and Means	
Committee Report: Favorable House action: Adopted Read second time: March 9, 2022	
CHAPTER	
AN ACT concerning	
Anne Arundel County - Republican Party Central Committee - Elections	
FOR the purpose of altering the number of members elected from each councilmanic distriction of Anne Arundel County to the Anne Arundel County Republican Party Central Committee; and generally relating to the Anne Arundel County Republican Party Central Committee.	
BY repealing and reenacting, with amendments, Article – Election Law Section 4–203(a) Annotated Code of Maryland (2017 Replacement Volume and 2021 Supplement)	
SECTION 1. BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF MARYLANI That the Laws of Maryland read as follows:	
Article - Election Law	
4–203.	
(a) (1) In Anne Arundel County, the members of the Democratic Party Centra Committee for the county shall be elected as follows:	
(i) three members shall be elected from each legislative distriction wholly contained within Anne Arundel County; and	

EXPLANATION: CAPITALS INDICATE MATTER ADDED TO EXISTING LAW.

[Brackets] indicate matter deleted from existing law.

<u>Underlining</u> indicates amendments to bill.

G1

1

2

 $3\\4\\5\\6$

12 13

14

15

16 17

18 19

Strike out indicates matter stricken from the bill by amendment or deleted from the law by amendment.



1 2 3	(ii) one member shall be elected from that portion within Anne Arundel County of any legislative district that is partially contained within Anne Arundel County.
4	(2) For the Anne Arundel County Republican Party Central Committee:
5 6	(i) [three] TWO members shall be elected from each councilmanic district of Anne Arundel County; and
7	(ii) one member shall be elected from Anne Arundel County at large.
8 9 10 11 12	SECTION 2. AND BE IT FURTHER ENACTED, That this Act is an emergency measure, is necessary for the immediate preservation of the public health or safety, has been passed by a yea and nay vote supported by three—fifths of all the members elected to each of the two Houses of the General Assembly, and shall take effect from the date it is enacted.
	Approved:
	Governor.
	Speaker of the House of Delegates.
	President of the Senate.