Chapter 740

(House Bill 535)

AN ACT concerning

Washington Suburban Transit Commission – Montgomery County <u>and Prince</u> <u>George's County</u> Commissioners – Repeal of Term Limit

PG/MC 111-22

- FOR the purpose of repealing the prohibition against a Commissioner of the Washington Suburban Transit Commission serving more than a certain number of consecutive terms as it applies to <u>a Commissioner</u> <u>Commissioners</u> appointed by the County Executive of Montgomery County <u>or the County Executive of Prince George's County</u>; and generally relating to the Washington Suburban Transit Commission.
- BY repealing and reenacting, without amendments, The Public Local Laws of Montgomery County Section 87–5(a)(1) and (2) <u>87–5(a)(1), (2), and (3)(i)</u> Article 16 – Public Local Laws of Maryland (2004 Edition and July–August 2021 Supplement, as amended)
- BY repealing and reenacting, with amendments, The Public Local Laws of Montgomery County Section 87–5(a)(10) Article 16 – Public Local Laws of Maryland (2004 Edition and July–August 2021 Supplement, as amended)
- BY repealing and reenacting, without amendments, The Public Local Laws of Prince George's County Part III, Section 5(a)(1) and (2) (5)(a)(1), (2), and (3)(A) Article 17 – Public Local Laws of Maryland (2015 Edition and 2018 Supplement, as amended)
- BY repealing and reenacting, with amendments, The Public Local Laws of Prince George's County Part III, Section 5(a)(10) Article 17 – Public Local Laws of Maryland (2015 Edition and 2018 Supplement, as amended)

SECTION 1. BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF MARYLAND, That the Laws of Maryland read as follows:

Article 16 – Montgomery County

(a) (1) The commission consists of 7 members.

(2) (i) The County Executive of Montgomery County shall appoint 2 members, subject to the confirmation of the Montgomery County Council.

(ii) Of these two appointees, one shall be designated by the County Executive to serve as an alternate member of the Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority Board of Directors.

(3) (i) <u>The County Executive of Prince George's County shall appoint 2</u> members, subject to the confirmation of the Prince George's County Council.

(10) (i) Commissioners, other than the required member from the Prince George's County Council, serve for a term of 4 years which begins on July 1[, and].

(II) COMMISSIONERS, OTHER THAN THE REQUIRED MEMBER FROM THE PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY COUNCILAND THE MEMBERS APPOINTED BY THE COUNTY EXECUTIVE OF MONTGOMERY COUNTY, APPOINTED BY THE GOVERNOR may not serve more than two consecutive terms.

[(ii)] (III) The terms of the commissioners, other than the required member from the Prince George's County Council, shall be staggered as required by the terms provided for commissioners on October 1, 2012.

[(iii)] (IV) The commissioner required from the Prince George's County Council serves while a member of the county council, and at the pleasure of the County Executive and County Council of Prince George's County.

Article 17 – Prince George's County

Part III.

5.

(a) (1) The Commission consists of 7 members.

(2) (A) The County Executive of Montgomery County shall appoint 2 members, subject to the confirmation of the Montgomery County Council.

(B) Of these two appointees, one shall be designated by the County Executive to serve as an alternate member of the Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority Board of Directors.

(3) (A) The County Executive of Prince George's County shall appoint 2 members, subject to the confirmation of the Prince George's County Council.

(10) (A) Commissioners, other than the required member from the Prince George's County Council, serve for a term of 4 years which begins on July 1[, and a maximum of].

(B) COMMISSIONERS, OTHER THAN THE REQUIRED MEMBER FROM THE PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY COUNCIL AND THE MEMBERS APPOINTED BY THE COUNTY EXECUTIVE OF MONTGOMERY COUNTY, APPOINTED BY THE GOVERNOR MAY NOT SERVE MORE THAN two consecutive terms.

[(B)] (C) The terms of the Commissioners, other than the required member from the Prince George's County Council, shall be staggered as required by the terms provided for Commissioners on October 1, 2012.

[(C)] (D) The Commissioner required from the Prince George's County Council serves while a member of the County Council, and at the pleasure of the County Executive and County Council of Prince George's County.

SECTION 2. AND BE IT FURTHER ENACTED, That this Act shall take effect July 1, 2022.

Enacted under Article II, § 17(c) of the Maryland Constitution, May 29, 2022.